We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Santo Domingo

Hotel website
Maximo Gomez-Esq 27 de Febrero, Santo Domingo 1915, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Special Offer
Up to 38% discount
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Professional photos View all
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    186
    74
    50
    39
See reviews for
91
114
54
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (647)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (176)
All months
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The name of this hotel might sound "fancy" but don't be fooled. When you get there, it's terrible & disappointing-- horrible service, unhelpful staff, smelly, dirty rooms (roaches in some of them), hotel staff comes into the rooms and interrupts each afternoon to check on nothing, anything extra has to be paid for (very expensive WiFi), not to mention at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for choosing our hotel. We apologize for all inconveniences occurred during your stay with us. Our staff was trained to provide to all our customer a exceptional service. Every day, all our rooms are cleaner. Besides, periodically we fumigate for avoid plagues. For policy, the internet service has an extra charge for our guest. We offered... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's right in the center of the city. Close to most of the city's tourist attractions. For me, it was close to family. Hotel has a nice look and feel to it - I would describe it as modern and sleek. The pictures are pretty much a true representation of the hotel. Staff is great, no complaints there. These are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Dhana: Thank you for choosing us and for posting your experience. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with the service provided by the staff. Thank you for highlight our location and the decoration. For policies, the wifi has an extra charge for all our customer, except who reserve through our web site. We'll take the... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff muito atencioso, hospedagem confortáveis e acomodações relaxantes...conta com um bom restaurante e algumas atrações agregadas ao hotel, como Cassino e Piano Bar... Recomendo! Staff people are awesome, comfortably rooms are very good to relax! In hall, this hotel have a good stuff to entertainment you, how Casino, Piano Bar and little events... Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Miojera: Grazie per aver condiviso la tua opinione su questo portale. E 'un piacere sapere che si sente completamente... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel for work extensively but this stay was for holiday. The staff were courteous and helpful, the room impeccable and the restaurant (both dinner and breakfast) excellent. The room was spacious and very comfortable. My partner and I had a special offer price so stayed for longer than initially planned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Llaria: Thank you for posting your comment on this site. It's a pleasure for us to know that you feel marveled with our hotel. Thank you for highlight the comfort of the room and the quality service provided by the staff. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, César Güílamo More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

During the last days of our trip to the Dominican Republic we decided to wrap it up at the Barcelo'. The position is very good, being near the metro station, but also not far from the central Caribe Tours bus station; a guagua or a taxi is never far. Staff have been extremely pleasant and professional, the room was spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alberto. Thank you for choosing us and for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you are very satisfied with our installations and the service provided by our staff. Thank you for highlight our location, professional service and the quality of the food in the restaurant buffet. It'll be a pleasure serves you in... More 

Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello it was a great experience for me, just my comment is the WIFI should be free. the internet access is very necessary and is free in all parts of the world. I don't have any other comments.. greetings!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Pedro: Gracias por compartir su opinión en este portal. Por políticas del hotel, el servicio de Wifi es... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is beautiful. The customer service needs to improve. If you can't help it don't prepay your stay. We got in at 1:30am and had to wait 1 hour for our room. After we got the room it was a king size bed and a small cot. TV did not work. There were 4 of us, We were assured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Joe: Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your opinion on this site. When you arrived at the hotel you asked for an extra bed and for this reason you had to wait more time for the room. Sorry for the problem with the TV and the others inconveniences occurred during your short stay with us.... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a good location is in the center of santo domingo stayed here with my wife several times. The room attendants are very nice also the people at front desk. Also they have free parking for the guests unlike the hilton santo domingo .

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your opinion on this site. It's a pleasure for us that you are satisfied with our location and the quality of service provided by the staff. We'll be happy to serve you in another occasion. Best regards, César Güílamo More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was truly a home awaY from home. Everyone was warm and friendly. Service was extremely efficient and all of their commitments were honoured. I want single out Emilen and Marino who made me feel like a rock star! Food was especially amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Learie: Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us to know that you felt like home in our hotel. Thank you for highlight the excellent service provided by the staff and the quality of the food. It will be a pleasure serve you in another occasion. Best regards, César Güílamo More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

For years this was called the Hotel Lina, owned by the Barcelo hotel chain. Recently they changed the name, but it is still the same hotel. I been traveling to Santo Domingo for 30 years, and during this time, I have stayed at many hotels, but the Barcelo is my favorite. Do not get me wrong - Santo Domingo has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: We are very proud of their loyalty to our hotel during all these years. It ‘s a pleasure to know you are satisfied with the attention offered by the team of Barceló Santo Domingo. Thank you for describe in detail each of our installations and services. We appreciate your recommendations and we hope to see you soon. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question