We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas

Calle 64 e/ 1ra Ave y Autopista, Varadero, Cuba (Formerly Barcelo Solymar)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

4,589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,009
    1,649
    884
    575
    472
See reviews for
902
1,400
238
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4589)
  • Mar-May only
    (1480)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (809)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1200)
All months
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently returned from a week long trip to the Barcelo Solymar side of the hotel. Let me begin by saying I have been to Cuba a total of 7 times and go with a very open mind - but despite being a 4 star hotel this was probably one of the poorer experiences I have encountered. I always read reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

disgusting place. We spent 3 was here and it was a total nightmare. No air con. They turn the whole thing off between the hours of 8am to 10pm and then say it's broke. We had no air con for 15 days full stop. The food is disgusting. The accommodation is Awful and very 2005. The staff are very rude.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel HAS NO AIRCONDITIONING!! and IT'S AUGUST 2015!!! And I don't think they are going to fix it in the near future, or so I was told. Otherwise it's quite a nice hotel. Beach is fabulous. The sea is super clean. Food.....er...adequate. Staff friendly and even friendlier if you tip (and you should). Location is great, right next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

To be fair, this was my first trip in about 10 years outside of Canada. It was also my first trip to Cuba and in general the Caribbean. I read a lot about Arenas Blancas before coming and had an idea that it wasn't going to be luxurious or anything. First off, check in is at 4pm. I tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Guest of Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas, I want to express thanks for taking your time to write a review about Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas; but I would like as well, express regret for haven’t made this vacations an unique experience, the way we like in Barceló Hotels. Your review has been very detailed, be sure I will bring it... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Its a hit and miss at some parts. We stayed in Barcelo Solymar for 7 days PROS: -People are awesome, especially the workers as they try their best to accommodate you however, you will always find people who doesn't really care. But a great thanks to Yanais from the front desk for giving our vacation a good start, she's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, I want to express thanks for taking your time to write a review about Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas; but I would like as well, express regret for haven’t made this vacations an unique experience, the way we like in Barceló Hotels. Your review has been very detailed, be sure I will bring it over all the departments heads,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very nice overall and the entertainment was decent. This hotel seems to be a hit with cubans as mostly cuban families were here. Theres two hotels ( Barcelo Solymar ( Younger crowd ) and Arenas Blancas ( Family/Relaxing). The room was in good clean condition and everything worked properly. The hotel was in walking distance of most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Taylanhi; Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences on your recent stay here at the Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time at our property and that you enjoyed our friendliness and service. We cannot wait to have you back with us soon! Juan Marqués General... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here 10 years ago and loved it so we decided to try it again 10 years later, but this resort has gone downhill in a major way. We arrived at our hotel and checked into our room. The room was dusty, safe not working, shower head broken, and bath tub filthy, and AC broken. After... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Sunsfun, Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent Stay at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas. We are very saddened to read we were not able to meet your vacations expectations. We can assure you that every constructive criticism you’ve shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards,... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here 2 years ago with a friend to celebrate her 60th birthday! Now I am returning September 19th to celebrate my own 60th. I am really looking forward to my stay. Was really happy with the staff, the restaurants, the amazing amazing beach and water. We stayed and will again stay in the Solymar main building. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences on your recent stay here at the Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time at our property and that you enjoyed our friendliness and service. We cannot wait to have you back with us soon! Juan Marqués Director... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back today! Miss it already 😕... It's my 2nd time in Cuba in 2 different resorts. The Barcelo Solymar was recommended by friends and we highly enjoyed our 1 week stay. I would have given it a 5 star rating was it not for the room we stayed in. It was in dire need of repairs. First and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, I am writing to you regarding your recent stay at our hotel, first thank you very much for letting us know about your experience in our hotel in order to improve our service. Reviews like this is the fuel we need to keep on working and provide the best service to our guest. We take into consideration your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had taken a family trip (family of 7) staying at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas for 7 days. My title says it all but this was the worst hotel I stayed in my whole life. Upon arrival the reception is packed with people and hotel staff is quite rude and unkind. It is understandable as you see them from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Hotel Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, responded to this review

Dear Maria; Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent Stay at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas. We are very saddened to read we were not able to meet your vacations expectations. We can assure you that every constructive criticism you’ve shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards,... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Lobby bar(10)
  • Very nice(8)
  • Great time(8)
  • Beach towels(6)
  • Good time(5)
  • Hot dogs(5)
  • Only complaint(5)
  • Air conditioning(4)
  • Very good(4)
  • Pool bar(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4,919 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4910)
Viewed
Room/suite (515)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (978)
Viewed
Dining (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (91)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1170)
Viewed
View from room (249)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (52)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (1588)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#3 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay