We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garraway Hotel

Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
956 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Garraway Hotel isn’t as nice as the management photos indicate. It’s an older building. The bar inside extends outside and they sell beer and sodas on the patio. Pay for a drink and you get wifi. Signal is awful though and there are a ton of people trying to use it. Restrooms are yucky. You have a street view... More 

Helpful?
Thank KCW25
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Facilities are basic and run-down as others are saying - for the cost per night you would think they can spend some money fixing it up! Shana on reception was extremely helpful when we were stranded after missing our cruise ship. Wi-fi worked but there were no iPhone charging options. The food in the restaurant was below average and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 69BigAL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

When comming to Dominica... And knowing that I was to Garraway Hotel ... I checked it in Tripadvisor and said OMG! what a mistake! It says internet doesn't work, the manager is rude, the air conditioning is bad... Etc I have been for one day and found that nothing said is true! Great people! Nice rooms! Great internet! Happily

Helpful?
1 Thank Randall V
Montserrat, Caribbean
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I was prebooked and arrived at midnight. The first thing is there was no water, and I had to call The room was hot and stuffy for me as a Caribbean person. And the air conditioning didn't work. When I reported that there was no water I was dadvisedtgdtthatthe pump would be turned on for fifteen minutes. Then breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank darroux33

Travelers are raving about these Roseau hotels

Trinidad & Tobago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Spent nine days at this hotel. The staff offered exceptional service, answered all my queries and assisted in whatever I asked of them. The room was large and very comfortable, ac worked well, room was cleaned every day. Lovely view of the harbour from my room. The hot water was hot, contrary to a review I read below. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory_H_S
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I stayed in the Garraway for four nights, because the organizers of a workshop put all participants there. I had no influence on this choice. After reading some of the reviews, I contacted the hotel to enquire about the availability of some amenities and services of importance to me. I never got an answer. My first impression of the 4th... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ulrike_krauss
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Working in Dominica for quite some time has resulted in many nights spent at the Garraway hotel on the waterfront facing the cruise ship dock. The house was built in 1996 and has been in a dire need for complete overhaul for many years. The food at the hotel restaurant is of average quality and more authentic local restaurants can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lifrarpylsa
Miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I travel extensively throughout the Caribbean, and this hotel has to be one of the worst I have stayed at in 20 years. No hot water, when I complained they said "that's as hot as it gets". The fish i ordered for dinner Dolphin, was anything but, completely un eatable. The carpet seemed dirty and had a smell to it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al S
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for several weeks in 2012. The hotel provides good basic accommodations. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bar in the hotel has some awesome karaoke nights (amazingly talented local people!). Our room faced one of the main streets and things would get quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights though. Had access to the roof... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I walked a lot around Dominica and then sat down in the lobby of this hotel having asked for brochures from the receptionist as I was taken with Dominica and was looking for a potential the future holiday place. At the same time I was given the wifi password and was looking at my emails when all of a sudden... More 

Helpful?
Thank chip273
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
18.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#4 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
1.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay