We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Altamont Court Hotel Kingston

Hotel website
1 -5 Altamont Terrace, Kingston, Jamaica
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    15
    18
    6
See reviews for
10
21
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Elsah, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We stayed at he Altamont court Hotel in Kingston 2 years ago after we were moved there when there was a fire in the hotel we were staying in. The room we stayed in was awesome. It was called the Alexander Room. Beautiful Spanish decor. When we came back for work again two years later, we excised to say again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Altamont Court Hotel stepped up and delivered. I Checked into Spanish Court Hotel 16th January 2015 and after a disappointing 4 days I decided to check out and check into Altamont Court. They don't disappoint. Most, I guess would categorize it as a budget/economy hotel but that does not do it justice. Rooms are huge and comfortable with some even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We thank you for giving us a try (even as second choice) and are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We hope you keep us in mind when next you visit Kingston. More 

2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I stayed at this hotel numerous amount of time,booked reservation,had dinner, stayed over night to weeks the hotel is very clean, the staff is just sheer awesome nice and friendly very helpful I remember I left my passport at home and the lady asked if I wanted to bring after I went to the champs event which no I wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We are glad we were able to make your stay awesome. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit. More 

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed over Christmas with the family. It was nice. They even put an extra bed in our room for my son. It's an older hotel but looks to be renovated. The breakfast was the BEST!! Our rooms were cleaned everyday with new towels, tea and coffee. We didn't use the pool but it was available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We thank you for visiting with us and taking the time out to tell us about your stay.We look forward to serving you next time. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

Nice feel to the hotel. The room was very clean. Found the location nice and central with a good restaurant, Hot Pot just across the street. The staff weren't very helpful or friendly. Room decor dated and terrible colours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We apologize for the experience you had with our staff. We have been monitoring our customer service more closely after some recent retraining. We hope you will give us a second chance and expect to deliver to you, an improved experience when next you visit. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed at this God forsken place on the 19 of December 2014 our first encouter was when i turned on the shower the whole showerhead flew off almost hitting me in the head called the front desk they sent the bellhop to come and fix it (without tools) he came did some thing said it was fixed, went backl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and apologize for the experience you had. However, as much as your experience was unsatisfactory, we think that a fair assessment of the product and service would be a measure of the responsiveness of our team, to the complaints reported. In the hotel business, things unfortunately don't always work the way we expect them... More 

Baldwin, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I spent a week with my elderly parents in Jamaica and was extremely pleased with the accommodations at the Altamont court hotel. The staff was courteous and very professional in their demeanor. I had an incident where my mother forgot a significant amount of cash in the room and it was returned to her promptly by the staff responsible for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and glad we were able to satisfy your expectations.We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Oromocto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This hotel lies very nicely in the heart of the city. We were able to walk to restaurants, night clubs, gas station's, and variety stores. Quaint decor, very little consistency from one room to the next in bedding, or furniture but that added to it's charm. Staff was always very helpful and helped with billing problems when I returned. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrisaction, Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind comments as regards the general service from our team. and we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the billing process. We look forward to your return and aim to make your next stay even better. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The rooms and bathrooms needs updating especially the BATHROOMS. The shower heads seem like the have been there from 1900, very disgusting. The entire bathroom need to be gutted. Won't be there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisaction, General Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

We have already begun the upgrading of the rooms (eg.new beds are being installed in all rooms, of which the he remaining, are being delivered in about 2 weeks). As well, we have been upgrading our bathrooms, but this is a work in progress since there is quite a bit of dislocation involved in a bathroom refurbish. We are sorry... More 

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My first time to Kingston was quite eye-opening. However, after leaving the airport and passing through the town, Altamont was a pretty nice and quiet oasis. We stayed here to attend a wedding to be held at the hotel. Everything ran smoothly and the complimentary breakfast was good. There were restaurants around the corner but we were advised to walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chrisaction, General Manager at Altamont Court Hotel Kingston, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question