We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pooley Bridge Inn

Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pooley Bridge Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    121
    66
    35
    32
    31
See reviews for
73
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
carlisle
Level Contributor
223 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ideal for families, couples, or romantic stop. Earthy atmosphere inside, with bare wooden farm tables and big fireplace; car park good size; and free treats for the children. The range of meals was excellent, and generous portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

7 of us ate here for two nights in a row. Food took a little while to come as per other reviews, however not a really long time considering how busy the place was. The food was lovely especially the lamb which was the best we have ever tasted! Would definitely eat here again and would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked in for 2 nights in excellent twin room. Wonderfully comfortable beds after walking each day! Very clean and comfortable room and ensuite. The hotel was quite busy with families being holiday season. Very friendly and helpful staff, Lots of smiley faces. Food was beautifully presented and very large portions. I had Lamb Chump chop, mint mash and just right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for lunch on Sunday as a party of 9 (and the dog). Located in the centre of Pooley Bridge, it is very popular, and especially as the weather was good, it was very busy, which is always a good sign. Food ordered and arrived quickly and all of us loved it, especially the roast lamb, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled with a friend and her daughter (4), taking a family room for two nights. The room was comfortable and clean, the towels soft and fluffy and the en-suite shower room was also clean. The staff were willing but heavily overworked and not very experienced so that any request caused consternation, although things were always sorted out in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend we visit lakevalley and after one jurney we turn up in Pooley Bridge Inn. Pub at first was ok and staff friendly we did turn up before kitchen has been open so we did get drinks and we did order first on the doors open, starters came very quickly and has been what we been expecting,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

I would first like to appologise for your experience not being a good one, and the wait on the food. However I will point out that our food is fresh and not froze. During our peak periods our hardworking staff work tirelessly to ensure every customer is served and fed within an acceptable time, im sorry on this occassion we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pooley Bridge hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just been in todAy for lunch our food was nowhere near hot enough (82 for reheat) we are now both suffering from pains in our tums also saw a customer take cutlery back to trays as was dirty having handled it and leave it for other folk not picked up by staff. Also told staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

I would first like to appologise that you had a bad experience here. Our Staff work tirelessly expecially at peak periods serving thousands of customers a week and try our very best to ensure every customer is treated the same and has a great time at our establishment, It is clear this time you did not. The pies will have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Just got back from our 5th stay at the pooley bridge inn. Was so dissapointed this time. Drinks were dear £6.40 for a glass of coke and a beer. The menu was rubbish. The rooms were lovely as always but tv kept going fuzzy so couldnt watch it all the time of our stay. The shower trickled out water! And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here. Unfortunatly it appears you did not enjoy your time due to the television and wi-fi, due to our location In the great outdoors we cannot always ensure that technology will be working, fibre optic has not quite reached us yet. Im sure if you had... More 

WIGAN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Called in last night 18 July for a pint, saw the food and liked the look of the fish and chips and have to say I have never had better anywhere. That and the great service from the staff turned having a beer into having a great evening. Thanks to all at the Pooley bridge Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it and thank you for the staff recognition we are glad you enjoyed your evening here. We hope to see you again in the future,. Kind Regards Heather More 

East Boldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Our last night in Pooley Bridge we reserved a meal. The meal was the best we had had all week and we tried a new restaurant every night. The Burgers,Pie and goulash were amazing and the service from a very young team was excellent.I told the supervisor I was going to do this so she will know who I am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
1.4 mi away
Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.1 mi away
Elm House
Elm House
#2 of 5 in Pooley Bridge
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities