We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Write a Review

7,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,698
    2,159
    964
    465
    374
See reviews for
2,205
2,880
90
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (7660)
  • Mar-May only
    (2089)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1776)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1560)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2235)
All months
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent the week of March 29 - April 5 at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. It was overall a good week at the resort. The weather was amazing and the resort was a decent 4 star. I'll rate everything by pros and cons. PROS: Checkin. Our flight was delayed and we arrived at the resort around 3 am or so. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has everything you can imagine. Very happy atmosphere, many freebies (kayaking, paddle boarding, volleyball, etc.). Never before had such an attentive staff, they will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. I will definitely recommend Bahia Principe, there's so much to do all day everyday. We only stayed 5 days, wish we stayed longer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were everything you expected and can imagine. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience. It is wonderful to know that you it was the best vacation you have ever had. Thank you for your comments and looking forward to... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great time at the Bahia Principe Bavaro Hotel. The staff are very friendly and work really hard to make sure you have good time. I especially want to thank Juan and Simeon at the Punta Cana Pool Bar for always greeting us with a smile and keeping our drinks filled. I read some bad reviews here about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Sjoera, Your opinion represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic. Thank you so much for your comments and we feel happy to know that were able to fulfill your expectations and you were sad to leave the hotel.... More 

Oceanside, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Firstly, let me start with some positives. You cannot argue with the weather and the beaches are really nice. The staff will be far more friendly and accommodating if you can converse in Spanish with them. Not in a patronizing way, but in an "honestly trying" kind of way. We loved our waitress in Bavaro in the buffet hall, Johana... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Evan, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We regret for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We strongly believe that... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went for a week in the sun with my Brother to get away from work etc. and could not have picked a better place to go. Fantastic place to stay with more than enough going on, top entertainment, fantastic facilities and will more than likely be returning one day. A break that was more than needed :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, For all of us it is great to know that you had a wonderful vacation in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and it is an honor to hear that our services provided were more than expected. It will be a pleasure to cater you once again. Please don´t hesitate to contact us prior arrival. Thank you for recommending... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall we had a great time at this resort, however the things that were disappointing was not being able to get a towel for the beach for the first 3 days we were there, as well as impossible to find a beach chair. It says you can not reserve beach chairs but over half of them had peoples towels reserving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear guest, We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration . It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any our Hotels. Regards from Dominican Republic! Kind regards, Aynes de la Cruz Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort More 

Leeds
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm bordering on rating this 5*. We've just returned from a really good week in this hotel. We upgraded to Hacienda suites and would thoroughly recommend this, not particularly due to the rooms themselves but because of the additional privileges. The rooms were excellent (we were in 25211 and 25112 which were close to the beachside pool and consequently the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Heckers, It is a pleasure to know that have a good vacation with us and you en joyed the services in the Diamond Club. It is wonderful to hear that you were not disappointed choosing our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro as you holiday destination. Looking forward to welcoming you once again! Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went on vacation here, having never been to the Dominican before and I don't think any other place I'd go to would be as great as this. It was so beautiful and everyone there was so friendly. I highly recommend the Grand Bahia Principe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Jarvis, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel, which we will take in the highest consideration. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. Please be assured that your comments help us to improve the points that must change in our daily operation. Thank you because you still consider we offer wonderful... More 

Buckinghamshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not wait to get there - Thompson - Golden Room UPGRADE - Easter Break - Beautiful Beach ( that's one star above ) . The hotel was downgraded by Thompson from a five star to a four star - it's a three star with two star service. The Good Parts ... THE BEACH - THE SEA - THE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Colly, We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments regarding your experience during your last stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration. We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention,... More 

Szczecin, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there in March 2014, it was our honeymoon. We had an amazing time, the hotel was very clean, food was very tasty and the entertainment was great. The only disadvantage of this place was waking up early in the morning to reserve the beach hut :) I loved the coffee machines, it was nice to make a cappuccino... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your honeymoon destination. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Thank you for taking the time... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(37)
  • Great time(13)
  • Snack bar(12)
  • First day(9)
  • Steak house(9)
  • Diamond club(9)
  • Main buffet(7)
  • Too big(6)
  • Friendly and helpful(6)
  • Other resorts(5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8,048 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7879)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1995)
Viewed
Family/play areas (100)
Viewed
Dining (522)
Viewed
Room/suite (675)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1437)
Viewed
View from room (245)
Viewed
Bathroom (123)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (46)
Viewed
4:30
Videos (10)
Viewed
Other (2726)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (136)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite Premier (60)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question