We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

3.5 of 5 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free nights+$200 credit
#35 of 81 Hotels in St Maarten-St Martin
1,856 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    620
    364
    162
    142
See reviews for
405
712
96
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Lodi, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is located on Maho beach very near the St. Maarten airport. The hotel is clean, however it is very much in need of updating. The interior of the rooms (at least the one I was in) appears to have been decorated in the 1980's. The television however, has been updated to a flat screen and they have satellite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We came back on Sunday Apr 29th with Sunwing. During our stay we had someone to help and support us from Sunwing (Julie) which was really amazing and what to say about the hotel, well the rooms are not spectacular but it was clean at all time and we had a nice view (Pool/Oceanview), the lobby was nice also. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We love hearing guests say they would definitely come back! We are glad you had such an amazing time and we love that you mentioned how sociable this resort is. It is both the guests and staff that make this place so special and welcoming. We hope you can return soon for another wonderful trip! Best regards,... More

Toronto, Ontario.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We travelled toi St Maartin Oct 17th to the 23 2011. Sonesta Maho resort was awesome, checkin was very smooth and we all have junior suites. The pool was very nice but the beach area itself could be much nicer. Due to the location there is not much the resort can do.. If your a beach person you will want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so sorry to hear that you were robbed! Our island is generally considered one of the safest in the Caribbean but thank goodness everyone was OK and your cost was covered. We are glad it didn’t damper your vacation too much and you were still able to have a wonderful time at Maho. The planes... More

Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our first trip to St. Maarten and after reading some questionable reviews, we were a little apprehensive about travelling to this resort, however we were pleasantly surprised. The wait at the front desk upon checkin is at any property especially when your all arriving at the same time from one plane...not a valid complaint in my opinion. Jennifer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It sounds like you had a wonderful first trip to St. Maarten. We’re so glad we made a good first impression on you. The location is great especially for guests who have not come to St. Maarten before as it is close to many amazing shops, restaurants, beaches and is very close to Philipsburg, a city we... More

St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This trip was on my boyfriend's bucket list as he is an aviation enthusiast. When the Groupon for the 3 day all inclusive stay came up in December we jumped on the chance to visit. I had been monitoring Trip Advisor reviews for months leading up to this trip and expected the worst upon our arrival hoping that I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are terribly sorry for the problems that occurred during check in and with your first room, we hate that you were not able to get a sound sleep the first night you arrived. We are currently in the middle of a renovation but that is no excuse. We are glad that you were able to look... More

Chicago
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I bought a LivingSocial voucher for a week long stay and it was a pretty good value for the all-inclusive deal. This was our first time in St. Maarten and we were excited for a vacation. The resort itself is very close to the airport. We were surprised by how short the cab ride was! We do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very sorry that our staff was rude and unfriendly. As you can see from many of the other reviews on here our service and hospitality are things we take very seriously. We are not taking this lightly and will definitely look into the situation. Overall though, we are very glad you had such a nice... More

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

First time in St Maarten,at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino. We were helped by a great experienced service desk by the name of Richard. He made our stay happy and pleasant. He helped us to get the best room with best view you always dream about it. The staff are well trained and very friendly. We will definitely return,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad that Richard made your stay happy and pleasant he will be thrilled. Your photos are amazing and show what a great time you had. We hope you can return very soon for another wonderful stay. Thank you so much for the recommendation! Best regards, Sonesta Maho’s Management More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have just returned from our seventh stay at Sonesta Maho in St. Maarten April 2012; last year we were very disappointed but gave it a second chance and I am glad we did. The hotel has now a "resort" feeling. There is entertainment in the evening, music played at the sweeming pool and in the lobby, great jerk chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad that you gave us a second chance! We have been making many improvements including the entertainment in the evenings and are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope you can return again next year! Best regards, Sonesta Maho’s Management More

New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The staff was very heart warming n treated me very nice and welcoming. The food was great and overall great hospitality. When I got there I was greeted with smiles and a drink. My room was nice and clean everyday. I had a lot of jewelery and other expensive stuff left out and everything was still there when I came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and service. We will let the staff know what a wonderful impact they had on your vacation. We hope you can return soon! Best regards, Sonesta Maho’s Management More

Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We purchased the all inclusive package off LivingSocial which was supposed to be for a Pool/Ocean view room. We had a lot of trouble getting the reservations straight so the hotel upgraded us to Premier Ocean View. I suggest upgrading, the room was your typical hotel room. Nothing fancy or gross about it. The safe in the room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manager1201, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, What wonderful tips and tricks! We are so glad you had such an amazing time at Sonesta Maho and St. Maarten. It sounds like you were able to explore much of the island. We can’t wait for you to return for another amazing vacation! Best regards, Sonesta Maho’s Management More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(31)
  • St Maarten(14)
  • Mullet bay(5)
  • Palm grill(3)
  • Pool bar(3)

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

2,140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1217)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (215)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (196)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
View from room (105)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (494)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (866)
Viewed
Amenities (153)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Pool-Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Pool (53)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (141)
Viewed
Sky Tower Pool-Ocean View (79)
Viewed
Sky Tower Premiere Island View (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Oasis Pool (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St Maarten-St Martin with
any amenities