We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Hotel website
Hotel packages
19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Add Photo

2,462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    686
    958
    428
    219
    171
See reviews for
414
1,116
78
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2462)
  • Mar-May only
    (940)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (550)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (349)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (623)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the only issue we had was the week went by to fast. The resort was great. room were clean and comfortable. the beach and water on the resort property was great. food was very good and the service was outstanding. everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the lobby concierge, Innocent, for going out of his way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jimchir74, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're glad to see you enjoyed your week long stay with us and that you enjoyed our views, beach, food and service. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

New Jersey
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is absolutely stunning. The views were amazing, the infinity pool and swim-up bar were my favorite places to hang out. From the moment you arrive, it is just such a relaxing atmosphere that you will fall in love with it. I went with my girlfriend for a week and it was well worth it. Great Bay is adults... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is amazing. The food was great. Hotel was very nice. Bathrooms need to be updated though. Unfortunately our bags were opened and stuffs were stolen while in transit to the hotel from the airport. But the staff did try to "look" for our things. Word of advice to those planning a trip here; lock your bags and keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bisi A, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so happy to see you had a great time with us and do hope you will come back to stay at one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we had a great experience at Sonesta Great Bay. The staff was very friendly and eager to serve. The views were awesome, drinks plentiful, no kids, beach was great, and the water was clear. If you book on Groupon make sure you print and bring the Groupon...they will ask for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ben M, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had an overall good time with us and that you enjoyed our friendly staff, awesome views, drinks and beach area. We hope to see you back again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has an incredible view! We stayed in a suite and it was the best I had ever seen. The shower and lighting in the washroom could have been improved, but overall the balcony, the beds, the whirlpool like tub... it was great! The staff were friendly! De roy and Gerald really made the trip go really well for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kahmisha, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our incredible views, friendly staff, butler service and food. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a young couple, this was our first trip together and it was nothing short of perfect. The minute you walk into the resort, you are greeted by staff staff with genuine sincerity. We were met by a gentleman by the name of Innocent, who handed us a cold towel (so needed!) and a cool drink to start the week.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ryan Y, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We're so happy to see you had a great vacation with us and that you plan on returning. We look forward to your next visit! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

Gloucester City, New Jersey
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is amazing. From front desk, Agatha to Guest Services Shantell to waitress Garmania to Food & Beverage Mgr. Cleopratra. I can not express enough of how professional they are let alone how they go above and beyond for their guests. We were greeted with wet towels and champagne. Check in was a breeze and we were upgraded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Theresa G, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad you had a great honeymoon with us and that you enjoyed our friendly staff, easy check-in, entertainment and views. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

La Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister (47) and I (53) were in St-Martin from April 30th 2015 through May 7th . We always wanted to go to this hotel so we could see the cruise ship. Unfortunately, we arrived in the slow season therefore, we only saw 5 ships in the whole week. Positives: This hotel is really great. It is spacious and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and i recently returned from a fantastic trip at Sonesta Great Bay Resort. The entire staff was friendly and courteous. I'd like to make mention of the G.M. Mr.Bourne who was very approachable. The food was excellent. Everywhere was so clean from the rooms to the beach area. We had a beautiful spacious room overlooking the ocean. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hakeem A, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so glad to see that your vacation with us was your best one yet and look forward to seeing you back again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

shefford,quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled as a couple the first two weeks of May and it was our second visit. We visited SGB last year during the last week of April and first week of May, so at about the same time of the year this time. Check-in was pretty easy but a few things were disappointing. The food, very good last year was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear millionbells, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see that you did not have a better time with us for your second visit. We do appreciate your comments and have gone over them with our Management team. We do hope you will come back again in the future, so we can restore your confidence in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,466 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1649)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (195)
Viewed
View from room (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (282)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (427)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (439)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (743)
Viewed
Amenities (97)
Viewed
Apartments' Pool (48)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Double (72)
Viewed
Oceanview King (82)
Viewed
Pools (73)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (100)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Apartment (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay