We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
EXTRA 10% OFF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Write a Review

3,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,183
    914
    251
    88
    32
See reviews for
186
2,510
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3468)
  • Mar-May only
    (912)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (810)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (694)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1052)
All months
Yoe, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Wish the weather had been better but overall we enjoyed our stay feb 20-23. Keep it to our pros and cons: Pros: smaller intimate feel, easy to get to everything and find everything. Pools, hot tubs are open and available to use 24/7 The hot tubs are huge. mostly friendly staff, maybe once or twice didn't have optimal service. Get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The commute from the airport is approx. 2hrs. The resort is starting to show its age. The grounds are well kept. The food is average. The beach is very small. The staff in general is very helpful and friendly. The one thing I would recommend to the management is to take down the spa hut on the beach. it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my first all inclusive, however I've been on several cruises and stayed at top resorts in major cities. The resort is small and while well maintained, was a bit aged and run down. If you like liquor, it was fine (except they serve their drinks in blue plastic cups like the ones in cafeterias. Not real classy). But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

were were looking forward to our lovely holiday and to celebrate 40 years of marriage unfortunately the staff always seem to want a tip. the Americans and Canadians seem to think this was a good idea and that they would get served which was the case if they paid I am not a selfish person but I was made to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just got back from our stay at the resort. The grounds were beautiful, the beach was well kept, but best of all the people were amazing. Thank you to Dametri, Kevin, Morris, Mayor, and Happy Feet for such a great time! The atmosphere is very inviting and you get to know so many familiar faces while at the resort.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Janice J, Asst. Guest Services Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was indeed a pleasure having you with us. Time goes by so quickly when you are having a good time; can't wait to have you back. I will be sharing your commendations with the team. Regards, More 

Cochrane, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed from feb 16 to the 23. So much that is said in the other reviews is mostly true. The resort is small, beach is small, food is pretty good, the staff are amazing. There is no security issues from people on the other side of the fence. They just want to sell you some pot. No threat there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Janice J, Asst. Guest Services Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your vacation with us and for sharing your experience. I am happy you had a good time, we look forward to your return in the near future. Regards, More 

Carleton Place, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Whent there for one week in late February. The food at the buffet id awful ; more like food in a 3 star. Also the service at pool, buffet restaurant ect... is non existent . Compare to the Riu next door where we stayed for the other week, this resort looks and is a 3 star resort. The pools are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Janice J, Assistant Guest Services Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending time with us. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. As taste is subjective to ones taste, i am sorry that you did not see it necessary to share your thoughts with us regarding same. One of our Chefs would be happy to sit with you and personally prepare... More 

Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok this was our seventh time to Jamaica and first official time staying in Ocho (we stayed in Runaway Bay once and traveled to downtown Ocho) Way to rainy for me. Could have just been a fluke but someone else says it rains more there so next time probably going back to Negril. That being said, it was still warmer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Management response:

Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to have you spend your vacation with us. I am happy that we contributed to you having an awesome time. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, these are used to assist us in identifying our areas of opportunity and strengths; while we improve the product we offer. We hope to see you... More 

Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a week at The Jewel at Dunn's River. This was our first experience with an all-inclusive and it was generally a favorable experience. I must start by mentioning the incredible staff; we were always greeted with a smile and each and every person was very friendly, accomodating and dedicated to making sure our visit to their resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Janice J, Assistant Guest Services Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your vacation with us ad for sharing your experience. In am delighted to hear that you had a great time wile you enjoyed the every aspect of what we had to offer; from the food t the entertainment. We hope to see you soon. Regards, More 

Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Been on a number of vacation spots and this was by far the most welcoming of any. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed home. Beautifully decorated resort. Rooms in the Sapphire building were spacious and very comfortable. The view of the mountains was majestic. Started the vacation in the Coral Cafe. A wonderful lady named Camarra was our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Janice J, Assistant Guest Services Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to have you spend your vacation with us. I am elated to hear that all your expectations were exceeded. Thank you for your commendations we will share with our team. We look forward to welcoming you "home" soon Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very good(54)
  • Entertainment staff(51)
  • Great time(47)
  • Jerk chicken(45)
  • Piano Bar(28)
  • Room service(16)
  • Jade Samurai(8)
  • Very nice(7)
  • Ocean views(7)
  • Couples massage(5)

Additional Information about The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Resort And Spa
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios

4,410 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3429)
Viewed
Dining (295)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (815)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (681)
Viewed
View from room (224)
Viewed
Room/suite (405)
Viewed
Family/play areas (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
3:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (929)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (941)
Viewed
Amenities (179)
Viewed
Beach (48)
Viewed
Diamond Oceanview Room (71)
Viewed
Emerald Lanai Guest Room (64)
Viewed
Honeymoon Haven Ocean Front Suite (93)
Viewed
Jasper's Chillin Pool (41)
Viewed
Main Pool (110)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (129)
Viewed
Sapphire Oceanview Room (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay