We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 St Maarten-St Martin hotels

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free nights+$200 credit
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
722Sean Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,716)
  • Photos (2,034)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (673)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    572
    336
    157
    134
See reviews for
362
667
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Outstanding service and remarkable food ,The atmosphere, We could not ask for BETTER.. The staff were attentive and I highly recommend this Resort for any occasions, birthdays to weddings. THANK YOU .

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for my birthday it's a great location staff are helpful all inclusive not a variety selection of what I'm used to please be certain when booking they don't stick you at the sister hotel horrible first night experience overall it's nearby clubs, casino, all in walking distance since it was my birthday I enjoyed it recommend if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

went for a wedding - half the restaurants and hotel closed for renovations - noise not an issue. -Food was very tasty- something for everyone -upgraded to ocean view - which was viewed only when on the balcony. -front desk friendly but problems with checkin - gave us another family member's room -no one's requests were filled at checkin....lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband, sister & brother in law, and myself stayed at the Maho in April 2014 and LOVED every part of it. The location, beaches and overall beauty of St. Marteen was breathtaking, the food was amazing. The resort is dated however overall this was the best trip we have been on ever and we will all be back again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear CharlieNChey, Thank you for taking time out to write your review about your stay with us. We are always so pleased when guests leave our Resort extremely happy. It's so nice to see that you thought this was your best trip ever! Thank you for highlighting our location, the beaches, the overall resort and amazing food. We look forward... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had our daughter's wedding there..it was beautiful...waiters were fun along with bar tender...Thank you carla for all your help..the hotel rooms are old but clean..food was fine..beach and pool great..but the waitress 's....we're so unfriendly. .they act like you are bothering them..unacceptable. ..we are there to have fun..if you don't like your job don't do it!!! More than once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Denise M, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time at our Resort. We are glad to see that your Daughters wedding turned our beautiful and that you enjoyed our location, views and food provided. We strive for our customer service to be at 100% and we have spoken to the department head,... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've heard this hotel was doing some renovations because they want to become a 5 star place. They have a lot to work on with staff before they should even consider this! For a "friendly island", we had the misery of having so many crabby people be our waiters at the restaurants. In particular, the grill and the bar near... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear cdrflorist, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We are in the middle of renovating, like you said, which shows our commitment to providing a positive guest experience. In regards to your room... More

St. Louis
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just had my wedding there. Manager Carla was amazing and our wedding was perfect! Hotel was clean, food was just ok and the restaurant staff were overall unfriendly but bartenders were normally nice. Beach was clean and nice, so fun to see the planes fly over. Pool was small but clean. Overall it was great but my group is pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited St Maarten-St Martin for our honeymoon after getting married St. Lucia. We selected this resort because it was the only all-inclusive stay available, it was close to the airport, and the price was very affordable. The hotel staff was very friendly, check- in was quick and easy, as well as check- out. Wi-Fi is free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a good stay at the Sonesta but were a bit disappointed with the number of undisclosed renovations that were happening. We realized it was the "slow" season, but the website states that there are 5 restaurants and 1 café to choose from - a good variety for a 6 night stay. Unfortunately this is quite misleading. One restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear jeff-from-hamilton, Thank you for taking the time out to leave your comments about your time at our property. We are glad to see that you had an overall good stay with us and we thank you for highlighting our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our property. We don't want out guests to feel misleading at all, but like... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Sonesta in St. Maarten. Overall value is good. However, the hotel needs a major updating. Our group booked 4 rooms and it seemed like each room had a plumbing issue. One toilet would not flush properly, the other for example had a sink that would clog. Management I guess the best that they could. Food in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(31)
  • St Maarten(14)
  • Mullet bay(5)
  • Pool bar(3)
  • Palm grill(3)

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

2,034 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1104)
Viewed
Room/suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (213)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (194)
Viewed
View from room (104)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (393)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (867)
Viewed
Amenities (153)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Pool-Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Pool (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (141)
Viewed
Sky Tower Pool-Ocean View (79)
Viewed
Sky Tower Premiere Island View (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Oasis Pool (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin #10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin #11 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin #24 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
520

See which rooms travelers prefer