We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre

West Lynch Farm | Porlock, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wembdon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Stayed here a few week ago for a little break from reality, lovely double bedroom with a good size shower and bath. the owner was very friendly and provided us with a cup of tea in the evening. Breakfast was very nice. In true it was quite nice to not have wifi in the room, nowadays we all seem to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren3005
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. Rod and Cathy made us feel very welcome and our half day hawk experience was really informative and lots of fun. We look forward to returning with our children in the summer and exploring more of Exmoor and the coast.

Helpful?
Thank Reuben W
Underberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Just like the rip off comment we also endured the unfriendly lady. We rang the bell and the lady in dirty horse riding gear appeared. With instant attitude ordering our cream tea was an effort to say the least. Seemed like we were invading her privacy. Not welcoming at all. We will not be back. The worst cream tea experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Cathy P, Owner at Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - I think they are unfounded, and I hope you enjoyed your cream tea. I have no reason to be rude, and cannot think what I might have said that you thought was rude! I answered your questions politely and with a smile, and served you a delicious cream tea, in the garden with the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

we have a six year old son who loves anything with fur and feather so having seen this on day out with the kids webby i decided to go and have a look at this place the photos on their website intrigued me so i emailed ahead to see if my son could do the £10 pound owl - and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Really interesting place well worth a visit.the man doing the owl demonstration certainly knows what he his doing and passionate about the birds you can see there loved and well looked after very enjoyable place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank veronica b
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

Well, what a welcome!!! Having visited previously my children and I were really looking forward to it. On ringing the bell in the entrance to get someone's attention, we were greeted with a woman who was sooo rude we very nearly worked straight back out!! She was abrupt, not at all welcoming. The entrance prices were not on display so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
Cathy P, Owner at Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for your review - when you arrived at the door there was clearly one senior citizen, two children and one adult. Our adult rate is £10, our senior citizen rate is £8.50, children are £8.50 and concessions are £8.50. As you were a party of four I gave you the best rate possible, that is £30... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We called here for coffee and cake on a hot day with our dog who was allowed in the tea garden. It was beautiful sitting out amongst the cottage garden flowers and the macaws. Lovely coffee and cake too. We did not visit the Owls as it was far too hot to leave the dog in the car and understandably... More 

Helpful?
Thank margaret h
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The centre is found on a lovely road past very pretty villages. It was an excellent day from start to finish. We flew the birds outside in the garden and inside the barn. It was thrilling to stand there with titbits in your hand and watch the birds fly to you. Also it was very informative in regard to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin patrick S
South West UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Flying an owl has been on my bucket list for a long time, so when I found out about the Owl and Hawk Centre I couldn't resist making a booking! I booked two nights' B & B, along with a half day bird of prey experience, and I got brilliant value for what I paid. My room had a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blackdahlia
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here with out 2 children a while ago, as my daughter wanted to visit the Exmoor pony centre. After a very long drive, we were greeted with tea and cake which was very welcome indeed! We were shown to two rooms which were joined by a corridor. The rooms were lovely and have retained the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kathyhadley
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
0.6 mi away
Cross Lane House
Cross Lane House
#1 of 5 in Allerford
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#5 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor Cottage
Tudor Cottage
#2 of 5 in Allerford
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynch Country House
Lynch Country House
#2 of 2 in Allerford
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay