We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Puerto Plata

3.5 of 5 Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Hotel website
Special Offer
Early booking offer
#16 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
2,257 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Plata
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Puerto Plata
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    754
    449
    278
    247
See reviews for
441
737
74
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2257)
  • Mar-May only
    (780)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (459)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (350)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (668)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

AcutualIy we travelled mid January 2013. I am only doing this review as i remembered that I told Eliana I would put it on trip advisor. Our room was not as clean as I would have liked and the tub nozzle fell off every time I had a shower. Definitely needed some care and bathroom outdated. I did complain that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and... More

NEW YORK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been traveling for over 15 years to many places in the Caribbean. I travel once a year with my family and decided to go to Puerto Plata this year. Barcelo, Puerto Plata was the worse experience I have ever had in my entire 15 years experience. If you want a cheap dirty motel feeling, this is the place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest Goris, Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata. Regarding to your complaints, we would like to offer our apologies for the inconveniences. We feel very sad because we thought after you presented your complaints and we took actions to make you feel better you were agree with them. We... More

new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I usually stay at the RIU Bachata when in PP, but I decided to give this place a try. My friend did not want to stay at the RIU because it is at the far end of PP, more than 30 minutes from airport, and is away from all of the party areas. It started with headaches at the check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced. We very much lamented any inconveniences that our clients may have encountered with the front desk service and the... More

Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The checking in is always the worst, slow process. There are a few different restaurants. The main restaurant has pasta's, fruit, cheese, deserts, veggies and many different meat items to choose from. I have always been satisfied with the food. We would love to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. We very much lamented any inconveniences that our... More

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I and our two young children, ages 1 year and 7 years recently stayed at the Iberostar in Puerta Plata but never again! On arrival our reservation had been made for the previous week even though my paperwork and voucher clearly stated the 19th August, the date of out arrival the hotel had us down as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Customer: Thanks for your comments, but this comment you speak of Costa Dorada Hotel Iberostal and our hotel Barceló Puerto Plata. Sincerely, Ana Ruiz Hotel Director More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have being there 3 times (twice in standard rooms and once at premium area) and all of them were excellent. my standard room experience was good; food was ok on Buffett, the snack as well. Drinks was not ok, i tried different options but never satisfied. Our dinners were great (had Mexican, Brazilian, Japanese, seafood and italian) all excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata. we are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Barceló. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the place of my first trip to the Caribbean (2009) and... the rest is history. I fell in love with the area, the people, the culture, the food and I've been bitten by the Caribbean travel bug since. This hotel is part of a "hotel-gated-community" with several hotels in the same area. It feels like you're in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. Once again, thank you for your... More

New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was there for 4 days with my famaily to enjoy the vacation. We were very impressed-associtaes were friendly and helpful. Bellman Pedro was very friendly and outstanding. Everything went above and beyond. We expect to be there soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata. we are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Barceló. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the... More

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel is ubicated at Playa Dorada Complex, there are several hotels inside this Complex, Barcelo is one of them, my experience here was regular, the buffett options was the principal problem, one nigth there's no children options, thanks to the Italian restaurant chief, that understood the problem and serve me pizza without reservation. Air conditioner has problem and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced. We regret that it has not received the expected service during your stay, your suggestions will serve to improve... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, this is the third time I choose Barcelo Puerto Plata to free some stress at beach environment. I made my reservation throught barcelo.com and when I arrived to the hotel, the girl who was at the loby was unsure about my reservation. I show her the receipt with the reservation details on my cellphone and I told her I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your review. I seriously regret you were unable to completely enjoy our Hotel; we always strive to provide our guests with a satisfactory experience during their stay. Your contentment is very important to us and we will be looking into these matters with our team, appreciate your feedback as your comments will help us to... More

Do you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Plata?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barcelo Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Club premium(12)
  • Snack bar(6)
  • Coco bongo(5)
  • Very clean(3)

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Plata

Address: Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Puerto Plata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata Barcelo
Grand Flamenco
Occidental Grand Puerto Plata
Occidental Grand Flamenco Puerto Plata
Grand Puerto Plata
Flamenco Occidental
Barcelo Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

2,377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2221)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (402)
Viewed
Room/suite (192)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (563)
Viewed
Dining (141)
Viewed
Family/play areas (22)
Viewed
View from room (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (786)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (130)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool 1 (16)
Viewed
Outdoor pool 2 (2)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay