We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Negril hotels

Firefly Beach Cottages

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Firefly Beach 50% Off
Save Saved
You added Firefly Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Firefly Beach Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #39 of 91 hotels in Negril
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014
Jendot7 Louisville, Kentucky
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (944)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
15
59
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Firefly Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Firefly Cottages no longer has a nude beach so if this is important to you go someplace else.This used to be a very relaxing place to stay with a clothing optional beach Sadly that is no more so it's no longer unique on 7 miles beach. There are now much better alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David S, previous owner until 1st March this year. at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

I am the 'old owner', responding with the permission of the new owners of Firefly. Previous guests who enjoyed the naturist facility here will naturally be disappointed that it is no longer available. The reviewer's previous review of Firefly last June gave 5* for 3 categories, while this year he gave 4* to two of those categories and to another... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiance, a friend of ours, and myself stayed at Firefly the first week of March for my 30th Birthday. We are all well traveled and have stayed in Negril several times. We read many of the reviews before staying but didn't feel like the reviews gave an accurate representation of the property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Firefly as it is your review that helps us to serve you better. We are sorry that you had some downside on your last visit with us. First I must say that you were here at the first two weeks of the new managers taking over Firefly. Since then we have undergone major refurbishing... More

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Not a relaxing experience, there was no was security to keep locals from coming right up to us while laying out and ogling us naked on the beach repeatedly trying to sell us junk every 15 minutes, horrible and loud night time noise until 4 am some nights, over priced poor food, bed springs poking thru mattresses ...spend your money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Firefly! We the new managers of Firefly do apologise for your recent experience with us and would like to reassure you that every effort since our take over in March has been made to improve our accommodation and services, thus guaranteeing all our guests a very relaxing experience. Most rooms have been refurbished, including... More

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my girlfriend's first trip to a naturist friendly resort, and the descriptions of the property (form the website and from other advertisements) were not exactly descriptive enough in my opinion...other naturists we met there felt much the same way. We stayed in the Chalet and the cabin was quite comfortable. It was clean and we did not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Firefly! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that you may know by now that Firefly no longer accommodates naturists bathing, however we do offer all our Carib apartments to all our naturists guests as their beach is more private. We hope that you will consider staying at... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We are currently at Firefly and this week we were told by current employees that Firefly has been sold. They also stated that the new owners will take possession on or about April 1st. The staff remain friendly and cheerful. Like many, we remain uncertain about the future of the resort. Yesterday we were noticing how many large resorts have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on Firefly! We the management and staff of Firefly continue to do our best in ensuring that all our guests leave feeling very satisfied. Most of the rooms have been refurbished and new beds, a/c, in room safes, drapery, linen and much more has been placed in the rooms. We have 24hr security which helps to... More

North Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Absolutely loved this hidden gem! The staff is super friendly, loved our unit on the third floor, veranda, the flowers, the almond trees, the white sandy beach and everyone who also stayed that week! Dornette did the best massages, Maxine, Nesrine, and Nieta did the best breakfasts and smoothies, and Gabrielle advised on the most romantic Mayfield Waterfalls tour! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Firefly! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to serve you even better on your next visit. More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Overall our stay was very pleasant from beginning to end. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, including the provision of an extra key and late checkout. The bar was reasonably priced for Negril and their section of the beach itself was a great example of what Negril is famous for (you can get both sun and shade from their... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I can't get to in depth since I flew in, slept, ran the race the next day, stayed Saturday night, then went home. The location was great though, like dead center of the beach. Slightly less than a mile to the race expo and race start/finish. Perfect for not needing a taxi to get anywhere. The breakfast was excellent and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful & friendly. Bars & good quality restaurants were in easy reach along the beach. Lots of hawkers but they will take a "no thanks" with a smile and, anyway, some of the stuff being sold was good valu, delicious fruit and fruit juice. Ganja was also readily available but... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Firefly provides visitors with amazing ambience. Located just paces from the ocean and is surrounded by beautiful landscaping that is maintained everyday by the wonderful staff. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay there. I would stay here everytime I visit. If you do not want a trendy resort feeling, then stay at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Firefly Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

944 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (826)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (35)
Viewed
Cabin #1 (75)
Viewed
Cabin #4 (130)
Viewed
Garden View Penthouse (70)
Viewed
Large One Bedroom (80)
Viewed
One Bedroom (91)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Studio (81)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)
Viewed
Two Bedroom (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Negril with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril #25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, WiFi and Jacuzzi are here. All our romantic rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our beach bar/cafe, with Maxine in charge, is well-known for the luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Firefly Beach Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer