We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 St Maarten-St Martin hotels

Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014
MarianaPuerta Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (130)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    70
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
96
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Morning breakfast is contracted to nearby restaurant, be prepared if cook is not available there is no alternative cook on premises. We arrived n had to wait for an hour for a cook. Rooms are poor especially bathrooms, shower door are dangerous and may fall off tracks n hurt someone. They would not even fix it and it's July slow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in the hotel. The staff is extremely kind and helpulf and the location and views from the room are incredible. The hotel is comfortable, quiet, basic but needs a quick refurbishment and investment as time passed by and competitors are many. There are two bars and a restaurant in the marina close to the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Captain Oliver's could stand a lick of paint, but we spent four incredibly happy days there thanks to the location, the view, the surroundings, the staff, the comfort of the rooms (beautiful marshmallow duvets on the beds!) Would love to go back this very minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I am a flight attendant for a major American airline and I've stayed in many places with my career so I am verrry picky about the properties I rent when on personal time off. I also do not often rate properties but our experience at Captain Oliver's motivates me to do so. My husband, another couple and I chartered a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you want to party like there is no tomorrow... go to the Dutch side lol... for everybody else... This boutique hotel is the front of a sailing marina filled with multi-million dollar multi hulls and is an older hotel, you can see that once this might have been a glorious place, but that said... the hotel is clean, rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CaptainOliver2014, Guest Relations at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

I would like first of all to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable opinion. As a customer focused organization, it is very important for us to learn about our guest's experience. We hope you truly enjoyed your stay in Saint Martin and in our property. I could not miss your comment on the past glory of... More

Paramaribo, Suriname
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The resort was a little far from town,but was nice.We rented a car and drove everyday to town and other places.it is cheaper than the taxi.we went with four of us and stayed about five days.the hotel is old and not modern,but acceptable.there is aircondition ,hot and cold water in the room,they were all functioning.The room is just a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AXA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Captain Oliver's resort hotel for two days, Feb 27, 28, in roon 407 All we can say of our experience is do not go there. Our room was clean but the TV did not work, the overhead fan did not work. There are no screens in the sliding doors so because of the chikungunya... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaptainOliver2014, Guest Relations at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kai Klemn, I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and most of all that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We acknowledge that in some sections of the hotel the furniture and the equipment need to be replaced and I can assure you that this is one of the main goals of the... More

New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were looking for a quick getaway from the bad weather up North and Captain Oliver’s was part of a Getaway air and hotel package on the Jet Blue site. I don’t think that we got a particularly good deal price-wise, but it was an easy way to make a last minute decision. Next time I would try to check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is in a nice location. Restaurants & a couple of markets are nearby. Lovely views of the marina/mountains/Caribbean from room balconies. This was probably once a 5 star hotel. Still nice, though. There are restaurants on site, not my favorite on the island. For the BEST crepes on the island walk up the hill to BZH (closed on Sunday).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location **** (out of max 5) very nice location ca. 8 km from Philisburg on the French side in the bay of Oyster Pond. Supermarkets, coffee shops, restaurants either within the resort are in close to the hotel Room. ** (out of max five). Old fashioned large room with nice view to the marina. Mountings in the bath partially do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer