We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 St Maarten-St Martin hotels

Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel amenities
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014
Steph V Marina del Rey, California
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    76
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
24
105
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
There are newer reviews for Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you want to party like there is no tomorrow... go to the Dutch side lol... for everybody else... This boutique hotel is the front of a sailing marina filled with multi-million dollar multi hulls and is an older hotel, you can see that once this might have been a glorious place, but that said... the hotel is clean, rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CaptainOliver2014, Guest Relations at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

I would like first of all to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable opinion. As a customer focused organization, it is very important for us to learn about our guest's experience. We hope you truly enjoyed your stay in Saint Martin and in our property. I could not miss your comment on the past glory of... More

Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The resort was a little far from town,but was nice.We rented a car and drove everyday to town and other places.it is cheaper than the taxi.we went with four of us and stayed about five days.the hotel is old and not modern,but acceptable.there is aircondition ,hot and cold water in the room,they were all functioning.The room is just a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AXA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Captain Oliver's resort hotel for two days, Feb 27, 28, in roon 407 All we can say of our experience is do not go there. Our room was clean but the TV did not work, the overhead fan did not work. There are no screens in the sliding doors so because of the chikungunya... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaptainOliver2014, Guest Relations at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kai Klemn, I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and most of all that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We acknowledge that in some sections of the hotel the furniture and the equipment need to be replaced and I can assure you that this is one of the main goals of the... More

New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were looking for a quick getaway from the bad weather up North and Captain Oliver’s was part of a Getaway air and hotel package on the Jet Blue site. I don’t think that we got a particularly good deal price-wise, but it was an easy way to make a last minute decision. Next time I would try to check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is in a nice location. Restaurants & a couple of markets are nearby. Lovely views of the marina/mountains/Caribbean from room balconies. This was probably once a 5 star hotel. Still nice, though. There are restaurants on site, not my favorite on the island. For the BEST crepes on the island walk up the hill to BZH (closed on Sunday).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location **** (out of max 5) very nice location ca. 8 km from Philisburg on the French side in the bay of Oyster Pond. Supermarkets, coffee shops, restaurants either within the resort are in close to the hotel Room. ** (out of max five). Old fashioned large room with nice view to the marina. Mountings in the bath partially do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ottawa, on
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great, large rooms. Quick drive to Philipsburgh. Beautiful view of water and bay. No sandy beach but the pool isn't crowded and is away from the hotel rooms. Day trip to St. Barth's and sailboat chartering is at the dock area. Many convenient restaurants in area, especially the Dinghy Dock Bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Large and clean rooms, friendly and accommodating staff. The pool isn't big but it wasn't crowded when we were there. The only big drawback is a lack of sandy beach. You can jump off from the dock and swim in the bay which is nice and calm, but its not something that the little kids could enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
English Harbour Town, Saint Paul, Antigua
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked Captain Olivers for it's location recalling how bad the traffic can be from Simpson Bay into Phillipsburg and it worked out well. It is no more than 15 minutes drive from Oyster Pond into Phillipsburg where I had to be for a few days. The hotel is ok for the price, the rooms could benefit from a refit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crestwood, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were surprisingly spacious. Clean and cool, a little dated, but comfortable. Thought it was a great location just over the French side. Couldn't ask for better! Will definitely visit again.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby