We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Southampton

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
101 South Shore Road, SN02, Bermuda
Special Offer
20% Off & $150 Credit
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fairmont Southampton
Add Photo Write a Review

2,473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,228
    761
    286
    125
    73
See reviews for
612
1,087
66
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2473)
  • Mar-May only
    (572)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (989)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (629)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (283)
All months
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Over 20 years we have been coming here and is very similar if not exactly the same as it was in 1993 when we first came here. Still nice, with great service. Having the beach off property is a pain, but they make it simple with trolies evey 15 minutes. Overall it is one of the nicest places we visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Putting on my running shoes yesterday, I realized there was still Bermuda sand in them from our trip 2 weeks ago. Feeling nostalgic, I remembered I had not written my hotel review. Here goes: Another fabulous 4-night stay at the Fairmont Southampton in late June. We are repeat visitors to Bermuda, and this was our second stay at the FSH.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review & forum postings, we really appreciate it! I've sent your note to the Gold team, and I'm sure they're thrilled with the kudos! We can't wait to welcome you back for trip #3! More 

New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Overall, I enjoyed my time at The Fairmont Southampton Hotel in Bermuda, and I would recommend it. Initially, I was apprehensive about this place because of the dated exterior. However, I found the interior to be nice, clean, and updated. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I was most impressed with the wonderful food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annapolis, Md
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our third time in Bermuda, different hotel each time. The Fairmont is a beautiful hotel, older but renovated very very nicely. We were in Bermuda to relax for a few days, so I made sure to pick a hotel with a nice beach and I wasn't disappointed. Beautiful private beach (Just a 2 minute trolley ride) and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had an initial respect for the hotel. Its grandeur arises upon approach. The old (dated) decor gave to the impression of grandeur. But that is when my respect disappears. A very non-friendly check-in and a hotel room with constant noise, felt like in the back-yard dump area. Also paying (apparently low) 300USD per night, you expect the gym to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences, I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. We do not have a "back-yard dump area", all of our guest rooms are the same size and room type varies by view. Depending on the room category you booked will determine the view (or lack thereof) you experienced. Our staff certainly care... More 

Bermuda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This review is based soley on our beach experience, NOT THE HOTEL ITSELF. We are residents and were visiting friends staying at the hotel. We joined them for a day at the beach and although the view is stunning, I was absolutely appalled by the service at the restaurant on the beach (the one closest to beach, where seating is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for a combination meeting and 30th anniversary trip. We were very satisfied with our experience here. When the hotel found out that we were celebrating the milestone anniversary, they sent a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries to our room. We had a Fairmont room on the 5th floor which faced the Gibb's lighthouse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I captured the Discover Bermuda package rate at this hotel which gave us generous resort credit to enjoy the numerous restaurants on site without a care about the cost! The rate also included a sublime full buffet breakfast in the beautiful Windows restaurant with views of the Harbor in the distance. This hotel sits high on a hill surrounded by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review of The Fairmont Southampton on TripAdvisor, it's so nice to hear you enjoyed Bermuda. The Discover Bermuda Package is one of our best offers, so it's lovely to hear you were able to take advantage of the savings it provides! We hope to welcome you back again soon! More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I are sincerely not the sort of travelers/readers that try to find fault in everything. We have both worked in retail and food industry and are therefore forgiving of our friends in the hospitality industry. We are also firm believers that you control your own destiny, especially when it comes to intimacy. But it's when a property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your well-thought-out & balanced comments. I am sorry you found the hotel to be "just ok", we certainly strive to be better than that. I am appalled that other guests tried to prospect you, this is unacceptable and will be following up on this. I apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced, and hope that next... More 

Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel boast that all rooms have a view; Ocean, Great Sound, or Golf Course. When I checked in on 6/24/13 I was given a room on the second floor. I kindly asked if I could have a room on a higher floor. The young lady at the check-in said she would ask her manager, and went into a back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your experience, I am very sorry you had troubles with your check-in. I am unsure of what room category you had booked for, but our Moderate Room categories are no-view, as they are obstructed. The rooms are priced based on view-type, so to keep you in the category you booked, they were probably unable to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,702 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1115)
Viewed
View from room (116)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (255)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (256)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (161)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (228)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (526)
Viewed
Amenities (140)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (56)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (82)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Willow Stream Spa Indoor Pool (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay