We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Blackwood B&Bs / inns

Maes Manor Country Hotel

Maes Rudded Lane, Blackwood NP12 0AG, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maes Manor Country Hotel to your Saves list
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
47%
Ranked #6 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
janecad wales
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    35
    30
    40
See reviews for
59
52
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Maes Manor recently as our son was married there and from our point of view we couldn't fault anything. From the 1st welcome through to the telephone call that I had with (presumably) the night porter the evening after the wedding, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Our room for the night was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 1st class service combined with 1st class food today at our mums 80th birthday lunch celebration ,every part of the lunch was piping hot and delicious ,there were 16 in our party who left VERY full and very impressed .

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Like many others we stayed here as part of a wedding party. The location is lovely and this hotel could be wonderful but I doubt if the owners have spent a penny on it for many years. Our room was in the coach house adjoining the main building and was a fairly good size but it badly needed upgrading and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. I am disappointed that the accommodation did not meet your standards. We are looking into refurbishing the coach house in the new year. Hopefully you will visit us again and have a more pleasant stay. We hope you enjoyed the wedding... More

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and myself attended the hotel today for Sunday lunch,it was excellent food a very good choice of menu,hot well presented and large portions of everything.The staff were very attentive and professional I loved the waitresses very smart dresses! Lovely surroundings and comfortable lounge and dining room.Have rebooked for Sunday lunch with all the family in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate the good feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I was a wedding guest at the hotel and the first room that we were given was on par with a bed and breakfast room in Blackpool, a far cry from the expectation of a country hotel. We asked to move and were given 5 other rooms to choose from all of which were marginally better, so why were we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed that the rooms were not up to the expected standards. This matter will be investigated and measures taken to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate all feedback and take all negatives as constructive criticism. We are hoping to begin refurbishments very soon and thorough... More

Pontypridd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

It wasn't my intention to complain at all as being invited to someones wedding in the venue of their choice, you feel slightly awkward. Myself and my partner were put on the top floor which was fine but upon entering the attic room we found my 6'2 partner could barely fit, it was like exiting a plane in the Caribbean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay at the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have the luxury of air conditioning given the age of the hotel though efforts are made to keep the building cool. The weather conditions are beyond our control. There are obviously security measures put in place to keep the guests... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have recently attended our friends wedding at this hotel, and to say we were disappointed is a massive understatement. When we arrived to check in to our "well appointed room" we were greeted by a rather rude, stern woman who snarled at us "that the room is not ready, you will have to wait until 3". I understand it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the wedding that you attended here at the hotel. We do not guarantee early check ins to the rooms, due to the time needed to service the rooms after use. The bridal and... More

Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had made a reservation in your restaurant on the 12th July for my Husband's 40th birthday for 6.45 p.m for a party of 9 people. At 3.20 p.m, I received a telephone call from a member of your staff informing me that your hotel would be unable to honor this booking as your one chef had "personal problems" and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that the meal you had booked was for a special occasion and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, due to unforeseen circumstances we had no option but to close the restaurant. Had we been aware of the situations surrounding the closure any earlier then we would have... More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were all suppose to be going for my Dads 40th birthday at this supposed "great place", just a nice family meal for a very special occasion. It came to 3 o'clock on the Saturday afternoon when we received a strange phone call saying the restaurant had been closed due to short staff, my heart felt like it had stopped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are always looking for ways to improve and so all feedback is appreciated. We understand that the meal you had booked was for a special occasion and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, due to unforeseen circumstances we had no option but to... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to Maes Manor for a very special Sunday Lunch retirement meal with the family. The food was delicious - a wonderful choice for all three courses and very generous portions. We all had more than enough to eat. The price was very reasonable and the service was efficient. Thank you all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMHL, Manager at Maes Manor Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We strive to deliver exceptional customer service and are glad that you enjoyed your afternoon. We look forward to you dining with us again soon. More

Do you own or manage Maes Manor Country Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Maes Manor Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes Manor Country Hotel

Address: Maes Rudded Lane, Blackwood NP12 0AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Maes Manor Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes Manor Country Hotel Blackwood, Wales

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Maes Manor Country Hotel