We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm Grove

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Grove
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palm Grove
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    123
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
247
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
glendale, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the most attractive resorts in the Cook Islands. Though not inexpensive it is moderately priced and an excellent value. Paul the "{Chef Du Village") does remarkable things with fish and chicken curries. Buy youre favorite catch at the local fish market and he will grfill it to perfection. The ambiencdfe is somewhat "Old Colonial Rorotonga.. Betwen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had such a wonderful week at Palm Grove. So pleased we opted for the beach front villa, if you're tossing up whether or not to spend the extra money, don't hesitate, we would have been sorely disappointed had we not. The resort is perfectly adequate, the staff are friendly and helpful. There were a couple of small issues with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this review

Kia Orana Joanne, Thank you very much for your review of Palm Grove! We're so pleased to hear you and Adrian enjoyed your stay, and we're very happy you loved the upgrade we provided to a Beachfront Studio! I apologize that you encountered some minor maintenance issues - we do wish you'd mentioned them to the office while you were... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beach front bungalows where amazing. Waking up to the splashing waves was idyllic. Very friendly staff. I would have been disappointed had we not spent the extra for the beach front bungalow though. Admin wise things were a touch disorganized, but ultimately good enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Relaxing - maybe too much so. The Good - Clean, well maintained, good kitchen facilities, friendly staff, pretty much rules free re; pool times etc., lovely location with great lagoon for snorkelling. The onsite "Yellow Hibiscus" serves well made, good food at competitive local prices. The Bad - Did not expect the many chickens all over the property, especially their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Crofton BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

In February, we spent 8 days at this hotel and we were not impressed. The Good: We arrived early in the mornig and our room was ready, so we were allowed in. We had room 1, which was close to the road, the office, the bar and the dining room. I groaned, but in fact it was a very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Christchurch
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

Our first trip to Rarotonga and it was beautiful right from when we landed and warmly greeted by the resort staff. We were visiting for a wedding and most of the guests were staying at Palm Grove as well. The service was amazing and they certainly made us feel like we were in paradise. I highly recommend the beach front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Caboolture Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed at the 3 bedroom beachfront villa at Palm grove during mid January for 5 days. The location is absolutely breathtaking. We loved the setting and the sun loungers right on our little patch of grass overlooking the water. The snorkelling straight out of the door was fantastic. We enjoyed the continental breakfast every morning at the yellow hibiscus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Following on from my husbands 'Unprofessional' review posted recently. It is nice to see you stick up for your staff but in doing so you are calling us liars. We did indeed end up paying for bbq night twice and it was not worth $140 which is what we ended up paying (in cash). I guess that will teach us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this review

Kia Orana Wendy, I’m sorry to see that you were not satisfied with my management response to your husband Jeff’s review. It’s very frustrating for me that neither you nor Jeff spoke to management while you were inhouse nor tried to contact us either before or after Jeff’s review was posted, despite me kindly asking you to do so in... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Restaurant average. Best to eat at Viama down the road. Check out coupon book at town information center. Great Music Entertainment on certain nights. Staff is excellent. Grocery store close by.Internet on whole island is poor. Need to be close to office or pool area to log on.Did not have to prepay anything just register for BBQ night. In the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

On our third trip to Rarotonga we stayed here . In general the bungalow was good . The television and the radio were only decoration as neither worked . Bed , pillows great . The admin side lets it all down . Our early checkin wasn't booked for us even though we paid . We paid to attend the bbq... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Palm Grove. We are certainly very pleased to hear you and Wendy enjoyed our bungalows, and in particular our premium superking beds, for which we repeatedly receive great feedback. However, it’s most disappointing to read your negative comments, especially as your two main complaints... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

345 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (327)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (72)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question