We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Montego Bay hotels

Toby's Resort

2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Toby's Resort to your Saves list
Toby's Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #28 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sista-Levi Manchester,CT.
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (148)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    136
    74
    23
    9
See reviews for
45
94
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,CT.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last time I stayed here, everything (except the food) was fantastic. This trip, I had to change rooms due to an ant infestation. (and I am aware the tropics have bugs) They were crawling up my leg, in the bathroom, so I packed up and asked to be moved...which they did. They also gave me a different coffee maker, since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, guys this review comes to you years after my stay so I hope it still lives up to my experience. My husband was going to Jamaica on business and decided to add a few days to the trip and bring me along. When he told me he booked a two star hotel you know my nose was turned up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Travelling on my own to Mo Bay for the first time I was a little apprehensive although I am familiar with Jamaica having lived there for some years. I felt very comfortable and secure there.Staff were helpful and location very conveniently spent 6 nights before visiting friends in Kingston.Myroom was very comfortable and clean. Fufrnished Jamaican style with bamboo furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Me and my sister stayed at Toby's for a week. The hotel is in walking distance to the Hip Strip. They have security patrolling the grounds, so I always felt safe, even when make trips back n forth the bar at night. The rooms were nice and clean with private balconies. The staff was friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Toby Resort for 4 days and it was exactly what I was looking for. It is a simple hotel, clean and safe and walking distance to the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, Keron at the front desk is great :) and Mrs. Campbell at security was very kind.. I really enjoyed my stay and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smith, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here one night before heading off to Negril for a week at another resort. We arrived at 9:00 pm and left by 9:00 am. I'm used to the all inclusive resorts so this was a bit strange. It's a small resort in the middle of MoBay. First off, hookers greeted us when we climbed off the shuttle. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Toby's Resort for one week. Be aware, it is more of a Hotel than a resort, although it has 2 very nice pools, and the drinks are great. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean. The owner, Mr. Chin was very hospitable and friendly to us. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast only,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager4370, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sirs Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you back at Tobys in the future. Allicin More

Hapeville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The good part most of the staff were friendly, especially the young man who took our bags to our room...he was very nice). When we got to our room we felt uncomfortable because the only way in/out f the room was by a fence and wooded lot. When we complained we were told that other people have had the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager4370, Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia, We take your review very seriously and we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at Tobys. We have 24 hour security so are property is as safe as we can make it, and we are sorry that you did not feel safe. We do live in a tropical country and unfortunately we do not have complete... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Toby's after finding a last minute deal on sunwing.ca. The hotel was clean. We paid for Internet access since we had some work to do which was the worst experience of the place. We wouldn't connect properly to Internet each time we tried. We got so fed up we wanted a refund after a few days but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Toby's for one night before flying home because of the hotel's proximity to the airport. We arrived early to have a chance to also experience Montego Bay before we went home. What a complete waste of a day in beautiful Jamaica! This "resort" is run down and the location sucks. Yes, it IS close to Doctor's Cave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager4370, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sirs We have seen your review and we are very disturbed as to your experience here with us. I apologise that your experience with us was so unpleasant. We will do further investigation and address our staff accordingly. What you have described is totally unacceptable by our standards. My only wish was that you had spoken to one of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Toby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay #22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
65

See which rooms travelers prefer