We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa

Langestraat 8, Willemstad 33328, Curacao
Hotel amenities
Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Suzan K San Antonio, Texas
Add Photo

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    30
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
58
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The two-story suite was appointed beautifully, and I enjoyed every second wandering around the little village. As I read the other reviews, I realize that while I am looking for special experiences, others might want creature comforts and typical American resorts. If you are the latter, go elsewhere so that those of us who appreciate distinct luxury can enjoy this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Suzan K. Thank you for posting a review about your recent experience while staying in our Village. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique atmosphere these restored 18th and 19th century Dutch Colonial Caribbean buildings forming the Kura Hulanda Village represent. It is a unique location, where unique people, such as you, come to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Currently sitting in the lobby waiting to leave this beautiful island! The service in this hotel and the island itself was amazing, we stayed for 5 days and 4 nights and we regret the little time we stayed, the amount of history Curaçao has to offer is eye opening. The hotel itself is a little community that allows you to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest StephanieVZ Thank you for such a great review. I am glad we made your holidays an unforgettable one and that our staff was able to deliver beyond your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed your room, the pool, the music and the complete atmosphere we offer here within the Village to relax. Our operation team will be thrilled... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is okay, within walking distance of Otrobanda and Punda. However, for the same price I would always prefer a hotel on the beach. The worst problem is however the rooms; terribly old and outdated. Everything looked way past its expiration date. Room was dark and had an overall dirty feel about it. The towels in the bathroom looked so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Paul Michael, We do Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always appreciate receiving feedback in order to learn from our guest’s experience in order to improve. We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected it to be and that you did not enjoy the 18th & 19th century buildings our... More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Quite and relaxing place to get away from the 'cruise ship' crowds. We were there in the slow season May, enjoying a European coffee on the terrace and just chilling out. Woke up to birds singing in the morning and enjoying a very peaceful and unique resort. A UNESCO site since it is a restored ghetto and Mr Walt Disney... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tropicalseeker, How wonderful to hear of all these great comments you have on your stay with us here on our property. We appreciate and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our premises, pool, staff and birds. It is with proud that we do take care of this beautiful Hotel being part of an UNESCO heritage site Our team... More 

Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The hotel is very unique; created by a Dutch man. Once small houses in a part of Otrabanda, now rooms of the hotel. It belongs now to the Sonesta Group. In the streets of the hotel you can find a lot of sculptures, made by local Artists,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tommie1954, First of all Thank you for your positive feedback I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our village offering you an unique ambience surrounded with the beautiful colonial buildings. I’m taking your feedback as a compliment. We hope to see you back soon; our staff will be here to welcome you upon your... More 

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I am a history buff and really enjoyed my recent stay at this property. Staff were very friendly, nice secure parking area, clean grounds and the plus of staying in a historic location. Stroll the grounds and learn about it's history. All local amenities are within walking distance - great shopping too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest GoH20, Greetings from all the Kura Hulanda staff. Thank you for posting a review about your recent experience in our resort; I really appreciate your feedback Our operation team will be thrilled to learn you left with a great taste of our property and the staff you assisted you during your stay. It will be a pleasure to... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Amazing collection and story about the African slave trade and progression through the carribean and into the United States. The exhibit is informative, moving and well put together. My heart broke while standing next to the slave whipping columns. I was torn, humbled and disgusted with all that happened to the saves, their families and children. The world needs continued... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest Pedismurf, We do Thank you for writing your review about your visit at the Museum Kura Hulanda. We are glad you found the museum informative and moving that offer you information of the predominant cultures of Curacao. We hope with such reviews as yours, we are able to attract many more visitors to come and visit the Museum... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The architecture and feel of the property were very unique. Walking the cobblestone alleys made you feel transported back 200 years. The hotel itself was good...the pools were great, the ambience good, the staff mostly friendly. The property was wonderfully landscaped. The one drawback was that a lot of things were no longer available...bars, shops etc. The place was almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. George S., Thank you for such detailed comment about our property. I am glad you had a great stay overall and that you enjoyed the uniqueness our property does offer. We are indeed in the process of planning several developments that will give our future guests more options and variety in what we offer on site. I have... More 

Washington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I booked a last minute (booked two days before departure) trip to Curacao to do several days of warm water diving. I needed a hotel and with no family or friend's recommendations for the island, I took a chance on this hotel. Some of the reviews reflect a mediocre experience, and I beg to differ. I wanted something that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Good: pools were excellent, very safe and beautiful grounds, fitness room was comfortable, rooms were well-designed and air-conditioned and good shower, quiet and dark for sleeping, Wi-Fi was good in most areas (or room not being one of them) Bad: not enough prices listed, charged for a coffee refill after we had asked directly if there were free refills ($10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamiko7749, Front Office Manager at Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Andrew K, Receive our warmest greetings from Kura Hulanda. We do thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. It seems you had a good vacation overall. We appreciate your feedback, because it gives us the unique opportunity to review in the specific department(s), to stay focus and learn from our guest’s experience. This way we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

545 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (455)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Bolivar Pool (21)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (74)
Viewed
Eco Pool (38)
Viewed
Resort Superior Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
Spa Loft Suite (84)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay