We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Santo Domingo

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Maximo Gomez-Esq 27 de Febrero, Santo Domingo 1915, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Professional photos View all
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Add Photo Write a Review

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    324
    202
    83
    57
    43
See reviews for
103
123
61
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (709)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (176)
All months
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was awesome. The food at the buffet was sooo yummy, the service was spectacular and some good looking guys (yup, Dominican guys are very attractive). Then the pool, it was kinda just us in it. At first I was shy to get in but then after seeing my daughter enjoy it I caved in. Go to the 8ft part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 days in this wonderful hotel! -Excelent customer service -Excelent Security - Room was very clean and comfortable -the bathroom was epic and the shower even better providing everything i needed from soap to conditioner THE ONLY BAD THING PREVENTING THIS HOTEL FROM BEING A 5 STAR: WIFI! Not only did i have to go down to the lobby... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for choosing us and for posting your opinion on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet. We offer different packets according to the days of stay. You can ask when you arrive at the hotel. We’ll continue to strive to provide a better service. Thank you for highlight our quality service, the cleanness, comfort... More 

New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I like this hotel for the reason that I feel safe, I feel at home, I like the way that the location tiendesn me allows me to get anywhere fast, really love it.,also my family can go and wait in a place inside the hotel very comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Julio: Thank you for posting your experience on this website. We feel proud to know you felt like home in our hotel. Thank you for highlight our location, security and comfort. It’ll be a pleasure serve you in another occasion. Best regards, César Güílamo More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

E checked in at 2 am. The front desk agent screwed up the entire reservation. He wanted to charge us a far higher rate than what we booked. Thank God we had all copies of our online reservations which was made on their website directly. After he took our cash he said he can't give us receipt and that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ryan: Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers. We apologize for confusion from receptionist at the time of check-in. By policies, we take a hold for expenses incidental to all customers who visit us. The room we assign to you was fumigated and inspected for quality manager. We’ll pay special attention to cleanliness and fumigation room.... More 

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a central location, which is good, but the staff let the quality down. Painfully slow check-in/check-out, to room service not working. Not even free wi-fi! There are many better hotels in Santo Domingo to spend your money!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for rating us. We apologize for any misunderstanding occurred with staff. We will pay special attention to this aspect. Reception area is working to improve the waiting time of check-in and check-out. Room service works 24 hours a day. The internet service has an extra charge to all our customer, except to those who book by... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 daughters ages 7 and 9. I was told before I booked my reservation that breakfast would be $10 and dinner would be $16. upon arriving at the hotel I asked again for the prices and was told the same thing but that it would cost less for kids $8 for both breakfast and dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Alfredo: Thank you for posting your opinion on this site. We apologize for the wrong information about prices meals. Today we have met with the concerned departments to rectify the information and prevent this situation from recurring. The cost of room service depends of what you ask it. Sorry for the inconvenience with wifi. Our IT is working to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my family for 10 days. upon arriving a purchased their Wifi package 7 days for $45 which seemed to be a good deal. The very first day very bad on and off connections. I complained about this several times and was always told to wait 20 minutes. The very next morning I asked them to cancel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We apologize for the inconvenience with wifi. Our IT is working to provide a quality service. The reimbursement of USD32.00 was performed in this way because we were proposed place it as a credit for incidentals and you agreed. That afternoon we apply to extra had in the kiosk... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have two complaints. One is that internet and Wi-Fi should be include with cost of the stay at the hotel. I reserved online and was told that the internet service was included, but it wasn't and when I checked in I did not get the code for it. The other is that I reserved a room with a king... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Delia: Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The internet service is complimentary for those who book through our website. Will inform the person in charge of the reception to take the necessary measures and prevent it from happening again. Unfortunately no ensure bed type at time of the booking, but will depend on our availability. Thank you... More 

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is that fraud? We've reserved the room trough Booking.com. The receptionist without let us know, give us a room lower level then the one we booked. At the check out, we explain about the level differences, we book the premium club room and they give us a standard room. The lady just apologize but she has charged all the amount... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear Nataly: Thank you for your valuable opinion. Sorry for our mistake. By policy, it’s assigned to customers the type of room reserved. We would appreciate that you contact us to tell us the number of your reservation so we can investigate what happened. Our customers are our priority and we hope to solve this problem as soon as possible.... More 

new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, the rooms are spacious, modern and comfortable. Located right in the center of the city. The hotel has a small casino on site and cigar bar. It is within walking distance of most of the tourist site s in the colonial zone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for posting your experience on this site. We are happy to know that your short stay with us was pleasant. Thank you for highlight the comfort of the room and our location. It'll be a pleasure serves you in your next trip to Santo Domingo. Best regards, César Güílamo More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay