We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buccaneer Beach Club

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Dickenson Bay | P.O.Box 327, St. John's, Antigua
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buccaneer Beach Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Buccaneer Beach Club
Add Your Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    39
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
110
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Cambridge
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a self-catering unit at this hotel and were pleased we chose this and not one of the nearby large hotels in Dickenson Bay. For all those considering self-catering this is really the place to stay in Antigua. Antigua Village next door has a small convenience store, there are drinks and snacks to buy at Buccaneer reception, and also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

But Buccaneer Beach Club fully deserves all the five star ratings that others have given it. There is always a moment of concern as one leaves the Airport bound for a base, in our case, for a month on an island. But my wife and I spoke as one when we said with great satisfaction, "Florida, 1990s,' once we settled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Buccaneer Beach Club and it was just as great as the first! The club is a few paces from the great location of Dickenson Bay and right next to the Coconut Grove restaurant. All apartments are a good size and have balcony or terrace overlooking the beautiful tropical garden and pool. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Buccaneer Beach Club is not a hotel, but a small group of apartments built around a delightful swimming pool. The appartments are comfortable with good air conditioning and ceiling fans, and well equipped kitchens. There are plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach, which is just a step outside the gate. The staff are unfailingly helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington, D.C. USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The Buccaneer Beach Club is not a hotel in the traditional sense. The reception is a separate building, and it is simple yet functional. In the reception room there is a refrigerator where you can buy drinks and bottles of wine to take to your apartment. Apartment is the right word for what you get. There are different buildings, like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

It is the last day of a fabulous week at Buccaneer Beach Club! Everything is so easy, and the staff are so friendly. The apartments have the most beautiful tropical gardens and pool, and the beach is just steps away. The apartments are very comfortable with a terrace / balcony with table and chairs so you can sit out in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We stayed at the Buccaneer for a week end of January. It was the first time for us to travel to Antigua, and we had chosen the Buccaneer mainly due to the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The location is great, a 20 minute cab ride from the airport and right at Dickenson Bay. The studio apartment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flushing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I stayed at Buccaneer towards the end of January 2015, with my wife and 4 kids. Because we were 6 people, I was initially going to reserve 2 regular rooms. They were kind enough to work out something where I stayed in Cottage # 2, the superior cottage (which really should be # 1) for 1 night and then moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carleton place
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I booked a week at this hotel through expedia, but unfortunately had to cancel. I was told I would get a full refund. After a couple of months passed , I contacted them about not getting m refund put back on my mastercard. They told me they did it weeks before. I contacted expedia.... Who contacted them.... They told them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mbuccaneer, Manager at Buccaneer Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Jane, the day after you cancelled your reservation we refunded your credit card the full amount of 2 nights deposit as per our policy and as we always do. When you contacted us to explain that you didn't get the amount refunded we also sent you the email with the copy of the credit card slip showing the refund... More 

Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

OK so I've reviewed Buccaneer Beach club several times in the past as I travel to Antigua frequently for business, but I felt another review was warranted. This place is always a welcome spot on the island, large comfortable kitchenette rooms, small resort so not swamped with people, nice beach, and Coconut Grove restaurant (not affiliated with the resort directly)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (180)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question