We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bakoua

Hotel website
La Pointe du Bout, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bakoua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Bakoua
Add Photo

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    182
    133
    65
    47
See reviews for
79
264
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (493)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (205)
All months
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I spent a week at the Bakoua hotel in mid May 2015. We were very satisfied with the service, and the overall experience. We found the breakfast buffet was quite complete, as well as the dinner menu. The dinner staff really made our stay memorable, and we would like to command particularly Patrick and Francine for their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

After travelling to over 60 countries and experiencing 100s of accommodation options at all levels, we feel compelled to write, for first time, about the consistently poor service at Bakoua. Reception clearly disliked those who did not speak perfect English. We had lived for several months in France and always try to make an effort. Perhaps, he just disliked Aussies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, General Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment after your stay at Hotel Bakoua. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I wish I had the chance to talk about it with you while you were here. There is always a manager available if needed. Our staff is always happy to welcome... More 

Travelers are raving about these Trois-Ilets hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

Great location.The hotel all in all is a very charming place even if it is showing its age(but it's part of its charme). Arrived last night we found the room not what we expected. We booked a privilege room sea view. Fantastic sea view but not really a privilege room at all, by the way also smaller compared with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Clara, Thank you for your appreciation. Our Privilege rooms are the biggest category and the rooms are very spacious, way more than the one on the beach. There is always obviously a supplement between each room categories. But i'm glad our great front desk team helped you and made your stay memorable. Best regards. More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I really don't understand the mixed reviews for this hotel. It is BEAUTIFUL. We arrived at midnight after a ten hour delay on our flight from Cuba, in a taxi instead of the hire car we had booked because the hire car company had closed for the day. My French is conversational at best, and the reception were really friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear M. and Mrs Thompson, Thank you so very much for the great and warm comments. I am so glad you had a wonderful time with us and we were very happy to have you here. It ws my pleasure to help you with the rental car issue! We hope to welcome you again soon and feel free to contact... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Our fourth trip to the hotel. The first where it is privately owned and not part of the Accor chain. The beach is just there - sandy, doesn't get deep quickly with lots of rocks for snorkelling and seeing multiple fish. The coco bar over the water is good for lunch if a limited food menu. Service is good. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Joules, Thank you for being so faithful and devoted to the Bakoua for several years now! I am glad you are enjoying our hotel so much. Regarding the Coco bar, it is open every friday evening for an hour. We, department managers, invite all of our guests to take a drink on the house! It's a great moment to... More 

Alessandria, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I stayed here after a Catamaran trip as the hotel was listed in the brochure and seemed ok. In fact it was nice as a structure, colonial style originally and could have rated better but... Starting with breakfast.. Not exceptional and every day something was missing. One day it was bacon , the next day bananas, the tables were never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yves J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Gertie, I'm very sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It is a shame because we put our guests' satisfaction and hapiness above everyting. Our breakfast is on a buffet basis, with fresh local products. Therefore it means that sometimes some products are totally depending on the delivery. But we always offer an equivalent alternative to... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This is a property with so much potential that is underutilized and under staffed. There are disappointments everywhere that could be easily avoided. Go for the beach but save your money because there are so many better run places around the island

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Yves J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear David, I am very sorry you were disappointed during your stay in our hotel. We perfectly know that our hotel has an enormous potential and we are deeply thankful everyday for that, working hard each day a bit more to offer amazing services and fulfilling our staff from all departments. We will soon have complete renovations and our potential... More 

Zurich
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

An very good hotel, not far away from the capital. The rooms at beach front are superb (even if some are quit small). Pity breakfast is more continental french than carribean! I recommand it and will definitely retunr there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you for your very good comments. I am glad you had a great stay with us! Our rooms on the beach have indeed a very special and pleasant location. We have a very big buffet breakfast that we try to diversify as much as possible, from typical french pastries etc, to typical fruits and a creole... More 

Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon and loved it. Jean Michel at the front desk is a wonderful host, including hooking us up with an ocean view room in the building above the lobby. We had a balcony with a marvelous view of the grounds and the beach during the day, stars at night - awesome. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yves J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review

Dear Keo, Thank you so much for the great feedback about the hotel. I am delighted to read you had a wonderful time with us. Your comments are important to us because they make us improve our hotel and services more and more each day, and this is definitely what matters the most to us: the satisfaction and happiness of... More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

My wife and I traveled to five Caribbean islands and stayed in six different hotels over the last three months. This was the worst. Since the hotel needs a refurbishing, things often don't work. We were locked out of our room because the lock system failed. There were also problems with the shower and the WiFi. MGallery Collection just broke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yves J, Directeur général at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour Vicente Nous avons bien reçu votre commentaire et nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour chez... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

274 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay