We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Special Price
Super Flash Sale 40% Off!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful location, beach gorgeous. Loved being able to use snorkels, paddle boards, kayaks etc free of charge. Pool great, kids loved it. Rooms a little tired in need of modernisation but not a major.

Helpful?
Thank Louiset12345
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Expensive for what you get. Interiors need a bit of sprucing up. Good free rentals of towels and beach wares. Buffet restuarant had good variety, but like Rarotonga was expensive. Must say resorts are very depressing places for solo travellers!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathkiaora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have recently returned from 9 nights at the Rarotongan. I completely agree with a recent review which says the hotel needs a large investment, both financial and with staff training. Most of the staff are at best uninterested. Some resort information in the room would be helpful. We were told by the activities staff not to worry about the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Judith S
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled to Rarotonga early December 2015. We had booked for 5 nights at the The Rarotogan and were a little concerned about staying there after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. These concerns were put to rest as our experience was nothing but fantastic; from the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the cleanliness of the resort and the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aunababs
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on 24 December 2016 (group of 10) and received an upgrade from Garden Rooms to Beachfront, so this was a great start. The "daily" room service was a bit slack but didn't bother us too much as we were on island time :) The beach was only a few steps away and enjoyed the snorkelling. The equipment hire... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KC01
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from my second trip to the Rarotongan yesterday. This hotel has soooooooo much potential ... unfortunately, it just sucks. Amazing location, worst service and food I have ever experienced at an island resort. It's not that the service staff are mean or intentionally rude, they just obviously don't care and have no idea of what constitutes good... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank pwfletcher
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We booked dinner and nobody cares about us. Only one floor staff and one bartender with more than 40 people to serve. Mostly of the tables were dirty and the Bar girl was not talking to customers. We sit for more than ten minutes and we couldn't have any chance to order some drinks. We left really disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Denis G
cookieabroad, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Denis G - Thank you for your review. The Christmas - New Year is a busy period and we apologize that your order was not taken in 10 minutes as staff were attending to other guests. We do have a duty manager on duty from 7am to 10pm and if you had asked to see them they would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We took a quick trip away before the Christmas rush. With a few resorts to choose from we picked this one for it's location beachside by the lagoon. It was a top spot to sit back relax and do very little with the staff catering to our every need even beach side. This is what the pacific islands and Cook... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike F
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Rarotongan beach resort is ideal for family and the kids enjoys the activities like, swimming, kayak, snorkeling, etc. Activities were free to use. The resort situated in good view to lagoon. My kids were never wanted to come out of pool, the pool water quality maintained good. Restaurant serves yummy foods, we had complimentary breakfast which was nice. Rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShakirKareem
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

It was a quiet time of year when we visited, but we found this an advantage, there was plenty of time to get to know the staff. In general the Cook Island people are wonderful, but the staff at the Rarotongan were so good we rarely ventured out of the resort! The meals were good, the bar was great, thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

595 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (531)
Viewed
Room/suite (91)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (127)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
3.1 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay