We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Offers & Announcements
10% EXTRA SAVINGS
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Add Photo

3,756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2,351
    997
    284
    92
    32
See reviews for
217
2,706
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3756)
  • Mar-May only
    (1135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (873)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (694)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1054)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

FOOD POSIONING Re: The Jewel Dunn River Beach Resort & Spa Jan 26, 2013- Feb 2, 2013 Worst experience of my ENTIRE life… They have a poolside grill where they serve pre-cooked burgers and the mayo sits out all day on the counter. They serve pre-made jerk chicken wraps, but the pre-made food isn’t even refrigerated, so it’s just crawling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, let me say thank you for staying with us, and it was in deed our pleasure to have hosted you. Let me take this opportunity to address your major concern of your alleged food poisioning, that you stated that the Jewel was "cruel". I am quite shocked at this review as our safety standards are quite high... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent 4 nights here with my wife from Jan. 25-29, 2013. The ride in from the airport took almost 2 hours because we had to drop some passengers off at other resorts along the way. Not a fantastic start, but, we were already forewarned from travel reviews. Once we arrived the check in process was a snap. We made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thank you for your review and delighted that you enjoyed yourself, despite a few issues. I am happy that you made mentioned of them, so we can have them corrected, the ones that can, but disappointed that you did not make mention while you were here so we could have had the opportunity to correct what we can.... More 

Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Jewel doesn't mess around. It's the perfect size. You look next door and see the humongous RIU. Here, you have a great variety, but don’t have to walk a mile to get to the other side. There were many options. Food – great. Breakfast rocked, loved the omelets. Tried some new fruits and foods while we were there. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to have hosted you, and delighted that you enjoyed our resort, and the amenties that we offer. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just got back from Jewel and it was amazing. The staff was so helpful! It was so intimate and not massive like other all-inclusives I've stayed at. The food and amenities were top notch! The rooms were very nice and spacious. I recommend an ocean-view room. The trip to/from the airport is a little long, but once you're there, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shannon It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you enjoyed your stay and happy that you would recommend our resort. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were at Jewel Dunn's River Resort from January 12 - 19, 2013. We went with another couple and had a wonderful time. We were upgraded to an oceanview room which was lovely. The resort was nice and intimate which we enjoyed. We never had a problem finding a chair on the beach. All the staff were fantastic. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lauren W It was our pleasure to have hosted you, and delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed all that we offer. I also want to say thank you for the recommendation and see you again soon. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fair to nice. Not a real All inclusive. If you want your minibar stocked with anything more then water ans juice, you have to upgrade $$$. The rooms are nice and the bed very confortable. But the bathroom is minuscule and water pressure on the 6th floor is very poor. In the middle of a shower, the water stopped. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us, and delighted that the staff made your vacation a memorable one. I fully understand your concern with the food, in the restuarants and as you know food is a preference. With regards to the your room category to get a mini bar, it is clearly advertsied on our website the catogries that... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent our vacation here January 26 - February 02. Got a private transfer from the airport by Island Transfer and Tours. Much more personable/friendly experience than the included transfer and reasonably priced too. The resort itself is probably one of the cleanest I have ever been to. Staff are always cleaning up at all hours. Also some of the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you enjoyed our resort and what we had to offer. Your comments will be shared with the team, to continue motivate and encourage them to deliver that level of service of professionalism. I will be contacting you to get more details of your visit to further share... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a good resort with lots to do. It was adult only but it also seems to be couples resort as well. My favorite place to eat was The Platinum and we ate there five of the 7 nights. The hotel is bit dated but will do. The staff was very friendly and tips go a long way. Shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a great time. It was our pleasure to have hosted you and looking forward to seeing you again. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 12 night stay at the Jewel (18-30 Jan). Our room was in the Sapphire with a sea view. The room size was adaquate for our needs (not that you spend much time in there!). Mini fridge was restocked daily with water and juices. Towels changed twice daily, turn down service nightly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Tracy H Thanks for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and it was our pleasure to have hosted you and looking forward to hosting you again soon. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Can't say enough about this resort, the only downfall and it was very small was the size of the bathroom in the Emarld Lanaei rooms. The staff was amazing from Sanya , Happy Feet, The Mayor and Sassy- they really made the resort extremely enjoyable for all, the food and the food presentation was great and the ammenities were great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted that you will return, and that the staff was the contributing factor to that. I am also happy that you enjoyed our resort, despite the bathroom, not to your expectation. Thnaks again and see you soon. Regards Daine Golaube Guest Services Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4,640 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3659)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (727)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (888)
Viewed
Dining (304)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (433)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
View from room (230)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
3:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (993)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (941)
Viewed
Amenities (179)
Viewed
Beach (48)
Viewed
Diamond Oceanview Room (71)
Viewed
Emerald Lanai Guest Room (64)
Viewed
Honeymoon Haven Ocean Front Suite (93)
Viewed
Jasper's Chillin Pool (41)
Viewed
Main Pool (110)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (129)
Viewed
Sapphire Oceanview Room (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay