We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Plaza De Armas

Hotel website
Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Plaza De Armas
Rate this Hotel

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    261
    132
    63
    55
See reviews for
95
301
93
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (692)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (200)
All months
New Boston, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at this hotel as scheduled and were immediately told there was a problem with our room, that the king bed room with the plaza view was no longer available. We were told that it was a problem with booking.com that they did not send them all the required information (how did they know that we were suppose to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Mrs Watkins for having the time to comment about your recent stay at our property Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan. We are really glad you enjoyed our fantastic location and the service from the friendliest staff in all Old San Juan. Regarding your situation when you arrived, we did have a problem with your original... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The positives are that the location of the hotel is excellent and the people who work there are nice. Negatives - Our room had no cover on the transom window which gave out onto the hallway so the room was light all night long. The transom window was also broken. The safe was broken There were not enough outlets so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review

Thank you Valerie for taking the time to write your impression about your recent stay at Old San Juan. We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location and the friendliest front desk staff in Old San Juan area that we have. However I can assure you that we are much more than just that We are deeply sorry your... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in San Juan on The 19th about mid day. We of course were told our room was not ready and they would store our baggage. As has been said in other reviews, this is not exactly a secure area, but our bags were fine. We were finally able to check in at 3pm and were given a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review

We are really sorry GatorSteve for your experience but as you have established this situation is not our fault. You can not blame us for the noise on the street Not coming back to us is your call but maybe you didn't know we have quieter Interior Queen Bed Windowless room where noise is minimum. We assure you that Hotel... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here before joinng a cruise ship. Our bags were delayed by the airline. The next day we asked the airline to bring our bags to the ship. We left the hotel with our contact information just in case the bags were delivered there by mistake. the bags were delivered there and the hotel did not bother to contact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review

Sorry Christopher but we are not responsible for bags missing in the airport. We do have your information but the luggage came after you were inside the cruise and we are not allow to keep bags in the hotel when our guest leave. So we needed to give back your bags to the airline Delta , they were the one... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at Hotel Plaza de Armas mid evening and were greeted by Pedro, who was a most pleasant concierge! He was so friendly, helpful with our luggage, and gave us directions to several different places for dining and music. This place is centrally located, close to great restaurants as well as interesting places to visit. The rooms were clean,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Plaza de Armas for one night after delays caused us to miss our flight to our final destination. We picked this hotel for its value and its proximity to the many historic landmarks in Old San Juan after a very quick search on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a bit dingy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review

Thanks a lot NewTraveler79 for taking the time to write your impression about your stay in Old San Juan. We are really glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our location, value and staff. The majority of our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet which is a little wider than the average room in this area and they... More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location for staying in old San Juan. Right next door to the State Department and Plaza. Very safe area. Easy to walk to all the sights and lots of good restaurants. The WiFi was only suppose to be available in the public areas, but we were able to get good access in our inside, windowless room. The staff was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night after a cruise. It's a two star stay and a decent price but its old. The rooms have 12 foot ceilings and the rooms are all tile which means that you hear every conversation, every door close, and everything on the street. The staff was awesome and ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montezuma, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and loved the hotel and hospitality. We had one minor issue this time - we had no hot water. There was none Saturday night and then again Sunday morning. Otherwise, they were very accommodating. We had to cancel two rooms due to flight issues and we were given one of the rooms in place of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was in Old San Juan, very good location, very friendly and helpful staff. The elevator is very old and small. We used it to go up but used stairs to go down with our luggage because people were stuck in the elevator. Our room was windowless which I did not like. The place needs some work but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

544 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (283)
Viewed
NQ1 Room (38)
Viewed
NT1 Room (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
SNK1 Room (52)
Viewed
SNK2 Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question