We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Monkerai hotels

Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

311 Upper Monkerai Road, Monkerai, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkerai
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014
Belinda T Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    31
    20
    17
See reviews for
38
54
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
There are newer reviews for Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Saratoga NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had booked and paid for a 2 night stay through Groupon but only stayed for one night due to the following reasons. The "boutique"accommodation was 1970s decor and facilities- very cramped, dark and unpleasant to stay in. The service from the office to bar and restaurant was substandard. We always felt as though we were interrupting them. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi JOE582014, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The service you have described at our restaurant and bar is not to our usual standard, and I will discuss your experience with the rest of our team. A few points I would like to cover in regard... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I booked a spa cabin for two, it was the romance package. Upon arrival I was sent to room 11. Upon entering room 11 I was met with utter disappointment. The big bed that was advertised was nothing more than a cheap motel style double bed. The room was so small I could almost reach the door from the bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
KathT4994, Event Coordinator at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Bela G, as we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. I can empathise with your disappointment on discovering that you had booked a spa room instead of the spa cabin that you thought you had booked, and I’m sorry that you are unhappy with the way that your complaint was handled, although you... More

Travelers are raving about these Monkerai hotels

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After some difficulties and miscommunication on emails when booking, my Husband and I stayed at this lovely location to get away from all the hustle and bustle. There was plenty of bird life around to sit and watch and pass the time and little to no mobile reception. We stayed in a Riverside spa cabin, although with the surrounding tress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi Belinda T, Thanks for taking the time to reivew our business. We appreciate your honest reiview. I'll definitely address the issues that you've raised, with the rest of the team. A new executive chef has joined our team recently, so check out our new menu next time you visit. Glad to hear you over all enjoyed your stay. It... More

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is just divine. Beautiful location, efficient, invisible staff, very quiet. No phone reception so really felt we were away from the city. We turned up and had a gorgeous bbq, splendid company with other guests. We were all looking forward to the Christmas in July Dinner that everyone was attending. We checked into our really nice comfy rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sugarsugarsugarsugar, Thanks for taking the time to review our business. We appreciate your honesty. I'm sorry the Winter Christmas dinner didn't live up to expectations. It sounds like your experience at the restaurant was really not up to our usual standards. I think it's worth noting that it was good that you discussed this with us at the time.... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This resort has a fantastic location and a very attractive website - my friend and I were looking forward to spending two nights at this resort. The (twin) room was clean but very cramped, especially the bathroom which was a tiny 3-way; there were two dining chairs but no table (not that there was room for a table); we couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We camped Easter Long Weekend with our kids and bullmastiff. The site was beautiful, it's great for dogs, excellent views, nice river and great hosts! Negatives - closest amenities was bunk house: small showers, awe full water pressure and toilets ran out of paper daily. But that did not discourage us, so many positives - barn dance was awesome, horse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
54 hotel reviews
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

There are not many pet-friendly resorts around and this certainly is one of them. Dogs of every shape and size were made welcome. Funnily enough we didn't bring our dog but will certainly do so next time. There were four of us plus a baby in two rooms and we loved the rustic, easy-going atmosphere. The restaurant is very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We chose Riverwood Downs because it was pet friendly and we are not intrepid campers. This place was ideal. The camping area was excellent, with taps and bins within meters of all sites. The amenities were excellent, although I wouldn't like to go there in peak times. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We only had morning teas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I purchased the cudo 3 night voucher and stayed 21-24 April with our families (2 adults and 2 kids 7 and 5 in each family). I read previous reviews and looked at their website so I knew that the place would not be luxurious. I was actually presently surprised with how much fun we all had enjoying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to find phone arrangement to honour $80 accommodation voucher a mistake by them, which they acknowledged. Refused to budge on any aspect despite us being the ONLY lodge guests that night. Campsites and cabins had very few there, less than 3. We were only ones at restaurant for dinner and again no other guests appeared for breakfast. Average room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Address: 311 Upper Monkerai Road, Monkerai, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Monkerai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Hotel Monkerai

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay