We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Offers & Announcements
3x2!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    35
    4
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
28
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on family vacation to San Clemente and we had the chance to eat in this hotel. The restaurant is very good, clean and very comfortable. The service is quite slow but the food is good. We tried a huge "bandeja" for four persons with shrimps, squid and fish, it was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! it help us to improve every day! hope to have you back in the near future! Regards, Jessica More 

Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

We spent 4 nights, 5 days here and wished we would have stayed longer. We had the matrimonial suite which offered a kitchenette and living room, plenty of space with two separate patios. All the meals were beyond our expectations and the location was wonderful. Above all else was the service. Marcelo and Lis were so helpful, Marcelo with his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

John, Your review just brought me to tears! I am speechless and can only say thank you! You give us motivation to continue every day! hope you can visit us again, I would love to be your hosts personally jessica@palmazulecuador.com My warmest Regards, Jessica Meza More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I stayed at this hotel in Dec. 2014. I booked a three night stay but left after only one night. I tried to book a massage several times but was told there was no one available. I only received empty promises that someone would come eventually. The rooms were musty and the bed headrests and comforters had stains. The AC... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Ana, Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, I would like to hear more about it to see in which way we can fix it, please contact me at jessica@palmazulecuador.com. Best Regards, Jessica Meza More 

Sausalito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We came for the day & styed 4 nights. The friendly staff & excellent service was beyond our expectations .Watching the sunsets in the evenings & waking to the tropical birds were added treats. The town & local restaurants were just a few minutes walk. During the afternoons, we enjoyed visiting the nearby rice fields & excursion to "Bird Island".

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much John! hope you can visit us again in the near future! Jessica More 

Puerto Quito, Ecuador
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This hotel is the definition of pretencious, they call themselves a luxury design hotel but in reality, the only good thing is the food. The suites with 4 beds only have one bathroom with a shower no bigger than phone booth. The air conditioner didn´t work, they had to bring a portable one, but we called the reception like 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience Daniela. We remind to all our clients that our check in time is 14:00 and check out is 12:00, we are happy to keep you luggage in our storage if you arrive early as we explained to you, that weed was you cousin's wedding and with all the guests... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Thank you for everything! My wedding was amazing specially for the food and service! Rooms were comfort as well and all the family have a great time. Inés the Manager was really helpful and has a great spirit so you can feel relaxed and enjoy every single detail. San Clemente has a great weather... Sunny and a quiet beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sol, Les deseamos la mayor felicidad del mundo! Abrazos Jessica More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Rooms are good, they need some minor maintenance, especially sliding doors and curtains. The best thing is the service, all personnel are really polite, service oriented and follow-up on every request, food is great, but the pool and access to the beach get the highest marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Jessica More 

Quito, Ecuador
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My family and I arrived to this hotel with high expectations given the information provided about its services and amenities. It is a nice hotel, located at the beautiful beach of San Clemente which I have not visited in at least 30 years, I am glad to see that it is still more or less as I remember it. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmazul, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Gabriela, Thank you for your comments! we are going to take them into consideration and fix everything you mentioned. Regarding the filming we are sorry you had a bad experience, as the filming crew took just a couple of minutes in an specific spot of the beach where they asked not to be interrupted but the rest of the area... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Excellent service, great value for what you get. Beach is literally a few feet away from the hotel/pool. Very good food. The best of all, staff could not be friendlier, I've been to 5 star hotels and never experienced this kind of courtesy and attention. I am giving 4 stars to rooms just because they need to add some mosquito... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmazul, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such an amazing review! it makes our work worth and our days happier! please come back! this is your house! Regards, Jessica More 

quito
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good but they need to care for DETAIL. The day I stayed there, the hotel was empty but they put me in the smallest room of all. And believe me: the room was so small that the bed barely fit in there. Don't they know that every night a room is empty is a night lost forever?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Palmazul, Owner at Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt uncomfortable at Palmazul, we hope you visit us again and experience improvements. Best Regards, Jessica More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
19.9 mi away
Canoa Beach Hotel
Canoa Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Piedra Hotel
La Piedra Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
20.0 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
11.5 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 4 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay