We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free scooter or car hire
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Professional photos View all
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We are frequent travellers to Rarotonga, and have stayed at several places, but never the bigger resorts (that is not us!). We believe the west side of the island offers the best place to stay and with the Island being so accessible by scooters or cars you can enjoy the whole island at leisure. We had visited Sunhaven before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Gayle A, I’m with you; the west side of Rarotonga is the best place to stay. Leeward (sheltered) facing with amazing tropical sunsets. Also heaps of restaurants close by and not far from town. We’re glad you enjoyed your holiday at Sunhaven and found us to be “an excellent choice”. Thank you for your review. We look forward... More 

Greytown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed at Sunhaven for 7 days mid September 2014. First went to Rarotonga 7 years ago and were disappointed in our accommodation at the Edgewater. We discovered Sunhaven then and vowed if we ever came back that this is where we would stay. We came back, as everyone does, and had a wonderful holiday. Denis and Patti are really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Lesley B, How come I didn’t get a hug?! Yes seeing whales from your room is surely a magical experience. How many places in the world can you do that? The reason there was no salty film on your windows is because we clean them weekly or straight after bad weather. Most places don’t bother to do that... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We recently stayed at Sunhaven as my husband was doing the 10k road race. We picked Sunhaven due to 1) child-free(!!!) 2) great reviews 3) pictures on website. Well, we weren't disappointed, thanks to Patti, Dennis, Shari and Ali whose fantastic customer service, friendliness and attention to detail made our stay a delight! Rooms were fastidiously clean with beautiful fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana JayneJ, Blackie must have taken a shine to you. Generally he’s very shy and nervous around strangers. You must be “cat people”. It’s pleasing to read that you had an “awesome” stay with us and that you are already planning a return holiday. Thanks a bunch for your review and we await to see you again next year.... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We stayed for 12 nights and wished we had booked for more. We were in need of a relax and recharge holiday and could not have picked a more suitable place. The staff are really friendly and hard working, they keep the rooms and grounds looking immaculate. Would most definitely return when relaxing is required - we loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana lights325, Twelve nights and wishing for more! You really must have been relaxed. I’m glad we helped you achieve your needs. We’ll look forward to your return when next you require a recharge in "Paradise". Thanks a lot for your review. We really value your input. Kia Manuia, Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald. More 

Levin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

forth visit to rarotonga second time staying at sunhaven .it has to be the best resort on the island great pool, top quality rooms management and staff treat guests like royalty. this resort is always kept immaculate insde the bungalows and also the grounds .the quality of this resort is proven by the people who return time after time .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rod N, Thanks a lot for your review and high praise. We love to read about our guests return visits to Sunhaven and how much they enjoy coming back each time. It tells us we’re delivering our product to the highest standard and maintaining a high level of guest satisfaction. Looking forward to seeing you next time and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Loved: Super clean - believe all the other reviews, this place is spotless. Quiet - no roosters crowing, no dogs barking, no traffic, just the sound of waves to send you to a blissful sleep. Room was large with a full kitchen and everything needed to self-cater. Nice deck to watch the sun set. Easy distance to main town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Zen Tourist, Thank you for your high recommendation and feedback. We really appreciate the candid views of our guests. It definitely helps others to decide where they want to spend their holiday on Rarotonga. Some people like a firm bed whereas others like a soft one to snuggle into. It’s really a personal thing. Our beds aren’t all... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a few days and loved the beautiful scenery right outside our bungalow. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Not a great beach for wading and swimming though because there is more reef than sand on that side of the island. Overall though, if you want peace and quiet and beautiful sunsets, this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana JOv2014, Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. It’s very much appreciated. Approximately 500 metres of lagoon separate the actual reef from the white sand beach itself. Waves constantly crashing on the reef break off small pieces of coral and wash them into the lagoon. The reef and lagoon are what protects the shoreline from the crashing waves.... More 

Udon Thani
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I am not one for writing reviews unless extremely dissatisfied or very happy. I recently spent 8 days and nights staying at the Sunhaven Beach Bungalows in Raro. The place is set on a nice beach looking out onto the ocean. We had a great view from our Bungalow. It has all the facilities you require to enjoy your holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Philip B, Well that’s a fishing story with a difference. Patti sure didn’t want your fishy clothes messing up her clean room did she? She really appreciated the lovely flowers you gave her. Thank you for that. We’re glad you enjoyed your 8 days with us and look forward to seeing you again for more fishing stories. Four... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our second visit to Rarotonga and our 1st time at the Sunhaven Bungalows and we were both amazed. Beautiful clean and relaxing beach feel, with all the amenities. Large open plan lounge/kitchen, decent size bathroom, decent sized bedroom and very comfortable bed. Wood/bamboo furniture which was in a great condition and the kitchen was well looked after and provided us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Conor O, Thank you for your fabulous feedback. It’s pleasing to hear that you were both amazed with our ‘beach paradise’ and that you found your room and amenities all you needed for your six nights with us. Yes the vista from the balcony is certainly a sight to remember, especially at sunset and for early morning breakfast... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our third visit to Rarotonga and we would never stay anywhere else that Sunhaven Beach Bungalows. 9 glorious nights of nothing but relaxation! The bungalow was, as always, cleaned everyday to perfection with beautiful fresh flowers. Great snorkling gear to use and thanks to Dennis for organising our scooter for us before our arrival. We had the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Kia Orana Sally W, Third time and counting! That’s the positive feedback we love to get from our happy return guests. It means we are fulfilling our goal to maintain the highest level of customer care and satisfaction. So glad you had the best of three holidays at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows and we will endeavor to make that “the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby