We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Aroa Beach hotels

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Aroa Beach
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (642)
  • Photos (515)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (176)
  • More
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    195
    120
    79
    77
See reviews for
284
230
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We travelled in July 2014 for a family holiday with 2 adults and 2 toddlers. We chose this place as they cater for children, the creche and kids room were good and the staff were great, we'd use this again. The food and service was absolutely shocking at the main (and only) restaurant (Captain Andy's). Approx 1hour wait on food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you have a family this is a good choice but only for the Beach and location. Rooms OK but could do with a bit of upgrading. Restaurant and Bar well where do I start. Service is hard with staff not interested and lack of them. How they don't know it is the high season I will never no. Two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have 2 children 4 and 6. We stayed in a beachside suite. We loved our king size bed and the girls each had a single bed which was wonderful, we also had a spa bath in our bathroom which was awesome fun!. The kids loved the pool and also the snorkelling right from the beach where the fish are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A Big disappointment, we stayed with our two children 3 and 1 in a beach front cottage. The best part is that we could just walk out of our room onto the beach into the sea. All the rest and especially the food was a bad experience. With children you are only allowed in one restaurant. Fresh food seems to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We read a lot of reviews about this resort (after booking) and were a little concerned about it from some of the things we had read. We were pleasantly surprised and had a great stay for 7 nights. Yes, some things are a little dated and the garden rooms are quite compact but the resort itself, the people, the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At $300+ per room per night we expected something more than what we had. Garden Rooms: Were quite dark and basic. The shower didn't work properly and either sprayed in all directions or came out so lightly it was difficult to use. It's not that it was horrible (although the shower came close) but rather that it wasn't what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jill Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our team at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa are delighted that you: • found the resort to have a 5 star beach which was a beautiful place to swim and hang out. Aroa Beach at The Rarotongan is a natural asset, one that we take great... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stayed one night here after 4 magic days on Atitutaki. We had a beach front room but the whole resort is dated and run down. It is a family resort but dirty in parts and the main dining room chaos, noisy and in need of maintenance. There is an adults only section to the resort which is better,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “dthomo” Thank you for taking the time to post your review in regards to your recent 1-night stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. After 4 magic days in Aitutaki it must have been disappointing to not have great weather in Rarotonga. Our beachfront rooms are located directly on Rarotonga's best snorkelling Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve so... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi, I loved staying at the The Rarotongan, The beach is absolutely amazing, we went snorkelling all day. The activity hut at the hotel had everything we needed (board shoes, snorkel equipment, paddles for stand up paddling, kajak and so on). Lots of fun activities anyhow - loved making the flower chains. We had a lovely garden room - real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “JuCamp” Greetings from Rarotonga! Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are absolutely ecstatic that we were able to play host to your memorable holiday! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff. They will certainly be... More

Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second visit to The Rarotongan and I was so disappointed with the lack of service that I will not return. We travelled as a group of 10 with 6 adults and four children, the youngest being two. We have been to Fiji and Samoa and are well accustomed to "island time" but this was ridiculous! There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Frances902” Thank you for taking the opportunity to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are pleased that you and your family group enjoyed our amazing beach location as well as the fantastic snorkelling in our Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve, which truly is unmatched. We also trust the... More

Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having heard from family and friends who have stayed here, and read some of the TripAdviser reports, we managed our own expectations in terms of the resort being a bit dated. In fact we chose this resort for that reason, we wanted to relax in comfortable but not ostentatious surroundings. We were not disappointed at all, in fact everything exceeded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “TrishAuckland” Greetings from laid back Rarotonga! Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review of your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort. We are absolutely thrilled that you chose The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your perfect island tropical holiday! The team at the resort are delighted that we were able... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Kid Club(16)
  • Great Place(6)
  • Very friendly(4)
  • Little bit(3)

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

515 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (464)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (109)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
156

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer