We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5 Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    538
    201
    115
    73
See reviews for
415
459
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1262)
  • Mar-May only
    (388)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (337)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (240)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (297)
All months
There are newer reviews for Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Downey, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The hotel is a very average hotel. The service is fair, food was bland to the point that we were dreading the meal times. The restaurants were not special at all. The service from everyone was borderline rude. From what I have been told now from others is that the Dominicans are just not that friendly. The resort is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gsreo, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at the Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. I would like to apologize for the situation that affected you while vacationing with... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

The location and actual resort was great. The room was a zero star. It was horrible. The service was even worse when u actually tried to get anything for the room. We couldn't even lower the air conditioner. The room was like a freezer. There were never clean towels and nobody spoke english. I would never return. The hotel had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear L Tinney 1, We would like to thank you for having chosen Tropical Princess as your holiday destination as well as for sharing your experience to other readers. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have during your stay with us. We truly apologize for the fact that you could not enjoy your vacations... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in June 2013, the reason we chose princess was because of our incredible stay the previous year in Mexico. We were so disappointed and this is one of the worst resorts we ever stayed in. The hotel and it's facilities are outdated and in massive need of modernisation. Some members of staff were lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rebbeca M, We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to express your feedback about your stay here at the Tropical Princess. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our staff and also for the romantic dinner you had at our hotel; it is always good to learn that you were able to enjoy your vacations in some... More

Columbia, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I had a very exciting time at the bar in the lobby. Darlin and Jinnette where very kind and gave me outstanding customer service. I will be coming back and bringing a few more of my friends with me to experience the Great service at the Tropical Princess in Punta Cana!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Margo J, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at the Tropical Princess. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our hotel, it make us feel like we really did a good job, also we would like to thank you for your special mention of Darlin and Jinnette, we truly... More

Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Beach and pools are beautiful. Food is decent and plenty to choose from. Lots of bars & service was good. Everything close and in walking distance. Room decent but def needs updating. Not a big deal. A/C not that great. Should have switched rooms but didn't care enough to. For what we paid, this resort is totally worth it! Actually,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Amy P, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay here at Tropical Princess, we appreciated. It was very satisfying to know that you enjoyed all our services and that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments about our beach, pools, food and bars; we are very proud... More

Niles, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This was our third vacation in Punta Cana and the worst! We were there 08/30-09/06 and changed three rooms in first two days just to find out one with working AC !!! First assigned was 3304- when we entered we were surprised- room is about 7x9 with small window and two queen bads. I went to lobby to ask for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Michael K, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. We appreciate the compliments towards our hotel and food; it is always good to learn... More

Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My name is steffany and I'm going to check in on Friday September 5th.Tonight I tried to call the hotel and book reservations for the theme restaurants for us for Friday and saturday which I was not able to do because of the hotel lack of customer service. I called the hotel number directly and spoke to a woman name Ana... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincessHotelsRD, Director de Recepción at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steffany 780, Thank you for taking the time to write to us before your arrival, it will be always a pleasure to responses our guests questions and complaints upon arrival. We are very concerned that you perceived this unusual behavior of our staff and we want to apologize for this situation you shouldn’t pass through. For all of our... More

Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed there 2014/08/19-26. Beautiful lobby and great first impressions. The grounds are pretty and it's right next to the beach. As others have noted, check in is pretty prompt but arriving before noon and then having to wait until 3 to finally get access to our room after a long trip with kids was tiring to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wu 609, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our hotel beaches; it is always good to... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was there for the week of 08/25/14. First day I was helped by two wonderful staff Ana and Amable at front lobby. Both have patience and are very helpful. The room I was given #3205 was great. If you're expecting up to date appliances this is not the place for you but if you looking to relax at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rosie B, We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to express your feedback about your stay here at the Tropical Princess. It was very satisfying to know that you enjoyed all our services and that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments, we are proud of having met your... More

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Nice pools. A lot of bars. Great food. Nursery for children. Close to the airport (30 minutes) The shows at night were very nice and funny! The animation team is excellent!!!!!! Special mention to spaghetti!! You can always find chairs at the beach. Mexican restaurant and brazilian restaurant were delicious and the service was very good. I definitely recommand the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Madeleine A, Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, it’s always a pleasure to serve our guests, and we also appreciate the time you took to write about your experience at the Tropical Princess here in TripAdvisor. We would like to extend our gratitude for the compliments towards our hotel staff, pool, bars, food, shows and animation... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Tropical Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Tropical Princess Punta Cana
Hotel Tropical Princess Beach

1,643 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1495)
Viewed
Room/suite (144)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (355)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (269)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (585)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (139)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay