We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 59 Varadero hotels

Hotel Roc Barlovento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roc Barlovento to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 1ra e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Cuba
Hotel amenities
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    436
    264
    121
    80
See reviews for
199
399
99
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1060)
  • Mar-May only
    (370)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (189)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (361)
All months
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went here with my wife and 4 others. It was considered "off season" and so it seemed the staff put little effort into the service. We had no room for over 5 hours upon arrival when more than half the hotel was vacant. We reserved rooms with either ocean or pool view which we received neither. We also requested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Dear customer Our hotel is known for the friendliness of our staff. It is true that for certain ages, say young, we are not short of a hotel may be with more activities. We are a quiet hotel, highly rated by over 400 repeat customers. We are not perfect either we know we have still much to do, but we... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have been going to Barlovento for the last 8 years, sometimes 3 times a year. We have no problem staying in this great hotel because of staff’s professionalism and their warm welcome. All the staff work as a team and they are always there to help you and make sure you are having a nice vacation.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the confidence in our hotel and in our people. We are humble but rich in illusion. We Continue to improve in order to create some happiness to our customers. We are pleased to inform you that we will make some modifications to improve our resort hotel. I hope to see you again. All the best... More

Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I are both young retirees as well as seasoned world travelers. We prefer staying in smaller hotels or with local families due to the fact that we quite enjoy meeting new people as well as learning about other cultures and languages. We were not at all disappointed with the choice that we made staying at ROC Barlovento,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Dear customers. We do not have enough words to thank your comments about our hotel. Actually everything written is a reflection of a helpful, honest and self-sacrificing as it is the Cuban people People like you are much needed in this world.!! We inform you that in a short time we will start major changes in the hotel. A million... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week. The staff were polite and helpful but not pandering to every wish. The house maid wrote notes welcoming us and hoping of a tip. As everyone who does anything in hotel industry expects a tip for doing anything. Got a little annoying this. Food was basic but palatable. The pools were clean and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write our hotel. Our staff is trained to make small details to our customers without asking for anything in return. Once finished August with much assistance of people all around the world on the beach, our beach side continues to shining with natural beauty and cleanliness. Do not forget to return back to Cuba.... More

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given the price of this hotel, I give it 4 out of 5. It wasn't amazing, but I wouldn't expect amazing for the price we paid. We still had a really good time. The beach was beautiful and the rooms were functional and clean. Only points I didn't like were the food, which was average at best, and the evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Thanks for your time and comments. We continue to work and we continue to improve what does not please our customers. We hope to see you again in Cuba. More

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where to begin? The hotel itself is not terrible. Although a huge cockroach chased after me when I opened the bathroom door and turned on the light in the middle of the night, the room was pretty decent as was the lobby. What made this hotel disgusting was a combination of the staff, the other guests, management, and the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

We regret the bad experience you had with us. I did not mean to bother you, sorry. We only ask that you return back to Cuba and experience the good offered by the Cuban people. We wish the best for you More

Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really enjoyed this resort for the fact that it is not very big, and not overcrowded. We really enjoyed the night entertainment and the staff were incredibly friendly! The food was not the best for most of the stay which is normal for Cuba (I have been before), however we were there for New Year's Eve and they did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Barlovento. I travelled solo. It was very quiet(I'd say less than 1/2 capacity). That was the only real problem I had. There were not many guests to mingle with. The evening entertainment was really good and well done. Especially the water ballet. The food was not as bad as I was warned. I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Dear Client We note your concern over the beach and think like you. The August with many visitors to the beach need more cleaning especially on weekends. It is a phenomenon that occurs in multiple sites and countries at this time. We appreciate your time writing about the Hotel. Thank you again. More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My boyfriend, my sister and her husband and I stayed at this hotel July 9 -14, 2014. I would not recommend this place to anyone and would definitely not go back. I have been to CUBA seven times and this is definitely the worst hotel I have stayed at. Housekeeping was to a minimal. We never had enough towels in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Dear Customer After reading your review I have no words of apology for you. I very much regret what happened and I regret not having been at that time in the hotel. We consider ourselves a team that works by and for the client. Obviously we failed with you. Not so sure to visit Cuba next time? please, do it... More

Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A dream vacation, thank you to all the team at Roc Barlovento. Firstly a huge thank you to Kathy and Dalia, for your professionalism and your warm welcome. Thank you Willy, Efrain,Jacqueline, Ramone and La China for your 5 stars service. Cuba is the land of men of heart and kindness. Be open, generous and you will be happy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Juan Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review

Dear customer We appreciate your feedback. We are working to improve our service and installation. Sometimes we succeed and sometimes not !! But the illusion is still unwavering. We wish the best for you. More

Do you own or manage Hotel Roc Barlovento?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Roc Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Barlovento

Address: Ave 1ra e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roc Barlovento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Also Known As:
Barlovento Hotel Varadero
Barlovento Cuba
Gran Caribe Club Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
Barlovento Varadero

1,667 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1646)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (373)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (312)
Viewed
Room/suite (133)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
4:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (653)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Roc Barlovento

Enlarge Map