We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

3.5 of 5 Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Price
Book Now and Save!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
Write a Review

4,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    1,775
    717
    352
    235
See reviews for
1,514
936
76
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4377)
  • Mar-May only
    (1295)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1056)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (869)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1157)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

I really loved the the horse back riding instructors Kenneth and the rasta man. They really made you feel comfortable on the horses. Not at one point that I feel like they were in control seems like the horses are in sync with them. As for the resort I really love the front desk lady Ameria (not too sure if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Close to airport. Everyone from hotel very friendly and attentive. Resort was big and empty in early October. Kids pool was very nice. Other pools were hit or miss. Fun water sports. Food was good enough. For the price you can't beat it. Wouldn't have paid a penny more though. Next time I will pay extra and stay at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is older but kept up pretty well. Plenty of food and drinks. I would say it is a good resort for the money and I don't have any major complaints. Staff were helpful and nice. Cable TV could be a lot better, no guide and very few decent channels. Extra $30 charge for WIFI for the week. Drawer handles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear Peteruns26: We thank you for taking the time to review your experience while vacationing with us. It’s good to hear you had plenty food and drinks and that you got value for your vacation money. It’s also great hearing you had no major complaints – at Sunset Beach Resorts guest satisfaction is of paramount importance. We value your review... More 

Wisconsin Rapids
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I have vacationed at Sunset Beach for 6 years in a row, and I cannot say enough about our continued awesome experiences. There are countless destinations with countless resorts, and there are two main reasons we continue to choose the same one.... the atmosphere and the PEOPLE! The music, the open air, the colors, even the smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear SunsetterL JB81: Wow!! Six years in a row; this is awesome and speaks volume. Please note Sunset Beach Resort thanks you for the continued support; you are both our very highly valued family. We thank you for helping to recognize our staff who go above and beyond to help create a wonderful vacation experience; we agree Dionne, Tasharn, Nico... More 

East Troy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My review is mixed. We had a hard time checking in because they couldn't tell us if our room was ready, because housekeeping was not answering the phone. We didn't get into our room for about four hours. When we did get in, it was not the room we reserved. We reserved a king bed and got two full size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear JoyceB: Please allow us to apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay. We’re very sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with your check-in experience and room assignment, in addition to long waits for morning coffee, inconsistent towel delivery, delay in getting extra blanket and worst of all the unacceptable and out of character for our standard of employment behavior... More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just came back from a 5 day stay at the Sunset Beach Resort. We had a great time - the hotel is wonderful, it could use a little update - but it was very clean and the staff is very, very friendly and helpful. The food was also very good and we have no complaints whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear Brigitte484: Thank you for your review. Its great reading you had a great five day stay at our resort. We are elated you found our food to be good, our staff very very friendly and helpful and had no complaints whatsoever – at Sunset Beach Resorts our aim and objective is total guest satisfaction. We value each review and... More 

Alcala De Henares, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved sunset beach resort when I went. It was absolute perfection. They had a wide variety of drinks and food options. They staff was incredibly kind and hardworking. The beach was everything that I could have asked for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear BrookeJ: Sunset Beach Resort thanks you for taking the time to review your experiences while vacationing with us. Its great hearing it was absolutely perfect. Thanks for the kind kudos extended; variety of food and drinks to choose from and most importantly incredibly kind and hardworking staff. We hope the elements of your experience helped to showcase our aim... More 

Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sunset Beach was a great resort with a lot of activities. My boyfriend and I like to try and take one vacation a year and this one was definitely the most adventurous. The resort was clean for the most part. The only thing I would recommend the resort to do is update the water park. Do not get me wrong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear JFuhs: We’re elated to read you had an amazing and adventurous getaway during your recent stay with us and that you found our resort great with a lot of activities. We are also happy that you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable room, as well as the ocean views, food from our buffet and had an amazing time ziplining. We... More 

Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this to be a fun place for the kids, very relaxing atmosphere. The food was fresh and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The life guard Fergy was fantastic with the kids and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job. There was plenty to do or there were plenty of places to relax as well. The Italian ala... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarceyEllis, staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear CKDKSKRK: Sunset Beach Resorts thanks you for taking the time to review your experiences while vacationing with us. You are indeed correct – at our resort there’s plenty to do. Thanks for the kind kudos extended; a fun place for kids with a very relaxing atmosphere with fresh food and friendly staff – Fergy really does a good job... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to this resort as an excursion from a cruise. Beach was rocky and limited, Drinks were terrible, buffet lunch was decent. Pro and Con: close to the port which was great time-wise, but made for rough and rocky water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarceyEllis, Staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review

Dear Mel55138: We are sorry you were underwhelmed with our beach and drinks offering while on a cruise excursion. We are however pleased that you found our buffet lunch to be decent. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It was our pleasure hosting you both. Always at your Service! Marcey Ellis Operations Department More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Lazy river(31)
  • Very nice(24)
  • Jerk chicken(23)
  • Italian restaurant(18)
  • Great time(17)
  • Really good(9)
  • Gift shop(7)
  • Hip strip(5)
  • Tower B(5)
  • Ice cream machine(4)

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay

4,046 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3752)
Viewed
Room/suite (316)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (987)
Viewed
Dining (186)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (772)
Viewed
View from room (343)
Viewed
Family/play areas (90)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
0:25
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (992)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (262)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Bay View Rooms (35)
Viewed
Beach (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite (9)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (3)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool 1 (7)
Viewed
Pool 2 (8)
Viewed
Pool 4 (1)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay