We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

4.0 of 5 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    829
    359
    201
    160
See reviews for
364
917
68
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2108)
  • Mar-May only
    (701)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (550)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (350)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (507)
All months
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I do not know where to start but we are staying here now December 27, 2014. We had 3 rooms and spent over 3 hours fixing one of them. The last room, was downgraded for the night and supposed to be given the room booked tomorrow. We have been here since 8am and the downgraded room is still not ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one week only and regretted that so much because one week is really not enough. The food was so good and the seafood restaurant was my absolute favourite. The staff is polite, respectful, kind, enthusiastic and fun. We had amazing service all week long. Not once did we feel unsafe even walking down the streets at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lilitremblay, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We're so happy to see you had a great time with us. Thank you for highlighting our amazing service, good food, and for recommending us. We hope to see you back soon! Happy Holidays! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are at this property now and have 7 days left of our trip. We paid a premium to stay here because we specifically wanted an adults only property. This was true for the first few days but now each day families with children are arriving. We were told sonesta has time share properties which permits children, which is fine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 860traveller4444, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are an adults-only resort and no one under the age of 18 is allowed to check in, however, we do have a timeshare section and some of the owners may bring their kids with them, they are not allowed on the resort portion of the... More 

colege point, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been meaning to write for a while and wanted to be fair about this Resort and the rocky steep beach. Where do I begin with this Resort. Let me start off by saying its an older property built in the 1950's and in need of major Renovations. YES All inclusive but not exactly what Americans are use too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mkuinlan, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We're are glad to see Rosalie was able to move you over to a ocean-view room and that you highly enjoyed the view. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have gone over all of your comments with our management team. We do hope you will... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice deal for an all inclusive resort, white sand beach, renewed rooms and pool areas, within walking distance from shopping. Food served as a buffet , flexible schedule for your meals, and beverage goes 24/7 in pool bar area. Barbecues by the pool are like feast and wedding parties on the beach can be also an attrection!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Habib65, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so happy that you had a great time with us. Thank you for highlighting our all-inclusive package, location, renovated rooms, pool and beach areas. We hope to see you again soon! Happy Holidays! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I arrived in St Martin last Saturday for a week's holiday at The Sonesta Great Bay. To our surprise, we discovered it was closed for renovation from the recent hurricane in October. Which left us stranded! Our taxi driver brought us to another Sonesta property (Maho 0 on the other side of the island) who informed us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dana G, We are sorry to hear that the travel agency you booked from did not contact you like they should have. The second we knew about our closure we contacted each travel agency to aware them to contact each guest who booked through them that we would be closing due to Hurricane Gonzalo. We had announcements posted on... More 

Brantford, ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back for a second time my husband and I visited in August 14-21. We have found may improvements this time around at the hotel! We booked through Sunwing. Flight there and back was good. From the moment we got in the hotel shuttle the driver was super nice and we had a nice conversation with him sitting at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear curlygirl30, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so happy that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our new improvements. Thank you for highlighting our breathtaking views, clean rooms and towels, good food and staff. We do hope to see you back at our resort for your third... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I arrived at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort on 10/12/14 for a 4 day trip for our anniversary. We had a fabulous welcome, the oceanfront room was lovely and we had a wonderful evening. Unfortunately that was the end for us. Hurricane Gonzalo hit the island and everything was closed, the hotel was evacuated and we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marlene A, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're happy that you had a good time with us before Hurricane Gonzalo hit. We did everything we could to make our guests feel safe and comfortable and we hope you felt that way. We do hope you will come back again to see us... More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, with beautifully ocean view rooms. I enjoyed walking along the beach to the town area that has lots of shopping and dining options. My room was always clean, the restaurants are lovely with amazing food and wide selection... Thanks to marcia for the fabulous service. One great aspect is the entertainment staff, always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jackcr12345, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our location, beautiful ocean views, clean rooms and great food, and entertainment team. We hope to see you back again soon! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing hotel, the food was amazing, great blue beach, the stores were close by and many activities available. We went to the dominican and it doesn't even compare to st maarten. It was worth the expensive price. The staff doesnt harass you for tip like the other Caribbean countries. You can walk around the city and feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dianajeg, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We're happy you found our resort and food amazing, the ocean to be beautiful and a number of activities around us. We are happy you enjoyed everything and we do hope you come back to see us again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg

2,266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1450)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (369)
Viewed
Room/suite (179)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (246)
Viewed
View from room (145)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (394)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (743)
Viewed
Amenities (97)
Viewed
Apartments' Pool (48)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Double (72)
Viewed
Oceanview King (82)
Viewed
Pools (73)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (100)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Apartment (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay