We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kantishna Air Taxi, Box 46, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Hotel amenities
Skyline Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at Skyline Lodge with a group of friends for our yearly adventure trip. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The accommodations were just rustic enough for us to know we were out in the wilderness. The food was great every night and the fresh picked blueberry compote was an especially nice touch. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Awesome experience. Can't beat the location. We took the bus in and were glad to rest overnight here. The night sky is amazing, the food is good and the rooms are comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to be accommodating and friendly. Nothing but good things to say. Book early though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Skyline Lodge was built to accomodate the fellows flying for Kantishna Air Taxi. Five additional rooms provide lodging for travelers. Considering the costs far below several close by Lodges do not expect more than what you pay for. Simple and delicious meals, straight forward furnished rooms and shared baths up a flight of stairs is what you're in store for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear singert, Thanks for your review. It's nice to know that we're meeting our goal at Skyline Lodge: to provide comfortable, affordable accommodations for independent travelers who don't need all the amenities of the larger, more expensive, full service lodges in Kantishna. We're particularly glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, especially since, as you noted,... More

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We (2 couples) flew in by Kantishna Air Taxi - spectacular ride through Adams Pass - left via the Denali bus and scenic train back to Anchorage. This is the best way to do it in our opinion. We learned of the Skyline from a Frommer's book, and it was perfect for us, at a much lower cost than nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fitz339, It was great to have you all in the Kantishna Valley, and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We're also glad that you were able to see the Mountain three days in a row, which was quite the bonus! Thanks for posting, and we hope to host you and your pals in Alaska again some day. Fondly,... More

Haddonfield, Nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our friend and travel agent said we had to stay in the park to get the real Denali experience but the "deluxe" lodges didn't appeal to us,and neither did the high prices. Then we found this place (not in our new guidebooks but online) and so glad we did. The other reviews here said it all: a real gem for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Car0l12, We're glad that your travel agent found us, too, and we appreciate your suggestions for future visitors to the Kantishna Valley! Come back anytime! Cheers, The KAT Crew More

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If I didn't like the people running Skyline so much, I wouldn't rave about it - it would be better for me if I could always get a room there without having to worry about booking months in advance. But it's really a treasure for independent travelers. Fabulous food (Marge gave me her recipe for ginger snaps) and delightful people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Francie K, You and the boys were great! We had a feeling that you'd fit right in when we spoke to you in between runs on the ski slope last winter. Thanks for raving about us, and enjoy the ginger snaps. Your pals, The KAT Crew More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge 3 nights in early July, after flying in on their Kat Air Taxi (if at all possible, fly at least one direction- it's amazing!). Cozy, comfortable rooms, a little on the small side, and the bathrooms are shared in the main lodge (steps away). However, none of that matters when you realize that you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Joseph Z, Thanks, so much, for taking the time to post a review for our future guests, and we're super pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the high quality coffee--we like it too! We'll see you and the NY gang on your next trip to Alaska. The KAT Crew More

Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We flew in with Kat Air from the park entrance on a slightly cloudy day. The flight was amazing and the pilot was very professional. Arrived at the lodge to find a great facility with some of the nicest lodging staff I've ever met. We rode the lodge bikes to wonder lake after a nice dinner. The next morning we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg L, Manager at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RLb266, Thanks for your review, and we were psyched to share Denali with you! You definitely took advantage of your brief stay, and we hope that we'll be able to host you for a longer stay during your next Alaskan adventure. Kind regards, The KAT crew More

providence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a terrible stay at a nearby resort that dumps raw sewage into the K. river and treats it's staff like endentured servants, the ethical and compassionate folks who run Kanair/Skyline Lodge allowed us to eat our meals with them. They did not need to do this - we were not their guests. Several days of cookies, only apples (for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear d s, Thanks for keeping us in mind three plus years after your stay... at a different lodge :) We're glad to hear that we helped to make the Denali leg of your trip a more enjoyable one, and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Last Frontier. Best, The KAT crew More

Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
78 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Kantishna Lodge is certainly better value than other lodges in the area. However, after staying 2 nights deep ' inside the park' I thought it would have been better to have had four nights in Healy. Kantishna does not have a lot of merit- the views are of a village rather than a wilderness area and even subsistence hunting is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review

Dear oliverAustralia, We were pleased to hear that you found Skyline Lodge to be a good value, as that is exactly what we strive to be. As the base of operations for Kantishna Air Taxi, our goal is to provide independent guests with a friendly, comfortable and affordable stay at the "end of the road." We're glad we were able... More

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Skyline Hotel
Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, Box 46, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skyline Lodge to your Saves list