We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 343, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers
The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers
The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers to your Saves list

At a glance

98%
Positive reviews?

HOTEL PHOTOS

The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers
Professional photos
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a short (2 nights) but very pleasant stay at the Aardvark, good atmosphere, care in every detail, knowledgeable hosts, sumptuous breakfast. Garden beautiful and fitting for visitors with kids. Our son even got a present for his 10th birthday! And to top it off: Hazel's, the neighboring restaurant serves excellent food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a rondavel at the Aardvark. Both the room and the communal kitchen were clean, the bed was comfortable and we found the owner and staff very friendly. If the weather is nice, there is also a pleasant outside area. If you are planning on visiting in winter keep in mind that the rondavel can get quite cold,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked online and had no expectations when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised with the high standards and fantastic hospitality. Thank you so much. After staying in a few different accommodations for our roadtrip this is one that we will come back to again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Storms River, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Neat well maintained property. Very handy for Addo main gate. Some lovely unexpected extras in the rondavel - such as biscuits, own fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Super hot water. Comfy bed. Pleasant hosts. Felt safe and comfortable. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed in the camp site and enjoyed the huge clean bathrooms and well equipped kitchen with ample space for everybody. The shower is a treat with home made shower heads! Very original and effective for a wonderful shower! The property is well maintained and communal areas are always clean and tidy. The owners are willing to go the extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AardvarkAddo, Owner at The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments, much appreciated. Hope to see you soon again. The Aardvark Team More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I feel this place has been dragged through the mud unnecessarily the past few months, as some of the poor reviews lately could not be further from the truth. We were a little apprehensive at first as some reviewers had mentioned cockroaches which would give the impression that the place might be a bit dirty. They could not be more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AardvarkAddo, Owner at The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanx for the review. Hope to see you again soon, in Addo or Pretoria. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

What a beautiful location. The owners Claude and Daniel were very friendly and gave helpful tips about the Addo Elephant Park. The rooms were beautifully furnished and each room had amazing paintings painted by Claude. The venue was very clean - the cleanest backpackers I've ever been to. Prices are really good for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AardvarkAddo, Owner at The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your time with us. The Aardvark Team More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I'm very serious About The marks i gave The aardvark! My parents And i really Enjoyed our stay at the Aardvark. Very clean, very Nice people, also The owners are very friendly, love the bungalows they are perfect! the best stay in South Africa from all The hostels b&b etc. we have been. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

after a long trip, we were met by a VERY unfriendly french speaking lady. She showed us the tents (false advertising as tented camp) and it was cockroach infested!!! Towels looked like you can just use it as floor cloths. Dirty kitchen put us off further. will not recommend it to anybody and it was a good thing it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AardvarkAddo, Owner at The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear niekie2015, thank you for taking time to tell us about your feelings, every feedback helps us to improve our service. Ou records show that you had booked one of the safari tent for 1 night, the booking site you used clearly states what you will get, there are also self explanatory pictures. At checking-in, you were greeted by the... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in late December as a family of three. Expected budget basic accomodation, found very cosy, clean and beautifully located set of buildings surrounded by charming huge garden. Loved artistic details in decoration. The restaurant Hazel's right next door is a hidden gem as well. Both places highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AardvarkAddo, Owner at The AardVark Guesthouse and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanx for your comment. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please remember to stop by next time you are in the area. All the best. The Aardvark Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.0 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
Avoca River Cabins
0.0 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#3 of 9 in Addo
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#13 of 21 in Addo
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay