We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garraway Hotel

Hotel website
Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
1
5
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Trinidad & Tobago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent nine days at this hotel. The staff offered exceptional service, answered all my queries and assisted in whatever I asked of them. The room was large and very comfortable, ac worked well, room was cleaned every day. Lovely view of the harbour from my room. The hot water was hot, contrary to a review I read below. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I stayed in the Garraway for four nights, because the organizers of a workshop put all participants there. I had no influence on this choice. After reading some of the reviews, I contacted the hotel to enquire about the availability of some amenities and services of importance to me. I never got an answer. My first impression of the 4th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Roseau hotels

Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Working in Dominica for quite some time has resulted in many nights spent at the Garraway hotel on the waterfront facing the cruise ship dock. The house was built in 1996 and has been in a dire need for complete overhaul for many years. The food at the hotel restaurant is of average quality and more authentic local restaurants can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I travel extensively throughout the Caribbean, and this hotel has to be one of the worst I have stayed at in 20 years. No hot water, when I complained they said "that's as hot as it gets". The fish i ordered for dinner Dolphin, was anything but, completely un eatable. The carpet seemed dirty and had a smell to it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for several weeks in 2012. The hotel provides good basic accommodations. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bar in the hotel has some awesome karaoke nights (amazingly talented local people!). Our room faced one of the main streets and things would get quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights though. Had access to the roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I walked a lot around Dominica and then sat down in the lobby of this hotel having asked for brochures from the receptionist as I was taken with Dominica and was looking for a potential the future holiday place. At the same time I was given the wifi password and was looking at my emails when all of a sudden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I and daughter along with other family members stayed at the Garraway for the Christmas week. It was a decent stay. One of the best aspect of the hotel is the location - right on the Bay front and I believe all the rooms face the front of the hotel so there is a water view and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that this gentleman refused to comply with hotel policy which he insisted on flouting by refusing to patronise the bar in return for the free use of hotel wifi. It is surprisingly strange that after walking around he chose to sit in the hotel lobby and only then found it to be 'seedy.' His account of... More 

Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

One night was all I needed. This hotel is located directly across from Fort Young which is far superior for just a little more money. The bed sheets in the room were worn and looked dirty. The water pressure was low and the “In Room Wi-Fi” didn’t work. When I complained that the Wi-Fi wasn’t working (the wireless router was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

There were not many hotels to choose... Dominica is a small country with only 72,000 people, they have 9 volcanos (3 of them active) and everything is surrounded by mountains. For nature lovers is the right place. In my opinion, the Fort Young Hotel is the number one there, but it was fully booked so I got Garraway, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our trip to Dominica we had yo stay in a hotel for one night. The Garraway had vacancy, it was a great choice. The staff was very receptive, warm and friendly. We were checked in quickly, escorted to our room, which was very spacious. The hotel is located right on the water front, which is not a reflection of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope that we can again provide you with the excellent service of which we are very proud when you next come to the island. I will certainly convey your compliments and comments to our Staff who continually work hard to meet the standards of excellence we set ourselves.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
18.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
17.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay