We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garraway Hotel

Hotel website
Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garraway Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Garraway Hotel
Garraway Hotel
Garraway Hotel
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
1
5
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Garraway for four nights, because the organizers of a workshop put all participants there. I had no influence on this choice. After reading some of the reviews, I contacted the hotel to enquire about the availability of some amenities and services of importance to me. I never got an answer. My first impression of the 4th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Working in Dominica for quite some time has resulted in many nights spent at the Garraway hotel on the waterfront facing the cruise ship dock. The house was built in 1996 and has been in a dire need for complete overhaul for many years. The food at the hotel restaurant is of average quality and more authentic local restaurants can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I travel extensively throughout the Caribbean, and this hotel has to be one of the worst I have stayed at in 20 years. No hot water, when I complained they said "that's as hot as it gets". The fish i ordered for dinner Dolphin, was anything but, completely un eatable. The carpet seemed dirty and had a smell to it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Roseau hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for several weeks in 2012. The hotel provides good basic accommodations. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bar in the hotel has some awesome karaoke nights (amazingly talented local people!). Our room faced one of the main streets and things would get quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights though. Had access to the roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I walked a lot around Dominica and then sat down in the lobby of this hotel having asked for brochures from the receptionist as I was taken with Dominica and was looking for a potential the future holiday place. At the same time I was given the wifi password and was looking at my emails when all of a sudden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I and daughter along with other family members stayed at the Garraway for the Christmas week. It was a decent stay. One of the best aspect of the hotel is the location - right on the Bay front and I believe all the rooms face the front of the hotel so there is a water view and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that this gentleman refused to comply with hotel policy which he insisted on flouting by refusing to patronise the bar in return for the free use of hotel wifi. It is surprisingly strange that after walking around he chose to sit in the hotel lobby and only then found it to be 'seedy.' His account of... More 

Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

One night was all I needed. This hotel is located directly across from Fort Young which is far superior for just a little more money. The bed sheets in the room were worn and looked dirty. The water pressure was low and the “In Room Wi-Fi” didn’t work. When I complained that the Wi-Fi wasn’t working (the wireless router was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

There were not many hotels to choose... Dominica is a small country with only 72,000 people, they have 9 volcanos (3 of them active) and everything is surrounded by mountains. For nature lovers is the right place. In my opinion, the Fort Young Hotel is the number one there, but it was fully booked so I got Garraway, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our trip to Dominica we had yo stay in a hotel for one night. The Garraway had vacancy, it was a great choice. The staff was very receptive, warm and friendly. We were checked in quickly, escorted to our room, which was very spacious. The hotel is located right on the water front, which is not a reflection of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope that we can again provide you with the excellent service of which we are very proud when you next come to the island. I will certainly convey your compliments and comments to our Staff who continually work hard to meet the standards of excellence we set ourselves.... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Garraway for two weeks. The only good thing was the breakfast which was overpriced and could be included in the stay package. A few of the front desk folks were out right rude. The executive suite was not really a suite ...none of the usual amenities ...have to carry a large key around And the front door closes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that your stay at the Garraway Hotel did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and concerns and where positive will consider how these can be used to improve on our service to clients. Where negative we will do everything to turn these around. We take steps at all times to ensure that the safety and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities