We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Country Cottage Hotel

Suttons Courtyard, Easthope Street, Ruddington, Nottingham NG11 6LA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Country Cottage Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the perfect venue for our wedding party in January 2016 to celebrate with our family and friends following a wedding in the Caribbean. Linda and all the hotel staff were welcoming and helpful on the day and leading up to this special event. The hotel is eclectic mix of rooms all giving a warm and friendly atmosphere to... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaneMuir24
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very proud of Linda, our Wedding Coordinator, who works very hard to ensure such special occasions run without a hitch. It is lovely to receive such positive feedback for her and our lovely staff. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you. More 

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel which really does resemble a country cottage. I love how all the various rooms are named instead of numbered. Every suite seems to have a very 'homely' feel with adequate facilities. The staff were very helpful, friendly and approachable. Breakfast was very customisable and straightforward when it came to ordering and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your freshly cooked breakfast so much. I will pass your kind comments on to our staff who always value positive feedback on their efforts. I hope we will see you again soon. More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was there for a 90th Birthday dinner for my gran in law. All staff were attentive, polite and made to feel welcome - at the same time leaving us to enjoy ourselves. Food was excellent. Altogether we had a wonderful time.

Helpful?
Thank Mini_Travellers
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It is very important to us that all our guests go away happy, particularly so when they are celebrating such a special occasion, and I am delighted you were so impressed with the food and service you received. I will be sure to pass on your comments to... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We have to agree with some of the other comments xmas dinner was poor. We liked the premises but felt for a xmas dinner the atmosphere was very impersonal, we sat on our own in a corner. The staff were very friendly and there were plenty of them ,our guess is that some were brought in for the day and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank vivlafrance
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and letting us know how you feel we could improve. I was pleased to hear you felt the service was enthusiatic and can only apologise if this lead to you feeling you were being rushed, I can assure you that we were here all day and all our guests were... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I went yesterday with a friend who chose this venue. I only saw the reception,bar and restaurant areas. We had Christmas lunch which we found very enjoyable. We were made very welcome and my friend was recognised as a previous customer. Yes, it has not been given a modern makeover, but was light and comfortable with plenty of space to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We were delighted you enjoyed your meal and postive feedback means a great deal to our staff. I hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Thank you again More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

To say we were disappointed is an understatement! This place is stuck in a 70's time warp. Food was below average, nothing seemed fresh all whipped from the freezer. No atmosphere, we played our own music on a phone and to add insult to injury whilst we were finishing our 'dessert' the waiter decided to change the tables for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hartson1
Susan M, Front Office Manager at The Country Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always welcome the opportunity to look at ways we might improve, though it is always helpful to mention any concerns to the waiting staff at the time so that we have the chance to put things right. It is a simple matter, for instance, to increase the volume of... More 

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

First the good bits, it was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, a buffet style cooked breakfast was nice, despite the plates being cold. But the quality of the rooms wasn’t what we hoped for. The bathroom door handle fell off every time it was closed, one of the bedroom lamps, bulb fell out, there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Bury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Haven't actually stayed here but did work there for 2 months.. Worst place I have ever worked. . The hotel maids are fantastic though. . There is no communication between staff managment Never pay staff on time.. 2 months in row.. not a hotel for the young as it is for much older people.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip to Nottingham. It had been described to me as 'staying with your granny'. My room was up on the 3rd floor, very steep staircase and low ceilings, so be aware if this is an issue. Very quaint wallpaper and bedding in my room, there was an adequate bathroom with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TracyA1203
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Location for me was good for where I needed to be(mere way business park). Not a luxurious place but sufficient for what I needed. Best thing I can say about this place is that all staff members were brilliant. Great service from all staff members.

Helpful?
Thank joedowney16
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruddington
2.6 mi away
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
#1 of 3 in West Bridgford
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham South Hotel
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
10.9 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay