We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Offers & Announcements
Free scooter or car hire
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    121
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Sunhaven three years ago and could not speak highly enough of the place, recommending it to friends with rave reviews. This year we finally made it back, after talking about going back for the last three years. We travelled with friends after telling them how great this place was. Unfortunately this trip was not great. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Karen C, I’m sorry you were unhappy with your second holiday at Sunhaven. We try to ensure all our guests leave here happy and looking forward to their next trip back. After enquiring directly with us for your favoured room category it appears you then booked through a travel agent at a lower price but also in a... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful views and spotlessly clean. Great little freshwater pool. Right on the beach with complimentary kayaks. Good snorkelling just 10 minutes walk along the beach. Patti and Dennis were great hosts, and all staff were friendly. Highly recommended. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Leigh R, Yes the views from Sunhaven are for certain picture postcard quality. Just like the pictures in the glossy travel magazines. You appear to have had a good time during your holiday with us enjoying all we have to offer and I trust we met all your expectations. Thank you for your review and high recommendation. We... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for eight nights, Patti & Dennis are attentive hosts. Ali is a very helpful staff member. Rooms are clean and tidy. TV is not good the reception is terrible. The pool is good and walks along the beach also very nice. The free use of the kayaks was a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jean W, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read you found Sunhaven to your liking and seem to have enjoyed your time here. I agree with you about TV but I would add that if the reception was terrible you must have been watching the Vaka channel that, while having the better, albeit older programing, has... More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We can't speak highly enough of the service and cleaniness of this accomodation. We originally booked our holiday for 8 nights and ended up staying 14 nights. First staying in bungalow 3 then changing our minds and deciding to stay on, so with the help of Dennis and Shari, we got sorted to move to unit 5 for another 6... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Donal & Janice, Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review. We are very happy you enjoyed yourselves so much the first eight nights that you extended your stay another six and got to experience two of our room types. If you do come back for another memorable holiday, and we hope you do, it... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We went for our wedding and my 50th birthday on the 11th of March. I've been to Rarotonga 20years ago and stayed in Muri but am so glad we found this place. All the rooms are pretty much right on the beach we had a beachfront bungalow. It was really spacious very clean and relaxing. The weather was not very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kris R. One wouldn't call your wedding ‘shotgun’ but it was double barreled all the same. To be married on your 50th birthday was nicely thought out. I hope you got some really good photos of your special occasion. We’re very happy to have provided you with the setting for your big day and everything was to your... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We are frequent travellers to Rarotonga, and have stayed at several places, but never the bigger resorts (that is not us!). We believe the west side of the island offers the best place to stay and with the Island being so accessible by scooters or cars you can enjoy the whole island at leisure. We had visited Sunhaven before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Gayle A, I’m with you; the west side of Rarotonga is the best place to stay. Leeward (sheltered) facing with amazing tropical sunsets. Also heaps of restaurants close by and not far from town. We’re glad you enjoyed your holiday at Sunhaven and found us to be “an excellent choice”. Thank you for your review. We look forward... More 

Greytown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed at Sunhaven for 7 days mid September 2014. First went to Rarotonga 7 years ago and were disappointed in our accommodation at the Edgewater. We discovered Sunhaven then and vowed if we ever came back that this is where we would stay. We came back, as everyone does, and had a wonderful holiday. Denis and Patti are really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Lesley B, How come I didn’t get a hug?! Yes seeing whales from your room is surely a magical experience. How many places in the world can you do that? The reason there was no salty film on your windows is because we clean them weekly or straight after bad weather. Most places don’t bother to do that... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We recently stayed at Sunhaven as my husband was doing the 10k road race. We picked Sunhaven due to 1) child-free(!!!) 2) great reviews 3) pictures on website. Well, we weren't disappointed, thanks to Patti, Dennis, Shari and Ali whose fantastic customer service, friendliness and attention to detail made our stay a delight! Rooms were fastidiously clean with beautiful fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana JayneJ, Blackie must have taken a shine to you. Generally he’s very shy and nervous around strangers. You must be “cat people”. It’s pleasing to read that you had an “awesome” stay with us and that you are already planning a return holiday. Thanks a bunch for your review and we await to see you again next year.... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We stayed for 12 nights and wished we had booked for more. We were in need of a relax and recharge holiday and could not have picked a more suitable place. The staff are really friendly and hard working, they keep the rooms and grounds looking immaculate. Would most definitely return when relaxing is required - we loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana lights325, Twelve nights and wishing for more! You really must have been relaxed. I’m glad we helped you achieve your needs. We’ll look forward to your return when next you require a recharge in "Paradise". Thanks a lot for your review. We really value your input. Kia Manuia, Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald. More 

Levin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

forth visit to rarotonga second time staying at sunhaven .it has to be the best resort on the island great pool, top quality rooms management and staff treat guests like royalty. this resort is always kept immaculate insde the bungalows and also the grounds .the quality of this resort is proven by the people who return time after time .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rod N, Thanks a lot for your review and high praise. We love to read about our guests return visits to Sunhaven and how much they enjoy coming back each time. It tells us we’re delivering our product to the highest standard and maintaining a high level of guest satisfaction. Looking forward to seeing you next time and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay