We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Naiboa

3.5 of 5 Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    637
    412
    245
    244
See reviews for
377
748
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1997)
  • Mar-May only
    (537)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (485)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (367)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (608)
All months
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars NEW

I just recently stay at the Riu Naiboa hotel and it might have been one of the worst places I have ever stayed at. For starters, as you drive up to the resort you are overwhelmed with the smell of sewage, and to get honest this smell doesn't really go away. The staff at the front desk are very hostile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from a one week stay at the riu naiboa. This is a very basic hotel in desparate need of a total refurb. The smell of sewerage is over powering . The bedrooms are dull bath towels smelt damp. The toilet kept on breaking. The swimming pool area looks quite nice until you look in the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to read that we haven't fulfilled your expectations regarding your room and that some noises at night caused you some drawbacks during your stay. We will take all them into consideration and shared with the respective departments involved for improvements where necessary. We really... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall not a nice place to stay. Wanted to switch to Riu palace or Riu macao but no rooms available. Naiboa is for budget traveler/college kids. The rooms are dirty with a black and white tv. Pool is crowded and looks dirty to me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your review. It is sad you have left our resort having in mind a negative idea of our services. We beg you to accept our apologies for the inconveniences that caused you discomfort. We have been working on the issues you point out in your review to maintain the high standards of quality and guest... More 

Milbank, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a group of 12 others very much enjoyed this resort. It has 4 elevators for your convenience. Check-in was a breeze. The room we had was good also-no complaints. Air worked all week. Food was the same everyday but there was so much of it-if you ate the same thing it was your fault. Stop complaining. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Riu Naiboa on February 6th, and I was disappointed on many levels. Immediately upon driving up to the resort the smell of sewage was overpowering which seemed to be coming from a nearby swamp. The lobby was sparsely decorated yet the front desk was initially warm and welcoming. Once we got to our room down a very long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food selection at our restaurants. We do hope you will understand that it is difficult for us to comment on individual tastes or opinions, when the majority of customers do appear... More 

Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Riu Naiboa because we wanted a cheap vacation on a nice beach. Overall, it's not terrible, but definitely not great. Staff: All were really helpful and nice. Some did not really speak English (which is fine, it is a Spanish country) but they would still go out of their way and try to help the best they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here’s our review of the Riu Naiboa in Punta Cana: Staff – the staff was fairly friendly and helpful but there were times when they could have tried a little harder. The staff at the front desk was not particularly helpful or friendly but the staff in the restaurant(s) were VERY helpful including a waiter named Santo. Santo was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 7 nights @ the Riu Naiboa in DR, 3 star budget hotel that needs up to be updated especially the beds and pillows. You can feel the springs on your back, the pillow are really small and lumpy.The food was buffet style, this hotel does not have any speciality restaurants, so all buffet evey meal. The service was exceptional,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I stayed at the Riu Naiboa and it was a nightmare, I read a review two weeks prior to my scheduled trip, a visitor's complaint of the room smelling like sewage. That was very true, I experience mold and mildew from my room on the first floor the minute i walked in the room,( requsted a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from the Riu Naiboa yesterday morning Jan. 31st. Had the best vacation ever. We were there almost 8 days the way our fly times out of Halifax went. The resort is very clean and well maintained. The room was cleaned by 9:30 am every day. The staff are all very friendly and speak very good English considering you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Riu Naiboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Naiboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana

2,374 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1835)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (496)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (224)
Viewed
Room/suite (141)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Dining (108)
Viewed
Family/play areas (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (755)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (496)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Beach (61)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
Pool (77)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay