We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 San Juan accommodations

Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   405 San Francisco Street | 5th floor, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
Hotel amenities
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posada San Francisco Old San Juan to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Steve G Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    84
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
110
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hostel with a friend who had stayed there before, and recommended it. I'm glad she did because it was a great place to stay. Good prices (compared to overly priced hotels), clean rooms, and very accommodating and friendly staff. And the location is right in the heart of old San Juan. I would definitely stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during Sanse - a 4 day 24/7 street party in Old San Juan. It's right in front of the Plaza Colon, so there was plenty of activity outside. With the door closed in our private room, we had no trouble sleeping - which should be interpreted as praise. The staff was friendly and helpful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location, location, location! This hostel is located right in front of Plaza Colon and within walking distance to all the top attractions to visit in Old San Juan (Castillo San Cristobal, El Morro, Paseo la Princesa, La Fortaleza, El Capitolio, etc.) in addition to the many restaurants and bars that will satisfy all your cravings. Posada is a family run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night upon arrival to Puerto Rico. Wish I would have stayed at least one more day. There is so much to do in this area. The management of this establishment is very up front that this is basic accommodation s. We got a private room with king bed and it was fine. You do have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is in a fantastic location: on the Plaza de Colón, within a short walking distance of many restaurants, stores, and La Fortaleza, El Morro, and museums. The other guests in the hostel are really friendly, but the noise doesn't reach the rooms, which is nice. If you leave something out on the counter, please put a sign on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meldrim, Georgia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

View was beautiful and the location was fabulous! The Posada San Francisco is a nice clean hostel in an older Old San Juan building. We reserved a private room with a shared bath. Staff was very friendly and helpful with storing our luggage for the day. We had no problems with anything and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The best thing about Posada San Francisco is its location. It's located right in the center of Old San Juan within walking distance to all of the major attractions including Fuerte San Felipe de Morro, Fuerte San Cristobal, La Fortaleza, Paseo de la Princesa, and many museums. You can also find many great restaurants right outside the hotel on Plaza... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I didn't end up staying the night so that should be taken into consideration. I had originally booked one night online for $20 and then later decided I wanted to stay two. I went in to the front desk and asked if they had availability and what the price would be. I was told I could extend the same room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sanfranciscodeasis, Manager at Posada San Francisco Old San Juan, responded to this review

I cannot believe you have chosen to write this review. During winter season ( high season for us) you had booked a dorm $20 FOR A WEEKDAY then you decided to arrive a day earlier on a WEEKEND night ( which this season has festivals ...Front desk made your reservation. as per your request THEY DID NOT STATE THAT IT... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

walkable and centered location in old san juan, View is pretty awesome I can sit in the balcony all day. also extremely affordable. Family owned hostel, people are very nice. I would come here again. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Very unhelpful staff. There was one reception girl in particular that was very unhelpful and sour faced. Room is very basic and the bed is max a double size not queen. Floor in the room was really dirty and our feet got black from just walking around the room. Nice common areas and the kitchen is nice and well set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sanfranciscodeasis, General Manager at Posada San Francisco Old San Juan, responded to this review

You reserved same day as arrival in an expedia sale of $40- a night weekday night. and the description never said it was a queen bed. As we do not have queen beds in our property. Double bed - Full size bed. The sale was placed as there was not too many guest and the two nights you decided to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Posada San Francisco Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

Address: 405 San Francisco Street | 5th floor, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada San Francisco Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Posada San Francisco Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan Hotel San Juan

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay