We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Chapel Lawn Road, Bucknell, England
Special Offer
Save £5 per Room Night
The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 3 Bucknell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
mikethebike100 London
Add Your Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Baron at Bucknell the night before a rally test at nearby Sweet Lamb and was really impressed with the whole set-up. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, clean and modern with everything you could ask for. As you often get with family-run businesses, the service was great throughout our short stay. I needed to be on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed on the camping field in our caravan lovely view of the inn at night when all lit up .phil and his wife debra made our stay .we ate in the inn the food was very tasty homemade we also had drinks the regulars made us feel welcome realy sad to be going home but we will be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We went for a walk along Offa's Dyke On Friday the 2nd Jan. The two of us arrived at the Baron and left the car. We walked to the train station, caught the 9:43 to Knighton and walked back (Waling with Offa Route 11). Had a packed lunch on the surrounding hills takling in the breathtaking views and got back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Ideal location not too far from Ludlow - we stayed on the way to North Wales and were very impressed with fit out of the bedrooms ( no expenses spaired high quality wood doors etc ...... ) . Both our dinner and breakfast was of high standard and staff / service were excellent .I would certainly recommend The Baron to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Had a most enjoyable stay here recently. Accommodation, food and hospitality were all first rate. The hotel is situated in a picturesque valley surrounded by numerous walks for all abilities. Would definitely stay here again. A fraction of the cost of Ludlow yet with all the charm and facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

After a hard day of cycling the ups and downs of the Welsh borders this place was the most welcoming of any on our weeks trip in the saddle. Great rooms fitted to the highest standards, and the only place I've ever stayed where the owner has asked whether we wanted the beds made up as superkingsized or as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Llanelli
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully set among the Shropshire hills near the Welsh border. The Baron seems naturally to combine immaculate standards with the most enjoyable of stays. The bedrooms, public rooms, gardens and indeed the whole place is demonstrably so well kept. It's family run and the three generations add to the charm. Dinner in the restaurant featuring a mill workings centrepiece was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were a party of 9 staying for a 50th birthday celebration so occupied all of the rooms at the inn. The accommodation was excellent - the rooms were very clean and comfortable and looked recently refurbished (and to a high standard). Our meal at the Mill restaurant was delicious and the service very good. Breakfast the following morning was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brum
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night to be local for a friend's wedding. The refurbishment of what was the function room into the bedrooms is very well done. Beautiful beams, deep set barn windows, comfy bed and chunky modern, wooden furniture. Rooms were immaculately serviced and tastefully decorated (we were in number 4 which actually felt more spacious than the photos led... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We spent two nights here last week and were disappointed with the standard of the food and service.The bedroom was perfectly adequate. The surrounding countryside is beautiful,and the pub is in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil W, Owner at The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef), responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed with the standard of our food and service. You may have been expecting a more formal dining experience and fine dining food which may be why we did not meet your expectations. We try to describe our offering accurately on our website and copies of our menu are available... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question