We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Armadores de Santander

4.0 of 5
Calle Luz 4 | Esq San Pedro, Havana 10100, Cuba
Armadores de Santander
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    37
    26
    22
See reviews for
11
60
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel, the first impression was very good and the location excellent in old Havana. The room was average, but had a distinct smell (mould?) and no windows except a window to an old elevator shaft! The bathroom was big, but the toilet did not work properly and sometimes did not flush. The minibar/fridge did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camilo_Berriz, Director Comercial at Armadores de Santander, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer: We appreciate you taking some of their time to evaluate us on Tripadvisor and also that we have selected for your stay in Havana. We deeply regret all inconveniences suffered in our facility and we assure you that we will be taking steps to solve these difficulties and provide our customers the quality they deserve action. With... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I do not want to say too much but the Santander was not the hotel we were expecting to stay at on a recent visit to Havana we had been moved and it was not a good one! The hotel sits right on the sea front on a very noisey road. Like other Cuban hotels this one needed to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camilo_Berriz, Director Comercial at Armadores de Santander, responded to this review

Dear Customer: We appreciate you taking some of their time to evaluate us on Tripadvisor and also that we have selected for your stay in Havana. We deeply regret all inconveniences suffered in our private facility and we assure you that we will be taking steps to solve these difficulties and provide our customers the quality they deserve action. With... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

After reading some of the previous reviews had my expectations set pretty low, but was very happily surprised with the place. We had a very warm welcome and before we had even finished our check-in, a complimentary Cuba libre in our hands. The hotel has been nicely renovated and is very tidy and charming throughout, there is a cute roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Camilo_Berriz, Director Comercial at Armadores de Santander, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hyvä asiakas: Arvostamme viet osan aikaa arvioida meitä Tripadvisorista ja että olemme valinneet lomakohteeksi Havana. Olemme erittäin tyytyväisiä vaikutelmia oli... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We only stayed one night yet I feel I could rant about this place for ages. But I dont need to as our hotel room had no windows and they charged extra for water at the breakfast we had paid for. Need I say anymore?

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Camilo_Berriz, Director Comercial at Armadores de Santander, responded to this review

Dear Guest:. Thanks for your opinion and for visit us. We are sorry to see that your stays haven’t meet your expectations. We apologize once again for the unsatisfactory experience and hope to see you; we will work in order to improve our service. Always you will be welcome! Best wishes, Sales Manager Santander Hotel More 

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We got to the Armadores de Santander for a night in January 2015. The rooms we were given had no windows. We managed to change on of them but the one we had overlooking the harbour was very (very) dirty. the pillow cases didn't even cover the whole pillow. We had to call to have them changed and it took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Camilo_Berriz, Director Comercial at Armadores de Santander, responded to this review

Dear customers: We appreciate that you have taken some of your time to evaluate us on Tripadvisor and also that you have chosen us for your stay in Havana. We deeply regret all inconveniences suffered in our private facility and we assure you that we will be taking steps to solve these difficulties and provide our customers the quality they... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I really can't compare this hotel as it is the only place we stayed on this tour and the only other hotel we visited was the stunningly beautiful Nacional Hotel so I will just rate this one as average for Havana. I thought it was quite nice and had no complaints at all. My room was comfortable, the water wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a magic room overlooking the water, and were greeted by extremely helpful and pleasant staff. We enjoyed our evening meal on the balcony overlooking the harbour ,whilst the food was ordinary the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Can't comment on value as I was there as part of a tour of Cuba but thought was a really nice place to stay. In comparison to other places I'd stayed in Cuba positive palatial! I had 2 bathrooms all to myself at either end of the room with a small sitting area too. Bathroom was great and the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

the hotel staff exceeded my expectations, very helpful in every way. my room was on 3rd floor with wonderful view of the harbor. the only negative, no hot water, tepid at best & one day no water at all. the hotel is walking distance to artist market, beer microbrewery, many eating establishments etc. If I ever have the privilege to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I think that peoples stays are very variable in this hotel depending on the room. We were super lucky with room 107 which I think is the honeymoon suite. Some people in our group had no windows or strange rooms with a mezzanine level and a spiral staircase in their room. Our room had a small seating area when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question