We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Sequoia High Sierra Camp to your Saves list
65745 Big Meadow Rd (FS 13S11), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Free on Wednesday!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sequoia High Sierra Camp
See the most recent reviews
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Though SHSC likely began as a luxury camping experience, now the owners are cutting corners in a big way, even though rates are up 20% from last year. Plusses: Incredible location. Far from the madding crowd. Warm friendly helpful staff. Good food. Plenty of hot water. Showers open to sky. Minuses: Despite advertising claims, do not expect luxury. Everything is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SHSCCamper, owner at Sequoia High Sierra Camp, responded to this review

-towels are not from Costco, but from a hotel supply company as is the linen. It is high thread count. -water us from our well, pure passing quarterly laboratory tests. -the food is not from Costco. We get our food from a national food supplier who comes up the mountain twice a week. -all food is made from scratch on... More

california
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We were looking for a fun escape from our work lives. We did not find that here. Summary: I will not return Staff: Terrific and helpful. The food was amazing. Price: Expensive at $500/night for my wife and me. Includes food but not wine. Management: Extremely unprofessional and unwelcoming experience Food: Exceptional Accommodations: Pretty good, in a decent location; but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
SHSCCamper, Manager/Owner at Sequoia High Sierra Camp, responded to this review

Appropriate behavior is expected from our guests. We did have to address the behavior of one group of guests last summer because they were disturbing everyone else staying at the camp. More

CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

We had read about the High Sierra Camp in Sunset Magazine and decided to give it a try. We fit the magazine's description of the perfect prospect for the camp - former backpackers who'd grown used to luxury. We found the camp a wonderful vacation. The gourmet dinners were a wonder, the comraderie of the campers enjoyable, the welcoming iced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

A friend and I , both avid hikers, felt that Sequoia High Sierra Camp combined the best of two worlds: the serenity of an isolated backcountry tent camp along with luxurious comforts and fine cuisine. And it was only a one-mile hike from where we parked the car at the end of the paved road to reach our eco-friendly camp.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Just got back from a weekend with friends to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday at the Sequoia High Sierra Camp. We went up with 5 other couples and everyone has raved about what an amazing weekend they had. The location is breathtaking. The camp was great. I can't tell you how wonderful it is to return from a 7 hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoodSleeper
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

What a lost opportunity the owners of this accommodation have assumed. The property itself is beautiful, the food and Rome-imported chef amazing, but....definitely overpriced for the quality of the sleeping quarters and a few other aspects: 1. The "Queen Beds" are, to begin with, NOT Queen mattresses, but simply two very uncomfortable Twin bed mattresses pushed together, allowing for one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Los Angeles
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We just got back from a weekend stay at the camp. Everything started out great--weather, initial contact and welcome from staff, first dinner Friday night where we indulged in an excellent meal and had the chance to meet some new friends. The food overall, especially dinner, is what truly makes this place. And for that, we were not let down,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
SHSCCamper, Owner/Manager at Sequoia High Sierra Camp, responded to this review

There are two sides to every story. Appropriate behavior is an expectation of our guests, and when there are multiple complaints about extremely intoxicated guests that are keeping them up LATE into the night screaming and yelling, and when those guests are asked several times (to no avail) to please be respectful of the other guests, the Camp's management did... More

Mission viejo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I found this camp in Sunset magazine. It was recommended by Sunset. I went last weekend and had a terrible time. The tent was not bug/critter proof. The tent was not flush with the cement floor. The shutters on each side of the tent did NOT have a screen. Large black flies and mosquitos were inside my tent. The main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I would definitely not recommend this location to any travelers. We encountered the following challenges: 1. Overflowing outhouse 2. Non bug proof tents 3. Overbearing owners Our tent was located a steep quarter mile uphill from the dining hall and flush toilet facility and the outhouse located within 100 feet was overflowing! The tents were nicely adorned but were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SHSCCamper, Manager/Owner at Sequoia High Sierra Camp, responded to this review

There are two sides to every story. Appropriate behavior is an expectation of our guests, and when there are multiple complaints about extremely intoxicated guests that are keeping them up LATE into the night screaming and yelling, and when those guests are asked several times (to no avail) to please be respectful of the other guests, the Camp's management did... More

UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed here over a long weekend. Loved the location, the food and the company. It was pricey but we felt the weekend was worth it for what we got. The local walks all require a certain dedication that our teenagers lacked which meant that we had to drive and then walk. However we really enjoyed walk to Weaver Lake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sequoia High Sierra Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sequoia High Sierra Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia High Sierra Camp

Address: 65745 Big Meadow Rd (FS 13S11), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Sequoia High Sierra Camp Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park with
any amenities

Amenities

Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sequoia High Sierra Camp offers a rare opportunity to explore the spectacular background of California's Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Parks – while enjoying the deluxe furnishings, guest amenities and friendly hospitality that are hallmarks of this secluded mountain retreat. You can experience the parks like no other hotel or lodge in the area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sequoia High Sierra Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer