We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
carol t Croydon, United Kingdom
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    338
    110
    57
    61
See reviews for
104
602
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (959)
  • Mar-May only
    (274)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (333)
All months
Wedmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sadly we have just left Hawksbill 2 days early from our holiday. On the plus side it's location is simply fabulous , sadly nothing else is. The buildings are in a shocking state of repair but worst of all the staff are simply awful. There is no attempt at service or even a smile. In fact I would go as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team appreciates you sharing your review on tripadvisor even though it seems we were unable to meet your expectations. Your concern pertaining to the water supply is noted but unfortunately the mentioned explanation given to you by our maintenance team member is not accurate (and we will investigate and address accordingly) however the filling of... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third time here and hope to return next year.The staff are very friendly & welcome you back.Food is good,plenty of choices especially lunch timThis hotel comes with four beaches .Very picturesque setting.The minute you arrive it is like comming home.If you want glitz & nightlife this is not for you.It is a really relaxing holiday with trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor. We have noticed your recognition of the friendly & efficient service team, the various choices of food available, the four beaches to enjoy and the numerous repeater clientele which is the highest on island. Thank you for your repeat visits throughout the... More 

Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Hawksbill resort is a hidden treasure! Spectacular 4 beaches and extremely private. It was like having our own slice of paradise in the Caribbean! The resort needs some upgrades. However, the views & grounds are wonderful. We stayed in the waterfront Beach Club Cottage facing Sea Grape Beach. It was basic shabby chic, but very comfortable, private and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very relaxing holiday, wonderful beaches and bungalows right by beach. Food a bit repetitive but staff all very helpful and friendly. Night life nonexistent . Had a colonial feel which was nice rather than could be anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our bungalow type accommodations, the selection of four beaches and the efficient service of our team. Your concerns pertaing to the food and the night life are duly noted. Once again thank you for... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful time staying at this resort. I chose Hawksbill as it seemed to be a place that would be more peaceful than anything and I definitely made the right choice! We booked the Garden view bungalow but were put in the seaview bungalow. Our bungalow had only a fan and no windows, only screens and shutters but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our tranquil atmosphere with friendly efficient staff, good food, comfortable bungalow type accommodations along the shoreline of our four unique beaches. Your concerns in regards to the wash cloths and the shower is acknowledged and... More 

Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned a few weeks ago and enjoyed our stay The facility is in need of an upgrade and believe that the lease agreement with the property limits Rex Resorts willingness to invest more $$ Having said that the price of our visit was reasonable and the staff's response to repair service was very good We would like to see an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are please to know that you were satisfied with the efficiency of our maintenance team members, the quality of food offered, the four unique beaches and the overall friendly service of our team. A true vacation experience which creates unforgettable memories.... More 

England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I believe that the hotel is closing for 5 months so improvements are now being made, well overduew but this is really good news, hope the staff are able to manage during this time. Cannot wait to go back in December.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future. Hawksbill is scheduled to close for renovations from May 5th to October 24th 2015. Sincerely, John General Manager Hawksbill by rex... More 

Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Fact: this is the best location in Antigua with four fabulous beaches. ( and it isn't a long walk to the fourth beach - whoever wrote that must be exceptionally unfit!) No matter how many people are staying there you never feel it's crowded, so if you are worried about being seen with, or looking at, senior citizens you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We truly appreciate your positive comments and you are quite accurate in stating that Hawksbill definitely has the best location in Antigua. Our north west location features four unique beaches which are 'vendor harassment free'. One of the four, Eden is... More 

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Our second visit here and we still love it. Staff very friendly, location wonderful, pool small but what the heck there is the sea! Food better than last visit butcould still do with improving. Wonderful place, its like marmite, you either love it or hate it! The number of people who come back over and over again can, t all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lake District UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Last year we stayed for 12 days at Hawksbill. We liked it so much we decided to come back again. This time we spent 5 days at Coconut Beach Club and then transfered to the Hawksbill for a week. Coconut Beach is closing in May..... and I can understand why! When we reached the Hawksbill it was like coming back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advsior. We offer warm welcomes, friendly and efficient service, clean n cozy accommodations, tasty cuisine, delightful cocktails, fantastic sunsets and four beaches for all our visitors to enjoy. Hawksbill offers a memorable experience for all age groups seeking a Resort with a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (870)
Viewed
View from room (108)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (211)
Viewed
Room/suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (138)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
3:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (462)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (53)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Honeymoon Cove Room (64)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Room (53)
Viewed
Garden View Bungalow (41)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
Sea View Bungalow (49)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question