We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 59 Varadero hotels

Melia Varadero

Save Saved
You added Melia Varadero to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera de las Morlas | Autopista Sur Km 7, Varadero, Cuba
Hotel amenities
Melia Varadero
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    662
    297
    129
    98
See reviews for
408
869
67
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay at Melia Varadero. Very friendly staff - The Chefs made us delicious vegetarian food - ensuring they washed their frying pans and spoons before cooking veg food!!. Rooms very good size and very clean. The main thing that needs to be updated and kept clean at all times are the ground floor toilets and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear 887Traveller887, Thank you so much for your generosity! It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the food. I cherish your suggestions in order to improve our service, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by toilets that of course have been discussed with our housekeeping manager. I will... More

Konya, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed 4 days in the otel melia varadero and it was a good but old hotel. The rooms need to be renovated. In general it is ok, don't expect the cleaning too much. The beach is really very good, the sea is very clean if there is too much wind. The breakfast and the dinner is quite good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about MELIA Varadero on Trip Advisor. Your comments are what make us improve our services as we strive to provide our guests with the best service possible. We are in the process of refurbishing our guest rooms, which will all be equipped with new furniture. We... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here on a girls getaway in March. As presumed, Cuba still remains Cuba. Beautiful to look at but lacking in small details. The resort was ... Ok at most. The Rooms were outdated and really uncomfortable beds. Buffets were lacking in taste like everywhere else in Cuba. Elevators actually worked but still scary. The resort is a 10 minute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Gina, I am very sorry to hear that your experience here at MELIA Varadero was disappointing. I apologize that we were not able to fulfilled your expectations, but as you read here, the most part of our clients find our offer satisfactory, specially the massages, they are very professional people. Honestly I cannot agree with you, it’s easy to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has many problems with the rooms.The a/c was very noisy.This is a problem in the night.We complained at the reception but...Uncomfortable beds with bad smell.Spiders at the corners,a lot of dust and ants in our room.The staff was good,especially some girls from Guantanamera bar.We came to Cuba for the music and we realised that the people dont like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you most sincerely for your comments which, needless to say, have caused me great concern . It is sad to learn that we have not been able to fulfill your expectations I have taken into consideration everything you have mentioned and I have taken immediate action , with the various head of department involved . Unfortunately,... More

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Melia Varadero in July 2014 after a great 8 days tour of Cuba. We had a junior suite sea view which had a fantastic view of the hotel and beach. The hotel itself was very nice, and the meals were great and they were all different. At 13.00 there was a barbecue on the beach. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Mihai, What beautiful comments! Thank you so much for your generosity! We are very happy that you enjoyed everything in the hotel, especially the food and the beach. I’m really sorry about your inconveniences with the air condition, we apologize. Thank you very much for recommending us and for your beautiful pictures! I´m sure you will come back to... More

Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a week tour. When I first arrived I felt like I had landed in an ant hill - there were so many people and a lot of activity. One of the pools had a volley ball net in the middle of it. The next day things settled down and I found a lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Beverlz, We are very happy that you enjoyed everything in the hotel. Thank you for placing your trust on us and for emphasizing the good quality of the fish. I’m really sorry about your inconveniences with the air condition, we apologize, we know that some problems would have been solved. Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide... More

Kildare
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are good and bad points relating to this hotel. Check in was quick and friendly. Lobby is impressive. Room was well appointed, nice bathroom, kettle, TV etc. The air con leaked but no big deal. A fuse blew within an hour of my arrival but was fixed by maintenance in no time. A bottle of water in the mini... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I truly appreciate your comments as it helps us develop our services and hotel, your big traveling experience deserve my utmost respect. As you have read here, we have difficulties with some air conditioners, in the coming days we expect new machines that will help us. We would like to apologize for this issue; we really are working... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Brought my family to Cuba for the first time. The resort have exceeded our expectations. The service was impeccable and there were abundance of food and variety to choose from. Love the fresh and tasty seafood. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals in the restaurant with live quartet music. Proximity to the beach was a plus and the beach was beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Larry, I am so pleased to know you have so much enjoyed your time with us. Thank you very much for emphasizing the good quality of the food and service. Thank you for placing your trust on us, do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our MELIA VARADERO, I remain at your entire... More

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our first visit to Cuba and we stayed at Melia Varadero for ten days in July, having spent four days in Havana. We honestly cannot fault the hotel; the staff are delightful - extremely friendly, attentive and efficient. A truly impressive variety of restaurants and food is always available and the activities are very well organised. The beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed everything. I’m really sorry about your inconveniences with the air condition, we apologize, we know that some problems would have been solved. I personally speak with our Head Housekeeper and our Maintenance Manager and inform you... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We ve stayed here over 10 times in the last 4 years. Overall we have had a great time. The management, particularly the Spanish boss,and staff ,are very attentive and there is always something to do. It s a shame they closed down the disco last year..which was a great meeting spot, but hopefully they will reinstate it in due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you so much for your generosity! What beautiful comments! We have taken note of comments about the disco, you be sure that we are looking for new options. Thank you very much for emphasizing for recommending us. I do hope to see you again for your 11th time with us; you will be always welcome at MELIA... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melia Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melia Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very good(13)
  • Steak house(6)
  • Ocean views(4)
  • Great time(4)
  • Pool area(3)
  • Pool bar(3)

Additional Information about Melia Varadero

Address: Carretera de las Morlas | Autopista Sur Km 7, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Varadero 5*
Also Known As:
Melia Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Melia
Melia Varadero Cuba

2,537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2516)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (571)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (516)
Viewed
Room/suite (195)
Viewed
Dining (161)
Viewed
View from room (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (881)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)