We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Port-au-Prince hotels

Le Marcelin Inn

29 Rue Marcelin | Turgeau, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Le Marcelin Inn
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Port-au-Prince
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port-au-Prince
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at Le Marcelin for 8 days and I had a good experience. The staff was excellent, I ordered food from the kitchen a few times and it was delicious. The front desk staff was very polite and courteous, my room was cleaned every day including new sheets. I told a few friends about this place. I really enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lemarcelininn, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging review...we hope travellers continue to value a good night's sleep in a clean, safe, comfortable and friendly environment...it's what we are endeavouring to create and maintain...our renovations are almost finished and we think the word beautiful will find its way in there shortly...travellers like you are our raison d'etre...keep coming to... More

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Le Marcelin Inn in March, 2013. The hotel is in the heart of the community, but it is a quiet treasure behind the gate. I didn't eat in the restaurant, and the staff could not speak English, but the hotel was quiet and peaceful. I heard no noise day or night while we slept. It was reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lemarcelininn, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Dear April 1, 2013 Reviewer...thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review and for your encouraging remarks...our operating philosophy has been to offer travelers an attractive, secure. comfortable stay in a Haitian ambiance...we know we don't always reach our goal but it remains our ideal...and we welcome suggestions on how to improve...it seems that you were... More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I will give it an 8 this time the hotel have policies but they aren't posted and I don't like it the hotel is under constructions and every morning I woke up by a bunch of noises and since I'm a newly wedd and that's pissed me off beside that my wedding was beautiful I had a blast the party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LMI12, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and our very best wishes for a sucessful married life..We are very sorry that your wedding stay was disturbed by the hammering going on...we wish it were all finished, redecorated, and had fully met your expectations...it will be shortly as we expect to have completed renovations by the end of the year...perhaps you will consider... More

New Orleans
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've been a visitor to, and sometimes lived in, Port-au-Prince for over 25 years, and I only wish I had discovered Le Marcelin sooner. This charmingly designed, exceptionally friendly and welcoming small hotel is the answer to this Haiti traveler's longtime prayer despite some bizarre opinions to the contrary on theTripAdvisor site. Unlike some more "famous" properties, which are high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Management response:

Dear Caribbean Art Lover: Thank you so much for your review,specially the recognition awarded Edner Toussaint for his particular attention to your needs and your mention of the fact that we were able to deal satisfactorily with "the medical emergency". I know travellers are often worried about this aspect of travelling abroad and it should be a comfort to them... More

Weston, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was my fourth stay at the Marcelin Inn. The grounds are well maintained. The hotel is clean and safe. The rooms are well lighted and clean. The staff is courteous, friendly and goes out of their way to make every guest comfortable. The food is prepared on demand and it is very good. During my last visit , I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
lemarcelininn, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Dear "Stay at Le Marcelin Inn June 9, 2012": Thank you so much for your positive response. We are very gratified that you have enjoyed your stays with us and look forward to hosting you in the future. We are determined to make Le Marcelin Inn a comfortable, fun, and safe experience and as you stated will be investing in... More

Oak Park, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am a businessman and there was not wireless access in my room. I had to go down and sit by the pool. At night it was almost too dark to work. Getting coffee in the morning took almost 30 minutes and it was excruciating waiting for breakfast. I had real issues with communications as well and needed to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lemarcelininn11, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Get the Lead Out At Breakfast....so sorry you seem to have had a bad experience with Wi-Fi and Breakfast.....the Wi-Fi is often out of our control as it depends on the service provider and the climate..as you may recall we had an unusually wet March with a number of thunderstorms during which time for safety sake we must turn... More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

the service was good but i think the rooms are very expensive more than any other country that i visited for the price i paid the room wasn't big enough or nice enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lemarcelininn11, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Dear November 30, 2011....we are so gratified that you experienced great service in a clean restful room at our hotel in June 2011 and that you kindly informed us via Trip Advisor of your positive experience...we have been working very hard at maintaining our service at top levels and are pleased to know that our efforts are succeeding....unfortunately we can't... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel this May 2011 , it is very nice ,clean and staff are very nice and helpful..the grounds are well kept,and for us the location was great ! Safe and Secure! Food very good! The only complaint I may have is that our room was a little small other than that it was a great stay for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lemarcelininn11, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

Dear June 11, 2011,...thank you so much for your positive feedback...we have been trying very hard to make our hotel a home away from home for travellers to Port-au-Prince after the disastrous year experienced in 2010...your suggestions are welcome..we can't get bigger but we are getting better...thanks again! More

florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

I stayed there for 4 nights, the rooms were somewhat clean, the staff weren't friendly including the manager. It was noisy at all time. upon arrival, they claimed there would be security and there was none. my cousins came to visit me the last night, we hang hout and had a few drinks since it was late I offered them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lemarcelininn11, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

We heard you and we have made significant changes to the management....if you check the latest review of June 11, 2011, you'll see that things have improved considerably...we hope this will impress you and that you will give us a second chance...in the meantime happy travelling! More

florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

I spent 3 nights at le marcelin Inn. The rooms were clean. Plenty of hot water. Air condition is only from 6pm to 8am. Service very poor. The staff very unfriendly and the owner even less friendly. The owner has no idea of the meaning of "customer Service" .He treats you as if you should thank him for letting you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
lemarcelininn11, Owner at Le Marcelin Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were disappointed..but we think readers should know that a room rented to 2 persons can't accommodate 6 and that our rooms are no smoking as you were advised on arrival..we could not, for the sake of the other guests, allow smoking, unnecessary noise, or the private use of public premises...perhaps next time you will want... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Marcelin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Marcelin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marcelin Inn

Address: 29 Rue Marcelin | Turgeau, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Port-au-Prince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Le Marcelin Hotel Port-Au-Prince
Le Marcelin Inn Haiti/Port-Au-Prince

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Haiti and Le Marcelin Inn Hotel. At your disposal, 18 Comfortable and Secure International Standard Rooms and Suites, Complete with Bath, 24/7 Electricity, AC, TV, Hi-Speed Wi-Fi Internet. Check in/out: 12/3. Dining Room, Bars, Business Facilities, Exercise Room, Outdoor Patio and Pool, Billiards, Roof Terrace and Conference Centre. Rates start at USD 72, Single or Double Occupancy, Full Breakfast and Taxes included. Airport Pick-up and Delivery USD 30 each way. Hospitality with a Smile...At No EXTRA CHARGE! Best Price/Service Ratio in Town! Try us out. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Marcelin Inn to your Saves list