We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Gate Resort

Certificate of Excellence
70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538
Hotel amenities
Ocean Gate Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    73
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
85
133
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ocean Gate Resort
See the most recent reviews
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We just returned from 6 nights in a waterfront (ocean bay) room right at the water's edge. This resort is located on an island about a 5 minute drive from Boothbay Harbor and offers a selection of accommodations in a number of buildings, including cottages. Our second-floor room (stairs, no elevator) was spacious and clean. It had a small fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Delft, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We liked everything about the place. Staff were excellent and service-oriented. Location beautiful. Breakfast very good (and nice have proper plates and cutlery instead of disposables). Kayaks were included and life-jackets supplied. We stayen in an oceanfront room. Room was nice. View fantastic. Pity it does not face sunrise or sunset. Cleanliness superb. We would definitely come here again and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

What a beautiful place. There's a comfy (rustic) feeling outside and a stunning hotel room feeling on the inside of the motel. The breakfast is wonderful. The staff members are classy. There's a lot to do on the property. The patrons are quiet and mindful of others. We were all very happy. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was a great resort for kids. We played miniture golf many times, and we loved the pool. We also kayaked! The location is beautiful and the grounds are kept very nice. The "fitness center" is a rusty joke. The breakfast pavilion is very nice, but I didn't like the breakfast at all. The coffee was awful, and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Took advice from Trip advisor and booked this for a nights stay on our tour of NEw england. Can't fault the staff who were exceedingly helpful and friendly and breakfast was ok, ample but not very exciting. Our room was an overlook suite on the 2nd floor and had a fabulous view over the water. Easy to park right by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

As always, we appreciate our guests that take the time to comment on their stay with us. After some of the more recent glowing comments and our rise through the rankings, we were beginning to think that we were something pretty special. Thanks for keeping us in line! When we get knocked down a notch, it’s disheartening but makes us... More 

Southern Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

If you are looking for a posh, luxurious or trendy Maine Experience (and we weren't), you should look elsewhere. The Ocean Gate offers clean, comfortable, family friendly lodging in a natural and rustic setting. As stated in the previous review, the buildings are set into the Maine coastline and are surrounded by the native trees and flowers and the large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tolerant City USA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

On our second visit, we love this resort yet again. What is not to like? The staff are resourceful and responsive. The amenities are fine for those seeking a Maine restfulness with a beautiful, timeless view. We have nothing but praise for this well-run, established inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raymond, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We just returned from Ocean Gate Resort for our second time in 3 months. Our first visit in May was so wonderful that when we had an opportunity to return to the Boothbay area this summer we did not hesitate to make a reservation at Ocean Gate. We were curious to see how our August experience would compare to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
odonoghuejoe@yahoo.com
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Ocean Gate Resort, near Boothbay Harbor, Maine, is almost a total opposite to the Maine coastal resorts we have visited in recent years. There is no four or five story building that resembles a hotel, no large asphalted area devoted to parking, no terrain from which all the pre-construction trees have been removed. Instead, Ocean Gate has six widely dispersed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Place is definately "campy" and overpriced by approx. 25% compared to other options that we later discovered in the area. The kids didn't mind since there's a pool, mini-golf, okay breakfast, and some nice views of the "lobstah boats". The management needs to sterilize the rooms. My recommendation is for the GM to go into EVERY room and look at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Although we appreciate candid feedback from our guests, we find it even more productive and satisfying for everyone when guests communicate any concerns with us during their stay so that we can make a concerted effort to correct any problems. It appears as if we were not given the opportunity in this case. This is especially unfortunate since I'm confident... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (150)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities