We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
The House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The House to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014
luckyny new york
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
227
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
There are newer reviews for The House
See the most recent reviews
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were meant at the airport and whisked through customs by a very nice lady and in no time we were on our way to The House. David (our driver) offered us chilled bottles of water and, during the short drive, gave us a brief history and overview of the island. We were greeted by Cherry Ann who made us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at 'The House' from June 6th until June 16th 2014. We booked a one bedroom, ocean view suite through Virgin HIP Holidays. On arrival in Barbados we were fast tracked through security and escorted outside the airport to kerbside where we were met by a car to take us to the hotel. Once inside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at The House and can honestly say that all of the glowing comments provided previously to Trip Advisor are accurate. The property was everything we had hoped for and more. The property is small enough that it never felt crowded (even at gathering times such as breakfast and afternoon tea) and the no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel (it had been strongly recommended by family members) and we were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful, the atmosphere very conducive to relaxation, and the staff absolutely delightful, helpful and friendly. Three people spring to mind in particular - Andrew, who was absolutely wonderful and looked after us with the utmost care,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent time at The House April 2014. Great place, cool environment, good staff. More like a club than hotel. Can't comment on all accommodation however the ocean view suite we stayed in was excellent. Two bathrooms, two balcony's, pleasant decor and plenty of space. Restaurant facilities minimal, however if you want dinner by the sea, great service, good quality food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

10 days at the house:not everyone are so lucky. yes, now that i know i will never book a transfer in advance anymore. a local taxi is fine and much cheaper but is the same everywhere in the world. in dubai transfers are ten times a taxy. and they all drive limos anyway. something to remember next time will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concord, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed in mid May to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We looked online for months to find the perfect place to celebrate this special event. Our expectations were high, and that always worries me because it's easy to be disappointed when we set the bar so high. We had never been to Barbados before and decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went to the house for 5 days and went for a balcony sea view junior suite. The room is very modern and has all the refinements you would expect in a top class hotel. The hotel has a lovely buffet breakfast with complimentary unlimited champagne. You also get free ice cream, fruit portions and water bottles throughout the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House, responded to this review

Dear Stephane E Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely detailed review of The House. We continuously strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it warms our hearts to know that we were able to provide you with a wonderful and memorable holiday experience! We thank you for highlighting our romantic and relaxing ambiance, our lovely suites... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

DO NOT BOOK A "LUXURY TRANSFER" WITH HOTEL! Cost is US$140 (rtn) and simply a regular taxi. Nothing luxury about the experience at all. A regualr taxi to hotel with cost US$40!! Total rip off!! Hotel management not helpful and actually rude, saying we received exactly what we paid for.... CHAMPAGNE BREAKFAST - is available however you have to constantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House, responded to this review

Dear RCN82 Many thanks for sharing your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. With reference to your transfer from the airport we sincerely regret that the we did not meet your expectations. Please also accept my sincere apologies if anyone reacted inappropriately to your concerns as this... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stunning boutique hotel on the Platinum coast. Great location, handy for all the happening restaurants & nightlife on the west coast. Excellent decor, superb service and right on the beach, enjoy long walks along the beach, or rent a yacht and cruise the warm waters, spotting turtles along the coastal waters. Amazing. A must stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House, responded to this review

Dear Franc0Sc0tt Many thanks for sharing this great review of The House. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are truly delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our fantastic location, superb décor and service. We look forward very much to your return! Warm regards Joanna Roterberg General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados/Saint James Parish
Saint James The House
House Barbados
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish

536 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (175)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (327)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Oceanview Junior Suite (98)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay