We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Chesne

Le chene, 18310 Nohant-en-Gracay, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Chesne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau de Chesne
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was a wonderful stop for me. Beautiful bedroom, wonderful breakfast, great location for exploring but away from the highway. I actually liked the decor as opposed to some other reviews. I really had no complaints at all. The WiFi was also very good which mattered to me as I was traveling on my own.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The place was nice. I was travelling with my dad, so we took the junior suite. Perfect as it has a separate bedroom. The main room was fine, spacious, decor a bit too much but I guess it's the part of the look, but the was a general smell of old ness. The small bedroom was nothing. A tiny room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After stopping at the " chateau" there was no one home. Also note that this b&b is on the main road. The owners were not expecting us even though we booked well in advance. The one room had a terrible toilet smell and the sheets were not clean. After expressing our dissatisfaction we were encouraged to cancel our reservation. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Iff you want something a bit different on a run up or down France then I would recommend this location. It's a lovely chateau only a couple of minutes off the motorway in spacious grounds. It's all very authentic, the owner/staff were very helpful and attentive, we had a great breakfast and it has free wi-fi. A touch more expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meadows of Dan, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used it as a stop over to break up the return leg of our drive back to UK but will definitely stay longer next time. So much to see and beautiful surrounding countryside. Young dedicated owners. Spacious room, great drink service on the terrasse... A very lovely, non-commercialised B&B... well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

So expensive for what it offers ! If the rooms are ok, it should be noted that the hotel is located besides the A20 highway so that you can hear the cars running by when you are in the garden. The 38 euros dinner should be avoided as it is a very poor microwaved dinner with really nothing special, except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located near the main highway. More a manor house, not a castle and not a hotel but a Bed & Breakfast. Rather worn facilities. No restaurant, no pool, no credit-cards accepted either. Still priced at 130 Euro a night, which is too expensive for the limited facilities / services offered and the small uncomfortable bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chateaudechesne, Propriétaire at Chateau de Chesne, responded to this review

Dear sir, madam, Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't enjoyable. However, it is not true to say that we charge extra money for guests making early bookings, we do have last minute deals. and it is not the same... There is no micowave dinner and it is not a good idea to... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel is amazing - there's no other word to describe it. The wonderful couple who run it could not do enough to ensure our stay was fantastic. The meal and wine were simply wonderful and we could not have wished for a better stay. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Give it a try - it is more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury St Edmunds, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

If you're travelling down the A20 to Perpignan, the Pyrenees or the Black Mountains, this is the perfect place to break the journey. It is charming, French, quiet, good value and - literally two minutes down a lane - from the Autoroute. Nothing to navigate and easy to find. You can eat there or if it has been a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night with family at the start to a two week trip around France after some time in Paris in July. We arrived late afternoon and had arranged to have dinner at the Chateau that night and did not regret it. We all agreed that it was probably the best meal that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau de Chesne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chesne

Address: Le chene, 18310 Nohant-en-Gracay, France
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Cher > Nohant-en-Gracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Chesne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Chesne France/Nohant-En-Gracay

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay