We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5
Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    631
    229
    125
    87
See reviews for
484
530
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1486)
  • Mar-May only
    (470)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (337)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (242)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (437)
All months
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall I am very happy with the experience I had at this resort. My husband and I booked our vacation with Vacation Express after purchasing a deal on Groupon. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here, but I don't have many complaints about this resort. The beach was beautiful and there was plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear HannahBubp, It is quiet lovely to hear that you were able to enjoy the time you spent here and that you had a fantastic holiday with us at Tropical Princess. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our hotel staff, our pools, our beach, our Buffet and our a la carte restaurant; it is always a joy to learn that... More 

toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this trip less than a week before departure. My husband and I had checked trip advisor in advance but reviews varied from very good to poor. Grounds are beautiful, 3 lovely pools, beach is beautiful, seaweed does get washed ashore, but it is raked daily. The water was a little rough at times but it is the Atlantic ocean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jenna35toronto, We would like to thank you for having taken the opportunity to share the experience you had while here at Caribe Club Princess. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our hotel, our rooms, our beach, our pools and our food; it is always good to learn that our clients were able to enjoy their stay. Overall, we thank... More 

ecam62
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Air trip to Dominican the usual cramped and Punta Cana airport horrible lineup after lineup very hard with Children takes for ever but not hotel fault. Booking in was smooth no problems we were a few hours early so had to leave our baggage at reception until our room was ready at 3pm but that was no problem as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ecam62, It is quite an honor for us to know that you and your family had a great time at our Tropical Princess. And we highly value you for having taken the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I would like to extend our gratitude to the compliments towards our hotel, our food, especially our Brazilian... More 

Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed with a positive experience in 2009, we decided that Tropical Princess would be the destination for a family trip as a gift for my father’s 65’th birthday. Upon arrival there was a feeling of comfort and ease that I could only describe as being “home”, this feeling would continue throughout our trip. I knew we had made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PrincessHotelsRD, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sag_man1978, It is more than pleasing to hear from your positive experience at our hotel. And we thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor Community. First of all, I would like to start by lengthen our gratitude for how well you describe our hotel and for all the compliments you’ve given us. It’s quite an honor to hear... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned home 2 weeks ago from the Tropical Princess Resort. Never again will we ever stay there!!! The rooms were disgustingly filthy! We did not know how we would sleep or shower there. The toilet paper holder was covered in feces. We asked to change rooms, but told that could not be accomodated. 3 out of 4 of us... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 123Unimpressed, I would like to thank you for choosing Tropical Princess for your holidays and also for sharing your experience with us. Each criticism, compliment and recommendation will help us to move up standards, as well as review and get better our services. We regret that we were unable to meet their expectations. Though, our rooms are inspected both... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First, this place has fantastic pools that are perfect for kids. Each pool area has lots of sun and shade all day so it's easy to roll with the heat and stay cool. The buffet has a wide variety of food to choose from and was quite good overall. The beach is all white sand and very soft. A downside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PrincessHotelsRD, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience from your most recent stay at Tropical Princess. We would like to extend our gratitude for all the compliments towards our hotel, especially to our beach, our food and our a la carte restaurants. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guest had a... More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Truthfully, other than two individuals who worked at the Tropical Princesss, Gilbert at the front desk and Antonio the bartender, the trip was nothing shy of a disaster. Most of it had to do with the Canadian group that stayed at the hotel called S-Trip. We stayed there March 11-18, 2015. The S-Trip is a group that organizes trips for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

have been going down south for 8 years now ...stayed at tropical princess first time there...the pools and the grounds were beautiful...beach was nice but I would recommend some thing for sand flea bites they are bad. Now the resort well the room we were in was closed to the pool and the beach but the bed was as old... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear anniversarys, In Princess we have very clear that our customers are the most important as their comments. Therefore we apologies for the situations you may have encountered during your stay; we feel sad that you got such negative impressions about our services since it was never our intention that you and your family could not enjoy your holidays as... More 

Stephenville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor rooms not clean old beds no mattress covers very outdated outside areas and pools kept up much better staff friendly food was good but bad rooms a really big disappointment never go back because resort owners i'am sure knows there rooms are terrible

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PrincessHotelsRD, Director General at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Connie H, Receive a cordial greeting from all our team at Caribe Club Princess. Thanks for your kind comments about our, beach, facilities, gastronomy and our staff member we know that is only due their performance and dedication that we are able to provide delightful stays to our valued guests. We lament we could not meet your expectations in... More 

Gatineau, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival at the Hotel we were greeted at the front desk by Elbis (Elvis), very helpful, friendly, smiling. He helped us with our check-in which went smooth and quick. We then took the train buggy to the main buffet as the children were very hungry. Got a chance to check out the resort at the same time. The buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrincessHotelsRD, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine W, It is rather pleasing to know that you chose Tropical Princess to spend your vacation and that we were able to contribute to you enjoying your vacation with your family. First of all, we would like to thank you for your special mention of Elvis (Front Desk) and Edward (at the buffet and La Creprerie), we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,806 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1646)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (318)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (409)
Viewed
View from room (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (152)
Viewed
Family/play areas (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (591)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (139)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question