We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Chesne

Le chene, 18310 Nohant-en-Gracay, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Chesne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau de Chesne
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Billingshurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

When we approached the hotel along it's driveway, my heart sank but once inside you get a feel for how this wonderful building used to be. It is run by a young couple who are very friendly but the building is in need of a serious cash injection. The towels and linen really should be renewed and some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was a wonderful stop for me. Beautiful bedroom, wonderful breakfast, great location for exploring but away from the highway. I actually liked the decor as opposed to some other reviews. I really had no complaints at all. The WiFi was also very good which mattered to me as I was traveling on my own.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The place was nice. I was travelling with my dad, so we took the junior suite. Perfect as it has a separate bedroom. The main room was fine, spacious, decor a bit too much but I guess it's the part of the look, but the was a general smell of old ness. The small bedroom was nothing. A tiny room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After stopping at the " chateau" there was no one home. Also note that this b&b is on the main road. The owners were not expecting us even though we booked well in advance. The one room had a terrible toilet smell and the sheets were not clean. After expressing our dissatisfaction we were encouraged to cancel our reservation. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Iff you want something a bit different on a run up or down France then I would recommend this location. It's a lovely chateau only a couple of minutes off the motorway in spacious grounds. It's all very authentic, the owner/staff were very helpful and attentive, we had a great breakfast and it has free wi-fi. A touch more expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meadows of Dan, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used it as a stop over to break up the return leg of our drive back to UK but will definitely stay longer next time. So much to see and beautiful surrounding countryside. Young dedicated owners. Spacious room, great drink service on the terrasse... A very lovely, non-commercialised B&B... well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

So expensive for what it offers ! If the rooms are ok, it should be noted that the hotel is located besides the A20 highway so that you can hear the cars running by when you are in the garden. The 38 euros dinner should be avoided as it is a very poor microwaved dinner with really nothing special, except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located near the main highway. More a manor house, not a castle and not a hotel but a Bed & Breakfast. Rather worn facilities. No restaurant, no pool, no credit-cards accepted either. Still priced at 130 Euro a night, which is too expensive for the limited facilities / services offered and the small uncomfortable bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chateaudechesne, Propriétaire at Chateau de Chesne, responded to this review

Dear sir, madam, Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't enjoyable. However, it is not true to say that we charge extra money for guests making early bookings, we do have last minute deals. and it is not the same... There is no micowave dinner and it is not a good idea to... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel is amazing - there's no other word to describe it. The wonderful couple who run it could not do enough to ensure our stay was fantastic. The meal and wine were simply wonderful and we could not have wished for a better stay. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Give it a try - it is more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

If you're travelling down the A20 to Perpignan, the Pyrenees or the Black Mountains, this is the perfect place to break the journey. It is charming, French, quiet, good value and - literally two minutes down a lane - from the Autoroute. Nothing to navigate and easy to find. You can eat there or if it has been a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nohant-en-Gracay
12.0 mi away
Hotel de la Cognette
Hotel de la Cognette
#1 of 5 in Issoudun
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
19.1 mi away
Relais Saint Jacques
Relais Saint Jacques
#2 of 17 in Chateauroux
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
12.4 mi away
Campanile Vierzon
Campanile Vierzon
#2 of 7 in Vierzon
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hotel Club Vacanciel La Ferte-Imbault
Hotel Club Vacanciel La Ferte-Im...
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Imbault
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Vierzon
Ibis Styles Vierzon
#1 of 7 in Vierzon
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Clos de la Fontaine - Massay Gites et Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay