We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Soufriere hotels

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Linger Longer Free Nights
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ascanio G
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    100
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
104
396
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (571)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved this resort. We stayed in a one bedroom villa on the hillside (if you can stay in one of the bungalows on the beach then do so) which was well served by free taxis to the beach. The bungalow was big and very tastefully decorated. You get a butler that looks after any need that you may have.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Based on what you have described, it is evident that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us with the exception of the disappointment that you have highlighted about the price of food. This is an area we... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited sugar beach as a day trip from our villa. We planned on just spending the day at the beach. We assumed we could rent beach chairs but were informed that the hotel was booked and none were available. Strange being only 1/3 were being used. I'm not picky so it was fine and we found a shady place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear of the poor level of service that you received at our restaurant. I would like to apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience caused. We take these comments very seriously as we pride ourselves on delivering the best... More 

Houston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I just returned from Sugar Beach. We spent 4 wonderful days at this beautiful resort and we did not want to leave. Upon arrival, we were greeted by both of our butlers, Shawn and Macrina. They were both so genuinely nice and professional throughout our stay and they helped us with whatever we needed. You are given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort on TripAdvisor. It brings us great satisfaction to know that you truly enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with everything that we offered especially the services offered by your butlers Shawn and... More 

Columbia, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a short trip (4 nights) to Sugar Beach, and we had an amazing time. We stayed in one of the Sugar Mill rooms (#6), which was very spacious, had a private terrace with a great view of the Gros Piton, and also had a small private garden in the back with two lounge chairs and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Based on what you have described, it is evident that you had an amazing anniversary stay with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve on our food and beverage offerings to ensure that all our guests are satisfied in this... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I have been to St. Lucia multiple times. We often do a couples massage when there. The former Jalouise Estates, but now newly renovated called Sugar Beach is unbelievable. I called from another hotel in Soufriere to schedule the couples message...was blinded by the sticker price of almost 500.00 US/per person. I negotiated down to under 300.00... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your spa experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to utilize our Rainforest Spa and happy that it turned out to be the best spa experience you have ever had. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We... More 

NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I just returned home from a week at Sugar Beach and it was absolutely amazing. The property is gorgeous and the setting is to die for. We stayed in a Luxury Villa in the 300's with our own plunge pool, a stunning view of the ocean and the Pitons. I have stayed at several 5 star Caribbean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to receive such glowing feedback and to know that we were able to exceed your expectation. I will be sure to share your comments with the butlers who took such exceptional care of you. I know they will be thrilled with... More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our third visit to this lovely resort. We had a great holiday, which was mostly due to the fabulous staff who happily welcomed us back. In particular, Caroline from the Beach, Bronny from the Bayside and Lucita from the Spa could not have done more for us - really lovely ladies and very good at their jobs. Our room, Sugar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to thank you for your comments once again and apologize for the inconvenience that you have highlighted with the enhancement work that was taking place on the Terrace restaurant. I am truly sorry we did not inform you that this small project would be happening at the time of your stay--especially so bearing in mind... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a fantastic time at the Sugar beach in St Lucia, missing it now back in cold London. All the staff were great but a special mention goes to Alsee (Ilstidm sorry, couldn't help but drop your first name in there), Mosiah (our butler), Cysline (thanks for sorting out our baby boy's meals while sorting out our beach bar cocktails),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are so happy to hear that all the individuals mentioned positively contributed to a wonderful stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with them. They will be delighted. Once again, thank you for your comments and business.... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When your charging upward of 1000$ a room (for the beach bungalows), im afraid expectations are high and your remembered more for what you do wrong than right. Saying that one cannot convey just what a magical location this is, i shall not allude further its quite rightly plastered all over Tripadvisor and its own website doesn't do it justice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post your feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I am very sorry to learn of the lapses in service and the disappointments that you have highlighted. It is rare that we have the service issues that you have described. We always strive... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing property, beautiful grounds and the most wonderful staff around. We could not have been happier with our honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach. The service was unbelievable. Our butler, Swamed, went above and beyond. From greeting at us with the most delicious welcome drinks, to meeting us at our door with an umbrella to walk us to the shuttle for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for making Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort your honeymoon destination and we are truly happy that you had the most amazing time. We are known for the very high level of service that we offer to our guests and I am glad that we were able to share this experience with you. Swamed will be commended... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere

967 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (919)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (162)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from room (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (233)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay