We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Hotel amenities
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tracy H Winnipeg, Canada
Rate this Hotel

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    121
    91
    48
    81
See reviews for
59
194
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (435)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we booked this trip it was a spur of the moment and unfortunately had second thoughts afterwards. But after reading review after review we decided to go and get our own opinion. First off, the hotel is a little run down and needs some updating. If you don't mind faded paint and 70's carpet, this resort is nothing but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent a week at Shaw Park, and we loved our time there. The reviews are so incredibly mixed on this place, it is either for you or it isn't. Do your research before you stay anywhere and read between the lines. This hotel was refreshing for us since it was, in a positive way low key and down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked last minute and choose this resort for 2 reasons the beach and the small resort environment. I love the this little slice of heaven, as others have said if you want a large chain resort environment DON'T GO HERE. Willy the bartender was amazing treated you as a friend. Some of the wait staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

True, the hotel does need some work, and up-dating. However, you can see the character behind the hotel itself. It has a beautiful lobby with arching windows (and a small balcony area) overlooking the water. To the right, you see the outstretching beach, and as I could tell, was one of the longer beaches in Ocho Rios. The hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was unbelievable. Staff was very friendly .Food & Entertainment was awesome. We can't wait to go back to " Shaw park" for all of above and for the amazing ocean view. ...............................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An amazing experience we had. The service of the staffs outstanding. The hotel Old fashion but comfy. The food great! The band's on each nights incredible. The views paradise. We are coming again Shaw Park Beach and spa now our favourite spot to get away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

if you are looking for modern and fancy- forget it! this is jamaica back in the day! food was great, excellent beach, fantastic drinking water, and the staff was friendly and always helpful! my wife and i liked it so much we are going back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food: a lot of it was quite good but it's a small buffet for every meal. Choices are limited and a bit repetitive so not a place for picky eaters. As long as the weather is good you eat outside right at the ocean, not stuck in a huge buffet restaurant a km from the water like big resorts and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Oliver R, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Embrunfun, We have read your recent review of this Property and appreciate all your concerns !. The report was quite lengthy and all the points that were highlighted were correct. I will comment on the important points, as those are most critical. Concerning the Foods : We try our utmost to provide "tasty and nutritious" meals at all times... More 

Umea, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shaw Park Beach Hotel is an old worn all inclusive hotel, about two kilometers outside of Ocho Rios. The rooms were quite large and had a sea view. Most of the beach in front of the hotel had been eaten by the sea but there was a piece of beach that stretched from the hotel until a river. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oliver R, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ulf S. Thank so much for your recent visit and we were indeed grateful to have you as our special guest at this Resort in Ocho Rios. We know that the Hotel is somewhat "old and not very modern' but it is still regarded as an "old charm of Ocho Rios" and the colonial style is regarded as one... More 

Edmonton Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited many resorts over the years in various countries, Cuba, Mexico, Dominican, Grenada, St. Lucia, etc etc.and have never experienced such poor service, terrible food along with a very tired and run down resort.There was some very rude employees who added misery to the experience. I understand the business model that the hotel requires in order to sustain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GemforTravellers, Manager at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Vandalbutz of Edmonton, Alberta. Thanks for your review that we received yesterday and although your expressions were frightening and somewhat cavalier, you have stated that "Resort - offers extremely poor value for money". Ultimately you were dissatisfied with our services !. You have indicated that the Food was bland, not many choices & lack creativity and the Drinks were cheap... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

418 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (391)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question