We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Mammoth Cave National Park hotels

Mammoth Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Mammoth Cave National Park, Mammoth Cave National Park, KY 42259-0027
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (202)
  • Photos (49)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • More
Mammoth Cave Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mammoth Cave National Park
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    76
    63
    30
    10
See reviews for
98
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The terrace rooms are old and have the bare minimum in amenities. But our room was clean and all are located on the park grounds. Our purpose for visiting the park was to walk the trails and go through the cave. So the fact that the rooms did not have state of the art equipment did not bother us. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Mammoth Cave National Park. Staying in the park is the ideal way to enjoy all activities here from cave tours to hikng trails to bicycle trails, etc. Please come back to visit us again, in the near future. More

Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel may be vintage, but it is clean, has plenty of hot water and the beds are comfortable. We stayed on the second floor in the back and had a wonderful view of the Heritage trail. I will agree that the AC is a little weak. We could not connect to WiFi in our room, but it was available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay at Mammoth Cave National Park. We are very pleased that your stay was enjoyable, and we pride ourselves on our Southern Hospitality. Although we great appreciate all comments and concerns, we really like hearing that we are doing our best to help your visit be the best it can be. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is vintage, and it's in the middle of a national park. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a fridge, tv and coffee maker but no room phone or wi-fi. Air conditioning was a little weak it barely kept room at 72 when it was 90 outside. We had a balcony with a great view of the woods. Any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on our Mammoth Cave operation. We greatly appreciate all comments and concerns on our operation here and really enjoy hearing that we are doing our best to make your vacation an enjoyable and rememberable one. More

Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were extraordinarily disappointed with the "Sunset Terrace" strip of rooms. #317 has a cracked bathroom window; bathroom interior is very dirty on the walls and door. Wall-mounted AC unit is very loud. Room had an unpleasant smell. We put our parents in #318, supposedly ADA-compliant. First, there is no ramp whatsoever from the parking lot to the entire strip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and concerns about your stay in Mammoth Cave National Park. Although your stay was not a good one, we appreciate all comments about our operation so that we may improve where it is needed. More

Vassar, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved the location, the atmosphere, and the wild life. It is in the perfect location to enjoy all parts of the park. We loved sitting outside our room in the evening and early morning watching the deer, turkey's and squirrels. The animals come right up by you. They are beautiful. It was great to be able to walk everywhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your stay in Mammoth Cave National Park. We appreciate all comments and concerns about our operation. And we really appreciate those who enjoy the park and it's natural setting. Please come visit us again and have a great day. More

Newark, DE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mammoth Cave Hotel has 2 buildings. The 100 and 200 numbered rooms are a 2 story building attached to the Visitors Center. The 300 numbered rooms (The Sunset Terrace Rooms) are in separate one story building on the other end of the parking lot that backs to the River Styx Spring Trail. We were in the Sunset Terrace (300)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our lodging facilities as well as the food in our dining area. It is nice to have people come and understand that we do not and in all reality can not provide a 4 star hotel in a National Park. We are here to help... More

Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a very nice setting however that's about it. The rooms are very outdated and the carpet could be over 30 years old. It's conveniently located by the caves however I still would not stay here again. Cave City is very close and a few hotels are located there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry that your visit to Mammoth Cave Hotel was not what you were expecting. It is true that the lodging units are on let's say the retro end of lodging. We do keep up with any maintenance problems and our housekeeping is excellent. We do appreciate any and all comments, both good and bad. And we hope... More

Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me say I did not stay at this hotel. But I did use their dog kenneling facilities and stayed at the campsite up the road. I was able to rent a kennel for 4 hours while I took a tour of the cave. I was worried at first just leaving my dog for that long. We were expecting rain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on our pet kennels. We know how people love their pets and that they want them to be with them to enjoy the vacation experience. Therefore, we try our best to help out with the kennels. As you know and have stated, these are self-service kennels in where you have your own 8 foot by... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location but needs serious renovation. Although the shower was good, the bathroom was small. The room had two dead insects on the floor. The carpet was dirty, well worn, and was ripping up on the edge. The sheets were so thin that you could see the mattress pad underneath. The halls were dirty with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and concerns. We can not, at this time because of the season, do any major renovation. However, we do pride ourselves on the housekeeping, and apologize for bugs found in your room. The housekeeping supervisor is aware of this and will be happy to instruct your staff on doing better. We ask that you... More

San Jose
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

PROS: Location is right next to the visitor center and the start of all the tours. Restaurant and cafe can be good; Rooms a decent value CONS: small rooms, smoking stations close to buildings, uninterested staff, rooms can be moldy, Wifi only in small area of main lobby, no cell service DETAILS: Stayed for a couple of days while touring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne P, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay in Mammoth Cave National Park. We appreciate all comments and concerns about our operations. We will share this with all of our key staff and use it to try and improve where we can. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mammoth Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mammoth Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Cave Hotel

Address: Mammoth Cave National Park, Mammoth Cave National Park, KY 42259-0027
Location: United States > Kentucky > Mammoth Cave National Park
Also Known As:
Hotel Mammoth Cave

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mammoth Cave Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer